We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid hotel at 2/3* level but little details let it down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Aviator Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Aviator Hotel to your Saves list
The Aviator Hotel
Wellingborough Road, Sywell NN6 0BN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sywell
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Solid hotel at 2/3* level but little details let it down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

If you are an art-deco fan then this would be a delight for you, if not then you should still enjoy a stay here.

The rooms are fine, clean and large enough (but see the pulsing water comment in another review - in my case it pulsed cold). The restaurant is o.k. for this class of hotel but will not win any awards. Please, sausages should not be served burnt at a breakfast buffet.

The staff are very friendly (perhaps a little too so at time - "my darling" is not a standard greeting is it?) but seem to be fairly few in number and having to work very hard, which they do.

The hotel's proximity to the airfield is obviously a selling point but being out of town in an industrial estate is not.

A warning in the room that newspapers cannot be ordered at the weekend and menus still advertsiing their Christmas menu in May shows a lack of effort and attention to detail. How often does it change its menu?

Could do better possibly - but at the price you could do a lot worse.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    39
    18
    17
    9
See reviews for
15
38
5
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Slough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stayed here for a week whilst on training course, was great to come back & be able to relax in comfortable surroundings, with great memorabilia. Staff were very friendly & efficient, good menu, good prices & excellent portions with fresh veg lovely.
Rooms clean & tidy well equipped & good wifi.
Breakfast great choice & freshly cooked to order.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

The Good:
Spacious room
Quiet location
Excellent staff
Nice bar
Nice art deco look and feel
Interesting memorabilia

The Bad:
Most uncomfortable bed ever
Very unattractive view over a car park and skip
Litter in the car park - what would it take to just sweep it now and again?
Food in evening restaurant okay, breakfast pretty poor
Toilet running all night, had to close the en-suite door to avoid Chinese torture effect
Lighting too dim to read in the room

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I have stayed here 3 times in the last 6 months, all on business.

Service is ok, staff can be brisk but reception was efficient.
Rooms are clean. Plenty of parking.

Hot water system in the hotel is flawed; in all three different rooms I have stayed in the shower would pulse with extremely hot water and scald.

The shower curtains are fitted so close to the bath they wrap round you while in the shower. They need a Premier Inn type shower curtain that is mounted outside the bath but hangs in it.

Rooms at the front are noisy due to the road (it looks like a quiet road but gets busy quite early).

Breakfast is getting worse. It used to be fresh pots of tea and great service. Today it was a flask of over brewed tea or nasty coffee, dirty plates and cups. The bacon was practically raw and had to be sent back for further cooking. Not enough sideplates so I had my toast in a cereal bowl. Crashing and shouting from the kitchen added to the pleasure. Not enough tables laid for breakfast despite there only being about 10 in for breakfast; all in, pretty shabby and my work colleague was similarly dissatisfied.

Its not as good value as nearby establishments and despite being very convenient for my work at Sywell, my company have decided not to use the aviator again unless there is nowhere else to go. The company has been going to this hotel for years so its a big change for us but today finished it for us.

Room Tip: If you must stay here ask for room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desborough, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We recently stayed here for the evening as my father in law was celebrating his 25th wedding anniversary. From start to finish a pleasant experience. Bar staff were second to none on the night nothing was to much trouble. We chose to go for the king size bed in our room and weren't disappointed a fabulous nights sleep. Food was exceptional both on the night of the party and at breakfast. we recently stayed in a 4 star chain hotel that did not live up to our expectations I am pleased to say that the Aviator did and we will be back in the future.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

My wife and I must congratulate this establishment. The Hotel is firmly fixed into the early years of aviation, but is right up to date. There is one word of caution however, and that is if you are not disabled in any way, try to avoid being given a room for the disabled. The only reason for stating this is because the attachments to the bath to help anyone disabled tend to make it nearly impossible for anyone else to get into the bath and lie down.

Apart from that, both of us would have given this hotel an 'Excellent' rating-especially the fish and chips!.

Room Tip: Just make sure, if you are not disabled, that you are not allocated one for the disabled
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Organised party for my wife last Saturday all went perfect.
Enjoyed lunch sandwich whilst setting up the decorations in the party room everything from that point on went very well.
Buffet for the party was all prepared well, presentation good, hot food was perfect and most of all served HOT.
Many guests including my wife and I stayed at the hotel and found rooms spotless.
To complete a great weekend breakfast on Sunday was also very good.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Aviator Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aviator Hotel

Address: Wellingborough Road, Sywell NN6 0BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Sywell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sywell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formally a Clubhouse and Officers Mess, this 1930's Art Deco building has been renovated to its former glory. As you enter you step back in time to a bygone age of aviation, style and fun.The Aviator Hotel boasts 50 en-suite bedrooms, comprising of both Standard Doubles and Twin or Kings. The rooms are decorated and fitted with many interesting Art Deco features, and offer a comfortable 3 star standard of accommodation. The Bar & Lounge areas overlook the Airfield and offer traditional ales, excellent wines and an extensive range of spirits. The Restaurant & Bistro, which is open to all, serves a wide range of dishes utilising the best local and seasonal produce.We look forward to welcoming you at The Aviator, and hope you enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Aviator Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aviator Hotel Kettering

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Aviator Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.