We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melvilles Pearl” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thulani Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thulani Lodge
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   85 3rd Avenue, Melville 2192, South Africa   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 Melville B&B and Inns
Jhb
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Melvilles Pearl”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Thank you trip advisor for recomending me to this hidden pearl in Melville. Located conveniently near all the shops and restaurants providing hours of exploring. The staff are very helpfull and friendly and the lodge is so peacefull and relaxing. An oasis to relax in after a long days work. The rooms have everything you need in them and are very comfprtable and well kept. I would highly recomend this guest lodge to anyone wanting to escape and enjoy Johannesburg with the comfort and friendliness that Thulani Lodge provide. I will definately be back again. Thank You Beat and Bongi.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thulani_Lodge, Owner at Thulani Lodge, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you very very much for your review of Thulani Lodge,

It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we enjoyed getting to know you. I hope that we see you soon and you tell your fellow travellers looking for a place to stay while in Johannesburg, that Thulani Lodge is the place to stay...

Yours faithfully,

Beat and Bungi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
5
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

Perfect place to explore Joburg from. Beautiful located and very caring managed. Somebody living in Joburg suggested it. How right she was!
Jochen and Ulrike (London)

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

I have stayed at this small, secluded hotel conveniently located in a side street in the Melville suburb of Johannesburg for a number of years now. When I arrived for my first visit, some five or even six years ago, the hotel exuded charm, warmth, good cheer, cleanliness, great service and good value for the rates then in effect. I wrote a Trip Advisor review which still appears elsewhere on this page extolling the virtues of the Thulani Lodge. Sadly, this is no longer the case. Over the intervening years, the standard of the hotel, as regards maintenance and upkeep, room cleanliness as well as the facilities and features included in the room rate - DSTV, free WiFi and a clean pool to name just three - have all either been abandoned or allowed to deteriorate to the point of uselessness. My most serious complaint, however, concerns the increasingly shabby, scruffy, deteriorated appearance of the hotel and it's rooms. The whole place desperately needs a thorough update and freshening as well as regular, ongoing maintenance and upkeep, but this is simply not happening. The woodwork over the entrance way leading to the reception area is literally falling to bits and may well collapse at any time. The room that I have stayed in for my last few visits is also showing a distinct lack of upkeep. The ceilings are cracked and peeling; the walls are also cracked and dirty; the curtains are a disgrace. The wooden vanity in the bathroom is desperately in need of replacement. The electrics are dodgy and some of the lamps do not work. True, nothing that a serious bit of attention and some paint would not fix, but this is simply not happening. Nor would it seem there is any intention on the part of the ageing owner to address these matters in anything other than a verbal way. Beat - the owner - removed the free WiFi connection two years ago, and now one must pay to access the Internet. Fine, if the rates reflect this, but they do not. Every year, the owner puts his rates up while the general appearance of the hotel continues to relentlessly decline. In fact, Beat is complaining that his business is way down and his rates are too low! The unfortunate reality is that his hotel is old, tired, run down, shabby, neglected and overpriced for what he offers. It is precisely this that has more to do with the fall in business than anything else he might believe to be the case. There are better and cheaper alternatives in the immediate area and I, for one, have regrettably decided that the time has come for me to move into one of them on my next visit to Johannesburg. Allan H. Adams.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

I spent one day/one night at Thulani Lodge during the World Cup. The place is fairly small and so are the rooms, which are very basic indeed but comfortable and value for money. The best thing about it is its location in Melville, close to shops, bars and restaurants. Melville almost feels like a small village, is safe and has lots of character. I would definitely stay in the area again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here during the World Cup and were most impressed by the helpfulness of Beat, the man in charge of the guesthouse. He offered numerous suggestions for activities in Jo'burg and was extremely helpful in arranging transportation. The ladies on staff served up a lovely hot breakfast each morning. The lodge itself is conveniently close to the restaurants and bars of Melville, but expect some of the noise from the bars to carry over to your room at night. During the day, take some time to enjoy the tranquil and lush garden and pool. The service and atmosphere make up for any lack of luxuries within the rooms. Overall it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

This is a simply splendid little hotel! I have stayed here on numerous occasions over the years on my way into and out of South Africa, and I have never ever been disappointed in any way with time spent at the Thulani Lodge. The hotel itself is tucked away behind an anonymous, unimposing white wall on 3rd Avenue in the suburb of Melville, but when the ever affable owner, Beat Gemur, (pronounced "Bay" pause "At") - or his enormously large and enormously hospitable, ever smiling manager, cook, cleaner and all around "Lady Friday" Bungi - opens the door to the interior, one will enter into a small, immaculately maintained, leafy garden with comfy lounge chairs scattered beneath overhanging shade trees, a swimming pool to one side and a veranda upon which the entertaining and worldly Beat will happily discuss the ever changing events and life in South Africa's largest city. There are only a relatively few rooms at the Thulani Lodge (advance reservations are absolutley required) which generally means that the guests one encounters over breakfast (other meals are not served) are most likely to be returning clients with a real appreciation for the wonderful, impeccably mannered, almost individually personalized service generously dispensed by both Bungi and Beat. One feels like a very special person indeed after only one or two visits. It is absolutely true that they greet returning clients almost as members of the exclusive Thulani Lodge "family". This could verge on the "hoakey" were it not both sincere and genuine, which it most certainly is. The rooms are a mix of smaller interior units in the main building - four I believe - one large and very pleasant unit in the garden beside the pool and three others I believe down in a corner of the garden. Each has it's own charm. Every room is furnished comfortably with a relaxing armchair(s) or even a sofa, large soft bed(s) with fresh, clean, starched white sheets and more pillows than one can possibly find use for. The bathrooms feature large deep baths with gold coloured fittings! They are a bit shabby after many years of use, but they are still hugely appealing and functional. Regrettably, the sounds from adjoining apartment blocks or houses, while not particularly loud by big city standards, can be a nuisance, particularly on weekends. That being said, it is nothing like Nairobi, Cairo or any number of other big African cities. Breakfast is Bungi's specialty and it is indeed a treat! A full English breakfast is served (you must have her scrambled eggs!) along with loads of fresh fruit, yoghurt,, choices of top quality jams, jellies and cheese, as well as a selection of breads and rolls. It does not get much better than this! Prices at the Thulani Lodge are creeping up, but they are still competitive with what is available in the area and for the extraordinary service, hospitality and facilities one gets in return when staying here. This is a good hotel in an upscale neighbourhood of Johannesburg with the added benefit of being relatively safe at night if one wishes to walk to the nearby eclectic choice of restaurants and bars. Judging by the number and variety of smart automobiles parked on the surrounding streets at night, it would seem that many in Joburg share an affection and an attraction to this neighbourhood. Allan H. Adams.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

This must simply be the best place to stay in Johannesburg. A one minute walk from safe and fun 3rd Avenue in Melville with all its restaurants, cafés and bars (try Wish, our absolute favourite at all times of the day), you step into an oasis where the only noise is birds. Only seven rooms around a beautiful leafy garden with a pool where you can relax and enjoy all day long. The rooms and all facilities are extremely comfortable and tasteful and the hosts extremely helpful, friendly and discreet, meaning that you almost feel at home, taken good care of without any fuzz. Bongi, the lady, is simply the best. When we arrived back after a couple of days in Harare/Zimbabwe, only having spent three or four nights at the Thulani Lodge before, she opened the door exclaiming "Welcome back home, ladies!" On the day we left, she got up at six to prepare our breakfast (we loved the eggs and especially the nicely cut fresh fruit every morning) although it was her free day. Prices are very fair, too. A more enjoyable place in the middle of Johannesburg craziness can hardly be found. Upon arriving in Jo'burg, we believed never to be able to feel at home in the city. Thanks to Thulani Lodge and Bongi, we did.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thulani Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thulani Lodge

Address: 85 3rd Avenue, Melville 2192, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Melville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Melville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thulani Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish, up market guest house is conveniently situated in the heart of Melville village with some of Johannesburg's top restaurants, coffee bars, boutiques and shopping mall within safe walking distance.The tranquil surroundings combined with the elegance of the lodge lends itself for meetings and quiet relaxation whilst being pampered by Beat and our staff - true to our commitment to service excellence. Combined, we spent over 40 years in the upper echelon of the world's hospitality industry, enabling us to offer you a truly international bed and breakfast experience. With prices starting from R380.00 per person sharing, including breakfast and taxes. We organise your airport transfer, tours excursions and other activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Thulani Lodge Melville, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thulani Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Thulani Lodge to your Saves list