We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frequent visitor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Plough Inn

The Plough Inn
Riverside, Eynsford DA4 0AE, England
01322 862281
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 4 Restaurants in Eynsford
Price range: $14 - $36
Cuisines: English, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Farningham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Frequent visitor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is one of my favourite places to go to in Eynsford. The pub has Nice contemporary decor, busy often but they provide good attentive service. Has a really nice bar area with plenty of seating and a lovely restaurant over two floors. Food is good and prices are average to above average. The pub is by the river. You can see it from the outside seating area. The river area will be busy with visitors on warm days. There is parking at the pub and there is a patio area at the back of the pub. It is a very popular venue so you will have to book for restaurant and on warm days, for dinner seating outside on the patio.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    55
    38
    51
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Swanley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“given the location and the fact ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

that the pub has been beautifully refurbished, we thought we were in for a treat last night for my wifes birthday.
The tabel we were given was perfect for the 8 of us , which was nice big square so that we were all facing each other.
the servers were attentive and we did not have to wait for long for the food and drinks and this is where it all starts to come apart,
I ordered one of the specials as a starter which was essentially large garlic shrimp called gambert, this came out at £8.95 on a bed of rocket , with garlic mayonnaise and some bread.
The prawns were so dry and rubbery that they were no longer pink but white , they must have been cooked 2/3 hours prior to being served, or possably the previous day who knows,(whos idear it was to serve us this should be taken out the back and shot) the rocket was undressed , the only edible part of it was the garlic mayo and the bread, the dishes was promptly returned and we chose the scalops as a alternative, which came up unseasoned and slightly under cooked.
How hard is it to get seafood right? it only takes minuites to cook and should be cooked as its ordered, not precooked and then re-heated.
A few of us ordered the steak, which came up thin and fatty, and for £26.96 with a over cooked lobster tail, is just not going to cut it i am afraid.
This pub has the potential to be a really super gastro pub , but you need to get the foundations right and it starts with the food, you can not get by on looks alone.
All in all we had a good time , but thats because the company was good, the location was good the ambiance and decor was good, The food? .....Come on The Plough and get your act together and then you can make some real money.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Had to wait over an hour for our mKm course!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

We had booked a table of eight so they knew we were coming! The sun had brought lots of people and having waited over an hour on the restaurant for our main, we were told it was because they were busy serving bar food. Definitely won't go back.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pricey Plough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

This is a nice little Restaurant/Bar set in a quaint part of Kent nestling by a small river/forde. The staff were very polite and the service was excellent. However the food was a little on the pricey side for a Sunday trio of roasts a cost of £15.95 was charged, which may not have been so bad had the meat portions been a little larger, but the cuts were tiny although nicely cooked. Personally I wouldn't return to this restaurant based on price. One other gripe was that they insisted on a £5 per head deposit which I think is acceptable perhaps on special occasions, Mothers/Father's days etc due to the high demand but not on an ordinary sunday in April

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Stunningly yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We the most delicious tender steak sandwich and some lovely ice cream that came with home made cookies. Staff were very kind and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plough Inn also viewed

Eynsford, Sevenoaks District
Eynsford, Sevenoaks District
 
Eynsford, Sevenoaks District
Farningham, Sevenoaks District
 

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Plough Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.