We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, squeaky and authentic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Barn Vineyards

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havelock North
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Barn Vineyards
Save
You added Black Barn Vineyards to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Black Barn Road, Havelock North 4294, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Norway
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Old, squeaky and authentic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We spend three nights in the Rush cottage, which is actually located in the middle of the vineyard. The house has two bedroom upstairs, and living room, kitchen and bathroom downstairs. It is 100 years old, and you shouldn`t stay there if you do not like old houses. Even so, we didn`t see any ghosts. But the place has a soul, you sort of feel the energy of the place in some way, and it is all good. The fireplace in the living room combined with nice red wine from the vineyard right outside your doorstep was truly special. We also had lunch at the Black barn cellar door right next door, which was great! If you like a modern style, large marble bathroom and sterile tile floors, this isn`t for you. If you can handle old, squeaky and authentic – this is for you. I would recommend it for anyone looking for a unique vineyard adventure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
40
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed in Riverside Lodge 1. 4 bedrooms each with their own ensuite. Fab kitchen and scullery and 3 different living areas. Great place for a group. Kids loved the pool. Beautiful views across the river. Close to Craggy Range, Black Barn and Te Mata vineyards. Breakfast supplies provided. The lodge was stocked with everything we needed and more.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

For four nights during early January of 2013 we rented Summerlee, a lovely estate that was once the headquarters of the Cape Kidnappers Station (ranch). Its location in an extensive, beautifully landscaped garden full of birdsong with views to the sea and Napier beyond over a seemingly fenceless field (complete with galloping white horse) was magical!

The house is handsomely decorated, comfortable, and quite grand….a beautiful place to entertain either a small or large group. There are 8 bedrooms of varying sizes, 3 ensuite, as well as upstaurs and downstairs porches, a swimming pool (unheated) and a tennis court. The first night we hired a chef to cook, the rest of the time we either made our own meals in the well-equipped kitchen or visited one of the beautiful vineyard restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

A beautifully located winery offering lots of interesting and unusual wines to taste. The adjacent bistro offers superb food and more of the wines in a beautiful dining room switch a splendid view over Hawkes Bay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was a nice place to stay, a bit pricing for only two people. If you have two couples it is idea as the price would be half and the accommodations are perfect for two couples or family. However, there is a very open bathroom so let the other couple know it is "shower time"

Nice kitchen, wonderful back deck where you can eat dinner and share a bottle of wine.

We did get woken up at 7:30 am with the vineyard staff working the vines with a tracker in full force. A bit rough after wine tasting the night before.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our two families rented the two River Houses (East and West) for a get together. The houses are beautifully set out for relaxation. The kitchen has everything you could possibly need in the way of utensils, pots and dinnerware. There are bbqs at each house as well as in the pool area. The pool was much appreciated after a day in the Hawkes Bay sunshine. The bedrooms were lovely, with beautiful linen and confortable beds.

The River Houses are about 10 minutes drive from the BlackBarn vineyard and restaurant. Given the isolation of the propoerties I would recommend you think carefully about your eating out options if you are drinking alcohol as Napier restaurants are a good $100 taxi ride away.

The two houses are ideal for family groups as I think you would want to know the people renting the other house on the property as one of the bedrooms is adjacent to the pool so you would want some kind of agreement as to when people could start swimming in the pool so as not to wake the occupants of the bedroom.

The only criticism I would make about the houses is that the driveway access is appalling. It is a steep and rough metal driveway with very large ruts running through it. I do think that, given the exclusivity of the property and the high rental cost that the owners should concrete the driveway to improve driving access.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at one of the Black Barn River Houses a few years ago and the experience was so good that we booked with Black Barn again on our recent visit to Hawkes Bay. We weren't disappointed.

This six night stay was in the beautiful Poplars 1 - a 3 bed, 3 bath house with stunning views. The entertaining areas in the house were large and inviting and we really had a great time sharing the house with two other couples of friends over Christmas.

Each of the bedrooms had a walk-in wardrobe and spacious bathroom - also with wonderful views to the countryside. All the bedrooms had their own particular quality - so no couple was left feeling they scored a lesser room.

The kitchen was huge with every conceivable item you would need to prepare a banquet. We enjoyed using it so much that we only ate out twice.

Hawkes Bay also has a lot going for it as a destination. Great wineries, excellent restaurants, some lovely beaches and quirky little towns nearby. The weather is also more temperate than other parts of NZ.

We have stayed in numerous five star hotels throughout the world - the Blackbarn experience really tops most of them for amazing quality at a most reasonable price point.

We wouldn't hesitate to return for another visit soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Black Barn Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Barn Vineyards

Address: Black Barn Road, Havelock North 4294, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Havelock North
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Havelock North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Black Barn Vineyards 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Black Barn Vineyards in Hawkes Bay, New Zealand offers fourteen unique properties for nightly rental. Each is fully self contained and exclusively yours for the duration of your stay. Each is selected for its prime location, unique character and original style. They are all luxuriously appointed to reflect their individual character with the very best in furnishings, bedding, fabrics, kitchenware and amenities. From an eight bedroom luxury retreat to a two bedroom turn-of-the-century cottage in the heart of the vineyard, for a truly unique holiday experience, these properties are recognised as amongst the very best available in New Zealand. As we do not wholesale or advertise our properties all bookings are directly with the winery. Therefore you will not find us in travel shops or discount brochures and 80% of our guests are either repeat visitors or personal recommendations through word of mouth. So which-ever one you choose, you can be assured of a discrete, private, luxurious stay. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Barn Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.