We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be Back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manoir de Chaix

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Truyes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manoir de Chaix
Save
You added Manoir de Chaix to your Saves list
Lieu Dit Chaix, 37320 Truyes, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #1 of 1 Truyes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Will be Back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We didn't plan on staying at this place since it looked like it would be way over our budget, but since it was Saturday night and we had nowhere else to go we stopped to at least inquire about the price. WOW!!! This B&B was amazing with the most amazing innkeeper. We fell in love with the place and Francis! We loved the place and the area so much that we stayed for a second (unplanned) night. And even though it rained almost the whole time, it still felt like a fairytale with a fireplace, beautiful flowers and birch trees and ground wells that are still in use. Do you know how most people say that French people are not so nice? Well, Francis is a living proof to the contrary! One of the nicest people I ever met. If you are ever in the vicinity of the Loire Valley, Manoir de Chaix is the place to stay. Wonderful service and people, great breakfast, clean and beautiful! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    16
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
23
73
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeway, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

A friend said that she had stayed in this B&B about 10 years ago. It's a lovely old manor house, surrounded by fields, with five rooms and dinner served. The dinner was excellent and our room was nice and big. Sharing dinner with people from several countries with multiple languages was a good experience. Breakfast was good too. Did I mention that wine is complimentary with dinner?

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We arrived at Manoir de Chaix with great expectation sadly we found it very avaerage. In looking at the other reviews for this property we are still wondering what the fuss has been about. On arrival we were greeted by the manager and shown to our room, which was very basic and certainly below the standard we would have expected in a 3 crown B&B in the UK. However, on meeting in the dining room for dinner we enjoyed some local wine though those wines had no label on the bottle or description by the manager, what I can say is the wine was very good. Dinner was a simple dinner of goats cheese en croute which could have graced any table followed by a roast chicken dish, basic, rustic but nothing to shout about. The Cheese plate was simple and mainly goats cheese and finally the creme brule was dissapointing. My wife and I enjoyed our stay in what can be best descibed as a rustic experience, we enjoyed it but cannot understand the comment such as 'The Manoir is chambres d'hôtes at its best...'

In our opinion it was average, there must be more that the Loire has to offer.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are basic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed here ten years ago to tour the Loire by bike and loved it. This spring we returned with our 13 year old grandson. We found the accommodations just as nice, the food even better and the care given by Christian, the manager, superlative. He actually saved our vacation, finding us a car at the last minute and giving us a ride to the train station upon departure. Breakfast was great with 14 big jars of homemade marmalades (green and red tomato, celery, rhubarb, fig, mango, etc) served with the biggest, fluffiest croissants and fresh bagettes. Everyday our grandson couldn't wait for dinner, knowing Christian was making something delicious. We had a very special time in this friendly manor house, situated beautifully in the country and convenient to many chateaux.

Room Tip: Our first visit we had a big beautiful room with an awesome armoire. This time we had two adjoining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belchamp Otten, Suffolk
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

The Manoir is chambres d'hôtes at its best and very reasonably priced too - treat yourself and you will want to go back, as we have frequently since discovering it many years ago.

Sometimes we stay and visit the Loire and its beautiful chateaux, all the main ones are within easy reach from Truyes - don't miss Chenonceau, Azay, Villandry (amazing gardens), and not so well known, Montpoupon. Sometimes it's just an overnight stop to rest and prepare for tomorrow's journey. Always it is to enjoy their friendly welcome, relaxed atmosphere, charming rooms, delicious home-cooking, local cheeses, the multitude of home-made breakfast jams and of course, "a glass or two of Montlouis" - take some home, you can't buy it in the UK.

Friends and family who have taken our recommendation all had a great time there and have either returned or plan to soon.

The Manoir de Chaix is a place to savour and enjoy, again and again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are spacious, comfortable and quiet. The suite has a hall, two bedrooms, bathroom, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

My family and I have been visiting the Manoir for the last 15 years, returning to see our friends Linda, Christian and Francis, and to continue exploring an area of France which we love.

Inside and out, the Manoir is the most perfect place to stay in the Loire, and excels every time. From a warm welcome through to a delicious home-cooked evening meal, fresh with produce from the lovingly tended garden and excellently cooked by Christian, to the comfortably furnished and spacious rooms, the Manoir caters for every requirement. And then there's the plentiful breakfast with more types of exciting jams than you could imagine! It is ideally located in a secluded spot with surrounding woods to explore, and yet perfectly situated for easy access to some of the best châteaux of the region. A home to return to every time :)

I have recommended this location to numerous friends and acquaintances over the years and will always continue to do so.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francis F, Propriétaire at Manoir de Chaix, responded to this review, December 17, 2011
Google Translation
Le Manoir de Chaix vous remercie de votre fidélité et ce sera toujours un plaisir de vous accueillir au Manoir de Chaix
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

We had the pleasure of staying at the Manior last Ocotober. With the weather near 80, we were able to take in most of the offerings of the region due to the proximity of Manior de Chaix. Chenonceau, Tours, Amboise are all close. Our hosts, Linda and Christian, could not have been more welcoming. The area is lovely, and the food is great. Almost everything that we had to eat was grown on the property. They even keep bees up the road for fresh honey. The rooms are "american sized" meaning very spacious. If you want to get away to a place that seems magical, head for the Manior de Chaix. Charming, genteel, wonderful food and fantastic hosts.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manoir de Chaix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir de Chaix

Address: Lieu Dit Chaix, 37320 Truyes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Truyes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Truyes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Manoir De Chaix France/Truyes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manoir de Chaix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.