We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Post Restaurant and Bar

The Post Restaurant and Bar
2 Havelock Road, Havelock North, New Zealand
877 1714
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: http://www.thepost.co.nz/
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

First time Diner at The Post, was blown away by the awesome atmosphere, a busy Thursday night and the restaurant was humming! As busy as it was we were not overlooked and I was impressed with the service. I loved the food but hadn't left enough room for desert, will make sure I do next time! Highly recommended to all!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    30
    15
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Number one in the village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Went out for dinner with the girls and we were all delighted with the food and service the post provided. Great flavours, great wine list (althought not extensive) and exceptionally friendly service. Surprisingly well priced food.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Top spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had booked 8 of us, that swelled to 10 at the last minute, despite being a packed saturday night after the the Hawkes bay races, they made adjustments to fit our extra 2 guests without a fuss. Meals were first class, wine was even better, all round it was the perfect way to spend an evening in Havelock. Will definitely be returning next time I'm am in the hawkes bay.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“superb flavours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Our last night in the region & definitely saved the best till last. Absolutely awesome meal. If you are looking for a cheap bistro style meal with a pile of chips this isn't the place to go but if you enjoy excellent food well prepared with friendly service then you would be hard pressed to beat it.
Each main came with vegetables as part of it artfully presented, properly seasoned & creative. If you decide you need extra there are options available but we opted for enjoying 3 courses to fully enjoy the food & wines. The flavours were superb.
With 2 groups there it was a little noisy but great to see a lot of people enjoying themselves. There were several couples as well.
The father & daughter provided efficient & friendly front of house service.
Like the menu the wine list is not huge but perfectly adequate. Far better to have a relatively small selection well executed in the case of the menu & wines that match the food. The Clearview Reserve Chardonnay is a must for lovers of a big bold creamy chardonnay & if you haven't tried the Sea Red sticky then do yourself a favour & indulge with some rich chocolate dessert.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beware the extras”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Presentation of food is good but servings are small unless you pay the extra to buy the "add-ons". Good location in centre of village.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Post Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to The Post Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Post Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.