We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel with a unique character” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Aviator Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Aviator Hotel to your Saves list
The Aviator Hotel
Wellingborough Road, Sywell NN6 0BN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sywell
Wellingborough
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Good business hotel with a unique character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is a modern hotel facility tacked onto a fantastic classic Art Deco airport building. So do not expect the rooms to be that special, though agreeable and functional they are. I booked rooms twice for a week to accommodate overseas clients and it was a satisfactory experience for them. The bar and dinning areas are totally unique with good original features and furnishings. I have dinned here too and was not disappointed but we were on our own in the dinning room and did feel a bit of a spare part. I will book again in the future without question.

Room Tip: I always ask for the larger room. I did book the art-deco room in part of the old building. That w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    43
    18
    17
    11
See reviews for
16
40
7
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I've often been in this hotel while attending events at the airfield but have never stayed until the other night. The hotel is a fine example of Art Deco style with a pure focus on aviation. It's great to look at and you can feel the history. The rooms are functional if a little lacking in bells & whistles but the bed was fine and everything worked. The TV stations were limited and, as usual for Northamptonshire, mobile phone reception is atrocious. The WiFi is ok if you manage to get it in the bar but it didn't reach my room. However, the staff were very good, the bar excellent and the food superb. I really like it and it's fine for business apart from the lack of communications needed for today. It's not luxurious (at least my room wasn't) but it's fine and the food & style makes up for the other little bits. I'll be staying for 5 nights at an event next summer so I'll see how I cope without the mobile & WiFi then!

Room Tip: Use the restaurant, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Aviator S, Director of Sales at The Aviator Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your kind review, we value all comments that our guests provide.
Since you visit our Hotel Rooms have been repainted and the televisions have been replaced with 22 inch flat screens with Freeview channels.
With regards to the Wifi we are currently working on improving this faciltiy and hope to have this completed soon.

We hope that when you stay with us in the summer you will feel the benefits of our recent improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is a unique and interesting hotel and resturant. Anyone who has an interest in art deco period and aircraft would really appreciate this lovely hotel. The reception and resturant are one side of the car park and rooms are the other, which is really nice seeing it all in the dark, with it's neon lights that take you to a long ago era. The room was in the style, the tv let it down as it was an old lumpy portable that didn't work very well at that. The room was comfortable and clean, bathroom spotless. The food we had, a bar snack and a cooked breakfast the following morning was of a good standard. My biggest complaint would be the staff, I don't think that serving someone at a bar and carrying on your private conversation is very good manners or good customer service. I had noticed when leaving the bar on the evening, serviettes all over the floor and was very surprised to still see them on the floor at breakfast. While pleasant the young man serving breakfast brought our cooked breakfast while we eating our cereals and without a word waited for us to lift our bowls to make room. Lovely unique experience, but needs staff training, perhaps this was why it was quiet.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Aviator S, Director of Sales at The Aviator Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your taking the time to write a review following your stay with us.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Art Deco detailing and were happy with our comfortable accommodation facilties and food during your stay.
With regards to your other comments we thank you for your constructive criticism, and can assure you that we are constantly striving to improve our standards of customer care.
We hope that on your next visit you will notice these improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I stayed here with a friend for a wedding party at the end of August. The wedding had a 20s/30s/40s theme which made this the perfect location. Check in was easy with the rooms situated the opposite side of the car park to reception and the function rooms. The vintage theme is carried excellently throughout the entire hotel. The bedroom was spacious and the bed comfortable. The television was a little dated - even for the vintage theme they could fit a modern flat screen which is standard in most hotels nowadays. All staff were friendly and made sure we were looked after. Breakfast was included in the room rate and was fine. As we sat down for breakfast on the Sunday it really did feel like I was on a film set - complete with antique looking aircraft taking off on the airfield which you look out on from the restaurant and bar area. The decor and finish of the hotel make it a unique experience. One thing that stood out was the very reasonable price of drinks - well below any bar I frequent, never mind hotel prices which are usually a rip off - not here! Great stay.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the opposite side to the car park - if you want to sleep in then other guests...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Aviator S, Director of Sales at The Aviator Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review following your stay with us.

We are pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable time at your friends Wedding Party in our Cirrus Suite. The Aviator is the perfect setting for 1930's / 40's themed parties, and everyone at that particular Wedding made such an effort with their outfits, we were very impressed.

We are very proud of our original and totally unique furniture and artifacts dating back to the 1930's, and are pleased to hear that you appreciate them too.

Since your visit we have repainted all of our Hotel Bedrooms and have replaced the televisions with new 22 inch flat screens with Freeview.

We thank you for your comments and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I have visited the restaurant (not hotel) on a number of occasions and have every time really enjoyed the food. The restaurant is in great Art Deco style with all dark rounded polished wood.

If you are at all interested in aircraft I would really recommend this place as there are some exhibits in the restaurant, there's a museum (only open at weekends) and you can watch the aircraft taking off at Sywell Aerodrome and sometimes hear the air traffic control tower broadcast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Hubby is a child of the 60's, brought up on airforce bases, and found it very nostalgic and the concept beautifully executed. Staff were very friendly and the bar prices more than reasonable. The outside of the buildings are nothing special, but the inside is lovely. Clean with some super touches.
Worth noting that the hotel is a reasonable distance from the centre of Northampton, Late Rooms said it was only 2 miles from our destination when it was actually over 8.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Aviator S, Director of Sales at The Aviator Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind reivew, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially given your husband's connections with the forces.

We are pleased you mentioned that you felt our bar prices are reasonable, as we strive to be competitive and not surcome to the usual trend of inflated Hotel prices. All of our beers and spirits are brand leaders, and our wine selection is of a high quality but at competetive prices.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Both my partner and I stayed here on Sunday 19th Aug as She Had booked me a 737 flight sim session and also the Sywell airshow,Check in is at 2pm.and hotel is opposite the aerodreome.Its like stepping back to the 30s which wa s surreal.The rooms of hotel are art deco inspired and even the door numbers have that thirties feel.A great nights sleep..only downside was that we wanted to eat opposite at the aerodrome, but were told that they were closing ....maybe this was because of the airshow being on, who knows but it was slightly dissapointing.Breakfast was nice and service was good..

Would we stay again..Of course just because it was like going back in time.....and hopefully for dinner..

Room Tip: 120 .it was at rear of hotel..and we never heard a thing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Aviator Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aviator Hotel

Address: Wellingborough Road, Sywell NN6 0BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Sywell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sywell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formally a Clubhouse and Officers Mess, this 1930's Art Deco building has been renovated to its former glory. As you enter you step back in time to a bygone age of aviation, style and fun.The Aviator Hotel boasts 50 en-suite bedrooms, comprising of both Standard Doubles and Twin or Kings. The rooms are decorated and fitted with many interesting Art Deco features, and offer a comfortable 3 star standard of accommodation. The Bar & Lounge areas overlook the Airfield and offer traditional ales, excellent wines and an extensive range of spirits. The Restaurant & Bistro, which is open to all, serves a wide range of dishes utilising the best local and seasonal produce.We look forward to welcoming you at The Aviator, and hope you enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Aviator Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aviator Hotel Kettering

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Aviator Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.