We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique experience which was good overall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Spa Riad Edward

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel & Spa Riad Edward to your Saves list
Hotel & Spa Riad Edward
10, Zaouia Sidi Bel Abbes, Taghazout 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Taghazout
Yorkshire, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Unique experience which was good overall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

Arrival at night is a slightly scary experience - probably anywhere in the medina that does not have direct vehicle access - as this involved leaving the safety of the car without actually knowing where the riad was. As the surrounding area is inevitably very scruffy and badly lit it requires a certain leap of faith to vacate the vehicle. A baggage cart quickly arrived however and led us for several minutes to the door of the riad, altho one could walk past this and never know it was there as it is completely unmarked.

We were warmly greeted by Ouafa, Beatriz's assistant, and shown to our suites which rather than being 2 separate suites for the 4 of us, was one 2-bedroom suite with a huge communal sitting area and lovely fireplace. Although this suited us very well it would be worth confirming the configuration if you want more privacy.

A room key could not initially be found which we were told would not be a problem here as it was perfectly safe and this served to underline the very warm feeling of 'my house, your house'. This was further demonstrated by a very helpful approach to our wish to have breakfast here, there and everywhere!

Rooms:
The two suites were almost identical altho one faced the road and was very noisy and the other faced the inner courtyard and was quiet.
The sitting room was a fabulous and unique experience that we shared with our friends meaning that we could have a late evening drink by the fire without feeling we were keeping anyone up.
Bathrooms were large with double basins (altho one basin had come away from its cement edge) but I found the showers to be very tight on space with completely temperamental water and very basic dingy lighting - it was not a nice experience. Toilets also were basic, with seats unattached and one of the toilets only flushed if the whole toilet bowl was pushed into position!

Food:
We asked for a meal to be provided for our late evening arrival which was adequate home cooking, but not special. A further meal was of similar quality.

Location:
It is off the beaten track and we got completely lost trying to find our way back from the medina, so I would advise only going out (and back!) with a guide. This might be said of many other riads though.

Service:
The people are what make Riyad Edward special - from Beatriz who offered use of her laptop and showed us how to negotiate our way around the medina, to Oufa and the other staff who were always so cheerful and friendly and totally accommodating of all our needs.

Room Tip: Ask for an inward facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    22
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
22
54
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

Riad Edward is situated in the outskirt of the Medina only 10 mins walking distance from the Jardins Majorelles. Beatriz the hostess and manager made us feel very welcome, she is extremely warm and very knowledgeable about where to go and what to do. The accommodation was comfortable and the different quarters made it a good place for two visiting families who want some privacy. On the first night we ate in at the Riad and although they commented that the food was just “knocked up”, it was incredible and easily the best food we had in Marrakech. The real benefit of staying at this Riad was the beautiful pool. At the centre of the courtyard it was serene and cool and a welcome retreat after a day out in the bustle of a hot medina.We stayed 2 nights with 2 families 4 adults and 4 teenagers and moved on to its sister Kasbah Bab Ourika in the Atlas mountains

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

Beatrice and her team made us very welcome at Riyad Edward. We loved our breakfasts on the roof top terrace, and had a great supper in the dining room. The pool was great for the children. It takes a bit of practice to find your way to the souk, but Marrakesh is all about getting lost in one way or another. Thank you Beatrice!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

Beautiful central courtyard, very romantic! Beatriz looked after us very well, giving us a detailed map and full instructions on what to do and see, and more importantly how to get back to the Riyad!

The room was good - a set of 3 rooms, bedroom, changing room and bathroom and was really quiet. Food and wine was good, and just loved hanging out there on the huge white sofas reading after a hectic day in Marrakech.

Also liked the location - we stayed more centrally later in the trip but I preferred being just 5 mins walk off the beaten track, and getting to access the souks from the North, avoiding the main tourist passages.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

We have just returned from spending 5 nights at Riad Edward. There are some very mixed reviews on here and so we were a little apprehensive about our reservation as we had booked the whole riad to celebrate a 40th birthday. We were not disappointed. Riad Edward is a real find. 

The house has an incredible charm that is lacking in some of the other more modern riads. If minimalist design and clean lines is what you are after you will not find it here. What you will find is a uniqueness that is lacking elsewhere. 

Renting the whole riad means that you get to explore all the rooms and nooks and crannies which gives a greater appreciation of the house and adds something that perhaps those renting one room for a night or two will miss.

Beatrix who manages the house was very accommodating - we are quite a demanding group but she and her staff were not phased by this. They helped with booking restaurants, spa treatments, tours and provided guides. They were helpful at all times and pleasant and polite throughout. 

The food in the riad is fantastic. We had a dinner party for 26 which was amazing. It was a great way to celebrate a 40th.  The staff did not seemed phased at all about catering for this number. 

We also had the opportunity to have lunch in the Kasbah owned by the same people. This is well worth the trip and we highly recommend it. Had we had longer we would have definitely checked in for a couple of days. 

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermontville, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

I was at Ryad Edward last month and had the most amazing time.
It has about 500 years, it has a enormous cypress in the courtyard and a beautiful giant bougainvillea next to the swimming pool, The house was clean and lovely, full of antiques and original objects all over the house.
My wife and I had the most delightful stay, the food was amazing and the staff very helpful, discreet and sweet, always there when you need them. The house is wonderful and very original different from the others 2 ryads where we stayed that were small and claustrophobic.
We loved our room, very spacious with a fire place, bath and great lounge/sitting area. wafaa the manager offered us a free upgrade witch was really well appreciated.
The terrace is very high with wonderful views to the mountains and medina, ideal for breakfast and drinks at sunset! We will return and recommend it to all our friends.
We looooved it!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Stayed here for three nights last week before heading to the mountains.

We had a lovely top floor room, with a HUGE bathroom. Air conditioning was welcome, even in October as it was hot for the three days we were there. The house has a faded, rambling feel to it, which is a large part of its charm. The plunge pool, where breakfast is served is absolutely stunning.

There's also a quiet roof terrace with a few sunbeds for catching some rays. Our room also had a private terrace where we sat in on the last night sipping wine.

Breakfast was simple and delicious. Fresh juice, coffee, moroccan flatbread and a choice of eggs and pancakes: all served with jam, butter and honey. We didn't eat in at night, but the cooking smelled wonderful.

The staff were terrific - and Beatriz, the 'matron' of the house couldn't have made us more welcome. She had friends staying over while were there, but we were never made to feel like we were in the way. A special thanks to Abdul as well. We arrived late on the Saturday with only a few dirhams. He graciously loaned us a few hundred dirhams for dinner, without hesitation, and organised a taxi down to Jemm Al Fna. A nice touch!

The only drawback to the Riad is the location, which is somewhat to the north of the medina - although a taxi is only 30 dirham or so to the main square (and I guess only 10 for locals, but hey ho!). That's a minor grumble and wouldn't put me off staying there again. And while it's in a busy, bustling part of time, where there are relatively few tourists, we never felt anything less than safe - even at night.

One general drawback for Marrakech which is unavoidable wherever you are in the medina: prepare to be woken up an hour before sunrise by the call to prayer! Slightly spooky on the first night when it takes you a few secomnds to work out what's going on!

Also check out the owners' other property at Kasbah Bab Ourika, where stayed for 4 days. It was absolutely amazing!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel & Spa Riad Edward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Riad Edward

Address: 10, Zaouia Sidi Bel Abbes, Taghazout 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Taghazout
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Taghazout
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel & Spa Riad Edward reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riyad Edward Marrakech
Riyad Edward Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Spa Riad Edward, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.