We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Aviator Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Aviator Hotel to your Saves list
The Aviator Hotel
Wellingborough Road, Sywell NN6 0BN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sywell
Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

fabulous, if you want a change from the plastic chain hotels look no further.. 1920's Artdeco converted aerodrome.. decor was awesome, staff friendly and proud to be different.. only stayed the one night with a late arrival and early start for business so I can't vouch for the food but the room was clean and bed comfortable.. would return and would recommend..

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    43
    18
    17
    11
See reviews for
16
40
7
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Doing business in Wellingborough looked to book into one of those 'chains' but all were full. Advised by a guy at work to try this place and what a result!! Warm clean spacious rooms with good facilities matched by great value and tasty menu in both bar & restaurant (tried both!). Matched by excellent bar with good range of hand pulled ales this was perfect. Finally the price for my stay for two nights was less than i have paid in 'chains' for one night. Lastly staff were helpful, friendly, smiled a lot and seemed interested in you. Definitely making this my place to stay when in Northants. (Minor point - slightly creaky floors on first floor)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

If you like aviation or are there for the airfield (I was) then it's an opportunity to stay at this art deco gem. Well, not exactly a gem and that's the negative. There's a difference between casual and unprofessional and this stepped over it too often. I'd stay there again because of convenience but be aware if you're going there.

Reception is in one building together with the bar and restaurant and the rooms are in another. When we arrived there was no-one at reception - they were doing their other job of serving behind the bar. Talking to the staff, that's common and it's clear that shortage of cash is driving cut-backs in staff which impact service - a vicious circle.

The room was generally OK although the security for the separate building was a minor nuisance. Maybe a more major nuisance if it's raining and you're dashing between buildings in the rain or whatever. We were there for an event on the airfield and our friends were staying in a mobile home there. We went out of the back of the hotel, through their terrace bar, for a drink with our friends then found we couldn't get back! Be aware, if you end up that side of the hotel then you had better have a mobile phone to call someone to let you in or you'll spend the night out there!

Dinner was OK but the staff were clearly very stretched so service was poor - but they did their best.

The buildings and the location have the potential to be so much better. Needs more investment in it.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed here for one night on business early this month. Room was nice and everything needed for one night, only problem I found was that the floor boards in the room and hallway were creaky. As there was also a wedding on the same night a few of the guests were making there way back to their rooms late and could here upstairs walking around. So I didn't get the best nights sleep especially with having a meeting the next morning. Food was ok, wasn't the best but was ok for the 1 night.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
540 reviews 540 reviews
170 hotel reviews
Reviews in 211 cities Reviews in 211 cities
258 helpful votes 258 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

1930 style Art Deco Hotel.Classy,welcoming.Very clean.Reception Staff kind and helpful.
Bar and a Restaurant food and service excellent.
I had beef cobbler and my husband had fish.Quality food,sourced from the very best.

The Hotel is next to Sywell airfield.There is an excellent museum open at weekends.Check before visiting the museum as I am not quite sure.Go on Facebook and like the airfield and you will get lots of interesting posts.

Room Tip: All good,no lift so ask for ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

when I tell you that main meals are £15 upwards you'll probably be surprised to hear that you'll be seated in the restaurant on rickety cane chairs that feel like they will collapse at any minute.
There was no music played, no atmosphere and even though there were only 2 tables to wait on, service was very very slow, and not very friendly.
When the meals arrived, it was embarrassing for my friend to receive a tidy piece of lamb on a huge plate with tiny amount of veg on a side plate. so don't eat here if you are hungry!
service at the bar was just as bad, it's an effort for the staff to serve you, no smiling or small talk and you feel like you are interrupting their private conversations by asking for a drink.

great location but the owners aren't making the most of the restaurant. They should do great pub grub instead of the pretentious menu they have and they would be busy every night of the week.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

the restaurant staff were useless. we had booked for barmeals but after taking the bookings they told us they were not doing bar meals that night and put us in the restaurant there were 6 choices of which i could have only chosen one and they all cost £15.00 upwards the pub down the road did a lot of custom with our party of 10

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Aviator Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aviator Hotel

Address: Wellingborough Road, Sywell NN6 0BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Sywell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sywell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formally a Clubhouse and Officers Mess, this 1930's Art Deco building has been renovated to its former glory. As you enter you step back in time to a bygone age of aviation, style and fun.The Aviator Hotel boasts 50 en-suite bedrooms, comprising of both Standard Doubles and Twin or Kings. The rooms are decorated and fitted with many interesting Art Deco features, and offer a comfortable 3 star standard of accommodation. The Bar & Lounge areas overlook the Airfield and offer traditional ales, excellent wines and an extensive range of spirits. The Restaurant & Bistro, which is open to all, serves a wide range of dishes utilising the best local and seasonal produce.We look forward to welcoming you at The Aviator, and hope you enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Aviator Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aviator Hotel Kettering

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Aviator Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.