We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was expecting "more"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Post Restaurant and Bar

The Post Restaurant and Bar
2 Havelock Road, Havelock North, New Zealand
877 1714
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: http://www.thepost.co.nz/
Napier, New Zealand
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Was expecting "more"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife and I dined here mid week after recommendations from friends. We had an early booking at 6.30pm being a nice evening we sat outside and got a great table. We ordered drinks and an entree, bruschetta to share we were surprised to see that it was one bruschetta, very small on a large plate. At $16 we thought another one was on the way, but not the case. After the entree size we received, we decided to order a side of fries to go with our eye fillets.
When our mains arrived the waitress spent at least a minute deciding which fillet was rare and which was medium opting for us to guess. The beef was great perfectly cooked and the garnish of portobello mushroom and blue cheese was a nice combination.
Overall a nice restaurant, pricey for the food, would go again but defiantly check with staff on what entree is best to share or more than a mouthful.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    25
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Havelock North, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely, cosy ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We loved the charm of the restored post office and the stylish decor. The service was a little quick however, as it would have been nice to relax and chat more between courses.

The large serving of pork belly and accompaniments was the star of the evening although I do prefer my food hot as opposed to lukewarm. We enjoyed the sticky date dessert but once again would have preferred if the dish was served warmer.

Living in the Hawke's Bay we are spoilt for choice with many fine dining establishments but we are glad we ventured into this elegant building for a pleasant evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A very pleasant evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was an easy walking distance from our motel, just right up the street. The food was very nice but maybe a bit too quick with the service. The deserts were excellent and luckily we could share both as to have tried only one would have been a crime.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
1 review
“Wonderful atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My partner and I enjoyed a lovely meal and drinks at the post. Wonderful service and the atmosphere of the place was amazing. The food was worth every single dollar. Would happily dine here again. Thank you for the lovely experience!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
“Lovely Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Thanks to all the staff at 'The Post'. We had a great night at your restaurant in a relaxed and friendly environment. We all enjoyed our meals and commented on the good selection that you have. If you haven't been to this restaurant make some time to book and enjoy a good night out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Post Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to The Post Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Post Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.