We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated and a little cold” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Te Mata Lodge

Te Mata Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Te Mata Lodge to your Saves list
Te Mata Lodge
21 Porter Drive, Havelock North, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Havelock North
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Dated and a little cold”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed here for one night. Basically, the room was cold and the Hearer provided was no use. Obviously it's gets chilly in the middle if winter, but warming the room is essential.

Prob won't stay here again.

THat said, a decent location, good shower, and comfy bed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    13
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
18
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was our second stay in this motel and it didn't disappoint. We shared a two bedroom suite with friends. Very quiet - no road noise. The location is great - just a short walk into the shops in Havelock North - can walk to New World and there's even a liquor wholesaler across the road. Suite was very clean and spacious. New modern large bathroom with spa bath. Appreciated SKY TV with the sports channels. Only disappointment was that the advertising says "full kitchen", so I expected a stove; however only a microwave, electric frypan and two hobs. I believe that's more a "kitchenette". Will definitely recommend to friends and will stay here again. Very helpful manager who made his garage available to house our bikes overnight.

Room Tip: Ask for a room backing on to reserve away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimarama, null, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My family and I stay here regularly on time out in HNth
Managers are friendly and very obliging Motel itself very clean, tidy and value for money
They automatically give us the suite we so love backing onto the park with no road noise
A wonderful value for money clean and well located premise
We will return over and over as they make us feel so very welcome
Faultless!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This motel is easy walking distance to all the restaurants & shops of Havelock North. The owner is helpful & friendly. Our room was big with a spa bath, separate bathroom with shower. Ideal for self-catering with a microwave and hob. Sky TV with all 3 sports channels (important for me at the cross-over time between cricket & rugby!)
Good value at $145/night; we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We have stayed in Hawke's Bay a few times, and Havelock North is the perfect base to explore the Napier/Hastings/Havelock North area. This place in Havelock North is fabulous - it is very clean and tidy, and the host and staff will go out of their way to make sure that you have all the information you need to have a great time. Once again, Glenn outdid himself as the perfect host.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Brilliant. We were missing the tennis at The Aussie Open and to our delight, discovered that we had SKY Sports 3 with the full coverage!
So, in our spacious upstairs unit we were faced with opportunities.... to watch the flat screen TV from the comfortable high backed armchairs, the dining table, the quality super king sized bed, or the fabulous 2 person spa! What more could one ask for?
The large, bathroom with shower was a much better option than a shower over the spa as in many other places.
A mix of carpet and tiles gave a modern presentation.
With town and restaurants a mere 2 minutes walk away this is a great place to stay.
Very welcoming and helpful reception.
Perhaps a little short on wardrobe space and road noise did intrude a bit.

Room Tip: Maybe a little short on wardrobe space and road noise did intrude a bit. Ask for a room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waipukurau
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Absolute value for money. The room was very spacious, comfortable bed, great shower and spa pool. Well equiped kitchenette. Lovely coffee - plunger and instant Robert Harris. Man at reception very friendly and helpful. Compared with many others we have stayed at throughout New Zealand, we were most impressed. Best room by far. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Te Mata Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Mata Lodge

Address: 21 Porter Drive, Havelock North, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Havelock North
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Havelock North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Te Mata Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Te Mata Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.