We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Orchard Room

The Orchard Room
Great Green, Thurston, Bury St. Edmunds IP31 3SJ, England
01359 233363
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Thurston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary, Family Fare, Healthy, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Great friendly setting in the spring and summer you can sit outside and relax, I only live a couple of miles away but drop in for coffee and a bit to eat all the time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa H, Owner at The Orchard Room, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for your positive review - I will share it with all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    11
    4
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Choice the time of year to visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We chose this restaurant based on the positive comments on Trip Advisor. We found the food very good but were disappointed with the setting. We should have make our first visit in the spring or summer.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa H, Owner at The Orchard Room, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
I am glad you enjoyed our food, but am surprised you did not like our setting at this time of year; many customers tell me they enjoy coming to us in the winter months as they appreciate being in a warm, light airy room that is cosy and has views over the orchard and gardens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A must for lovely food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Been here several times. The food is all home cooked and absolutely delicious. Very good value for money as well. There is a lovely view outside of lots of free range chickens roaming about.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa H, Owner at The Orchard Room, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for leaving a review. I will pass your positive comments on to all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A nice find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We spotted this restaurant on trip advisor. We live a few miles away and did not know it was there. So we were delighted to spend a lovely lazy Saturday lunch there. The food was traditional and very tasty. Nice wine and very good service. All within a very reasonable price. We will be visiting again soon!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa H, Owner at The Orchard Room, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about us and for your positive comments. We change our menu every week so there will always be something new to try when you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“great food, lovely setting, praiseworthy service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I have copied the previous reviewer's title as it says it all ! I'll go to the Orchard Room again and I'll tell other people to go there as well. I had a lovely Sunday lunch there today and the other people who went there with me all agree with me. We all drove nearly forty miles / 1 hour to get there (from three different directions) and the journey was well worthwhile.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa H, Owner at The Orchard Room, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am so glad you enjoyed your visit to us. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Orchard Room also viewed

Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
Fornham All Saints, Bury St. Edmunds
 
Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk
 

Been to The Orchard Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Orchard Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.