We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Sands Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Crystal Sands Beach Resort to your Saves list
Crystal Sands Beach Resort
pongdol | ward 3 pongdol, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Triengen, Switzerland
1 review
“very nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

I and my friends spent a few days in CSBR last december. We felt very comfortable in this beautiful place. the trip to the pink beach was great! the environment with the many islands is well worth seeing. i can recommend it to anyone .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
14
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

This is actually a great place if you don't expect a 5 star or even 2 star resort ! it's on the beach it's quiet and they are a very friendly bunch that run the place ! I'm here at the end of feb which is the low season here, and virtually the only traveller on the island ! The resort is tiny only 8 rooms of which there are two with really nice sea views and 5 bungalows which look onto the garden , I stayed in no 5 which has a sort of sea view through a second door onto a porch ,but no aircon in this room ,which I didn't need as it was cool at night in late feb ! There are no restaurants /bars on the island apart fm the ones in the other resorts so you are limited to things to do at night. The food here is good however and not too expensive and the beer is probably the coldest in the Philippines ! I paid 800 a night which was ok
If you need a beach break ,(while coming or going to cebu,),take a tricycle from Allen to Victoria sea port ,(100p), then the boat to San Antonio island,(70p), and takes half an hour, or I had to charter one as I arrived at 8pm ! After much haggling I ended up paying 400p ! The hotel is run by a Swedish/philipino couple who make you feel very welcome and there is wake boarding/ water sking and jetskis to hire ! I got a great deal on the room as it was so quiet and had a great four days relaxing on the beach a long as u don't want to party. and have a good book with you ,this is really nice place to do nothing ,

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights,San Antonio Crystal Sands is the place to be, not only for its great location but for the owners,Karl and Cora,who are brilliant people. We arrived with no booking,were taken in, shown to our room and made to feel instantly at home. Unfortunately we timed it for a rainy patch but Karl and Cora kept us well entertained, they are the most interesting couple and run a tight ship, great food, great people. We were given snorkels and they arranged a bike for us to tour the island on a dry day. Its a great place,and no request was too much for them. We ate fresh fish each night which was beautifully prepared by Cora and the team, thank you so much! This is a definite stay for any visit to the Philippines. We cannot recommend this place enough, Karl and Cora make it themselves let alone the island! THANK YOU! Rob and Natalie - British

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayonne, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Hi, I'm Stephan
I stay several weeks with Karl and Cora in this amazing place. A lot of fun! And good food well prepared by the home cooker : Cora. Ask Karl for funnies stories. He has a lot. He travelled all around the world and knows a lot of places. For sure, you will not waiste your time.
San Antonio is a little island with 12000 unhabitants. This island will become famous in 3 or 4 years. Soon the prices will rise as in Boracay. Nothing is impossible, here.
The water is warm, even in october and november. I was there during the typhoon Aydan...
Bad souvenir but lucky. Come and stay for more fun. Try the jet ski with Fabrice a french cool guy ! And the boat too. Enjoy and have fun. Don't forget the cash, no cash machine... Don't worry! Prices are cheap. Go hard or go home!

Room Tip: Réservez à l'avance car la demande est forte. Vous ne vivrez pas dans votre chambre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed at CSBR on the 5th and 6th of July we had twenty in our party the resort was perfect in so many ways, the stand out would have to be the service and commitment from the owners(Kar and Cora) and their staff, I have stayed at many five star hotels that would struggle to match the level of service these people give, we had a boat cruise to Capul Island and it was a highlight of our trip.
thank you very much Karl, Cora and staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tollhouse
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I was at CSBR May 14-18 and what a perfect trip it was! The weather, scenery, company, Karl, Cora, and staff just perfect! The boat trip to the San Vicente island group was just amazing. Without a doubt that was one of the most fascinating days of my life and the scenery was absolutely gorgeous .. it's a must see. On another day we rented motorbikes and took a trip around the island. Absolutely beautiful! During our trip around the island we came upon an old man working in a coconut tree grove. We stopped and he climbed up the tree effortlessly to get us fresh coconuts. How cool is that?
Karl and Cora are not intrusive yet always seem to be nearby in case you need something or if you just want to engage them in chit chat and believe me they are two of the most friendly and interesting people you'll ever meet.
If you're looking for the biggest bang per buck for your vacation dollar head to CSBR. It was very inexpensive but the memories it left me with are priceless!

Bill Reischling

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Let me start by saying I was booked in to the Haven of Fun resort down the road for 4 nights, couldn't wait to get out of there after the first night. We caught a tricycle down the road and found the Crystal Sands Beach Resort. Our luck was in and Carl said he had a room we could have. We could not get back to the other resort fast enough to get our gear. The atmosphere was very relaxed and Carl's wife (sorry forgot your name) was great in the kitchen and her food was delicious. We were lucky enough to go out in their boat for a day tour Island hopping, Snorkeling and visiting small fishing villages with the highlight being purchasing a turtle from someone who had it for sale to eat and releasing it back to the ocean. Cannot say anything bad about the resort and hospitality of the owners and staff I would highly recommend the resort to anyone thinking of going to San Antonio Island........Thank you for making something that would have been a very unpleasant stay at the other resort to an unforgettable time.....Thanks Mate and look forward to seeing all of you again

Room Tip: all the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crystal Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Sands Beach Resort

Address: pongdol | ward 3 pongdol, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Samar Island > Dalapuri - San Antonio Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Dalapuri - San Antonio Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crystal Sand Beach Resort are an exclusive resort.located on the white beach on San Antonio Island northern Samar Philippines.Ecological declared 2008. Surrounded with corals and blue water.Deluxe rooms - Economical rooms.Private functions-Weddings-Dancing nights.Free wifi for hotel guests. Free snorkling equipment.Free mountain bike use.We arrange island hopping to Biri island- Seven island.The best available hotel in Northern Samar. Friendly and professional staff.Groups special prices.Special offers. Pick up from airport on request. Kindly regards Managing director Karl ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Crystal Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Sands Beach Resort Philippines/Samar Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Sands Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.