We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cosy B&b” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nomndeni de la Changuion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Nomndeni de la Changuion to your Saves list
Nomndeni de la Changuion
100 6th Ave, Melville 2092, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 20 Melville B&B and Inns
Newton-le-Willows
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A cosy B&b”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I stayed at this B&B for 10 nights during a work trip. The room I stayed in was very spacious and comfortable, with an excellent bathroom (huge walk in shower and lovely bath).
The room was also equipped with a microwave, fridge which meant small evening meals could be prepared in the room without any need to go out in the evening.
Melville is a nice neighborhood and I was happy to take a short stroll to the highstreet on my own, during day light hours. Plenty of restaurants & cafes near to the B&B.
I only saw the owner once, I would have liked to see more of a presence of staff at the B&B, after certain hours it was difficult to get help if you needed it. Having said that, there was a telephone at reception which gave clear instructions of what one ought to do should they require assistance.
The property also benefited from secure car parking (gated) and a lovley pair of welcoming and friendly cocker spaniels!
Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
2
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I had a wonderful stay, it felt like being home away from home. The staff is friendly and helpful and the place well kept and centrally located. I'd recommend the establishment to friends and family..


  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

It's like be at your own home, everything is almost perfect and service is attentive and spontaneous, moreover mellville it's the best place to stay in JNB, close to evrywhere and very safe, nice restaurants and shops, interesting night life

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tfc1976, Owner at Nomndeni de la Changuion, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your positive review on our property.
Myself as the owner will pass your compliments onto our staff and we will try our best to even improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed here for just a night. Arrived quite late at the lodge because of a delayed flight but didn't have much trouble in finding it thanks to GPS. The caretaker lives there only, so checking in wasn't much of an issue. But there was no food available at 10 pm!! However, the caretaker was kind enough to ride with us to a restaurant to help us find food.
The room was pretty good in size and was fitted with most of the amenities. With the hollywood styled furnishings, it was a pretty nice looking room. There is also safe parking available inside the premises!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Österreich
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I enjoyed everything about our stay. The room was great and featured a bath tub. The lady that was the caretaker was outstanding. Shehandled every request with poise, class and charm. The ownder/host was most accomodating and gracious. The house and grounds were very romantic and even the dogs were very friendly and added a comforting yet classy touch to our stay, I highly recommend this facility to anyone that is on a holiday if you do not need amenities like a swimming pool, spa, etc. it is just a very nice, charming romantic place to stay for a couple or a single traveler. I would not reccommend it for children and family. The area around is safe as well, it´s in Melville.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed in the Out of Africa room; it was super comfortable, affordable, and quiet. Breakfast was served at whatever time you chose between 6-11am, so that was a great perk. An electric kettle w/ coffee and tea service, plus a small electric safe to store your valuables, were great additions as well. My only inconvenience, and it was minor, was that there was no phone in my room. However, the free wi-fi totally made up for it!

Room Tip: I enjoyed the Out of Africa guest house, which was not attached to the main house. Melville's 7...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

First we have been guided by our rented gps to a very very bad place, but with the help of a friendly guy we met, we did arrive in the sweet Melville district of Johannesburg. The house seemed like a small victorian mansion, of course surrounded by electric fences. The housemaid welcomed us very friendly and we could write down our wishes for the breakfast next day. Number of rooms is not too big, rooms are available in the main house and in the attendents house next to the main house, where we also had our rooms.
All rooms are decorated with a special topic (we had "sleep under the stars", with Posters of Presley, Monroe & Hepburn) Rooms are sweet and the bathrooms are furnished with a stylish old-fashioned bathtub & shower.
It is absolutely worth to visit at night the 6th street with all its beautifull Jazz Bars, Restaurants & Live Music. You will get a small feeling like New Orleans while staying there for a drink or dinner.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main-house to experience to victorian charme of this building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nomndeni de la Changuion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomndeni de la Changuion

Address: 100 6th Ave, Melville 2092, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Melville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Melville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully Furnished and Serviced Rooms available on a Long Term basis for professional people in a trendy house in Melville, Johannesburg.Room Size: 20 to 35 square metresBathroom: En-Suite with a Bath and/or Shower Each Trendy Room has a Private Entrance have the following facilities:• Queen Size Bed (5 Star Rated by SATOUR) and Headboard• Bedside Tables• Work Desk and Chair• Safety Deposit Box• Seating Area (Couch, Sofa, or Chairs)• Heating (Heater and Electric Blanket)• Cooling• Carpeted or Wooden Floor• Linen (Sheets, Blanket and Comforter) – No Towels• TV with DSTV/Multichoice (Satellite TV) – over 60 Channels• Telkom High Speed UNCAPPPED Wi-Fi ADSL Internet• Lounge, Office, and Dining Room Access• Shared Veranda and Garden AreasThe rooms are “SEMI” Self-Catering and have the following kitchen facilities:• Refrigerator• Microwave Oven• Tea/Coffee Maker or Electric KettleAlternatively a Fully Equipped Shared Kitchen is available. The monthly rental per room is from R 4500.00 to R 6500.00, including the following:• Water and Electricity• Serviced & Cleaned Daily • Fully Furnished and Equipped• Linen and washing of linen (NO OTHER LAUNDRY INCLUDED)• DSTV/Multichoice (Satellite TV) – over 60 Channels• Telkom High Speed UNCAPPPED Wi-Fi ADSL InternetThe cost per room depends on the size of the room and bathroom, and the period of the lease agreement.Leases from 1 month or more are accepted with a low deposit.Conveniently situated in the trendy suburb of Melville, within walking distance of the famous 7th street. Close to University of Johannesburg “UJ”, Wits, Media 24, the SABC, Milpark Hospital, and Garden City Clinic. We are less than 10km away from the FNB and Coca Cola Stadiums, and Shopping Malls like Campus Square, Cresta, Sandton City, or Rosebank.We have easy access to the M1 and N1 Highways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Nomndeni de la Changuion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomndeni De La Changuion Melville, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nomndeni de la Changuion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.