We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to start your trip in Jo'burg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melville Manor Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Melville Manor Guest House to your Saves list
Melville Manor Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   No. 80 | Second Avenue, Melville 2092, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 Melville B&B and Inns
Mellieha, Malta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to start your trip in Jo'burg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights on our first trip to South Africa. It was a very suitable choice. Melville is a very pleasant and relaxed area. The guesthouse is clean and quiet and wonderfully welcoming. Staff excellent and accommodating. We were very pleased.

Room Tip: They're all nice. We had one of the ensuites in the garden, which is small but very pleasant, wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelvilleManor, Owner at Melville Manor Guest House, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
We are very glad Melville Manor Guest House was a great start to your journey. It can be equally relaxing to for the end to people's trips too. And yes, you are correct with your recommendation; the garden rooms No.6 & 7, are lovely. Thank you for the feedback and review. Happy Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    30
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
42
23
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was a perfect home base for me in Jozi. Great accommodations, ample free bfast and very helpful and friendly staff. Felt safe and cared for in a clean and beautiful location. Cute neighborhood convenient to Wits with good dining as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelvilleManor, Owner at Melville Manor Guest House, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for the review - it is a great summary of Melville Manor and we are very conveniently located for guests working at Wits. We are also glad that you managed to get a feel for the Melville neighbourhood too as it is full of charm and interesting shops.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The manor is .... lovely.

From the moment your hostess (likely Anna) welcomes you, you are in a home away from home complete with pool, gardens, private facilities, laundry available, wifi and all within an embracing environment of comfort. Breakfast is pretty much a la carte (eggs, bacon, sausage, etc) as well as a full suite of continental items.

Room Tip: There are a few rooms with french-style doors that can be left open leaving a sweeping view of the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelvilleManor, Owner at Melville Manor Guest House, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for the .... lovely ... review. It is Melville Manor summed up in a paragraph. The garden rooms are the best, with the views of the garden and pool area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Nice and clean room facing the pool, beautiful garden, nice atmosphere and friendly staff preparing good breakfast, off street parking and situated walking distance from Melville 7nd street with restaurants and bars!

Something I would recommend both for solo, business, couple or family trips. You just feel at home here.

Room Tip: the rooms with big window facing the garden/pool are nices I think
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelvilleManor, Owner at Melville Manor Guest House, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for a wonderful review Benjamin V. We are glad that you had a great stay and have given us some lovely compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

My brother and I stayed at the Manor for 2 days and I must say it was a real pleasure! The staff were friendly and very sweet! We were in room 1 and it was a very cosy place over looking the pool! We did make use of the pool and it was spotless surrounded by a beautiful garden! Didn't get time to explore Melville much, but we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelvilleManor, Owner at Melville Manor Guest House, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for the review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the room, gardens and pool. Put exploring Melville the suburb on your list for next time as it has a great vibe and funky mix of places to shop and eat. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

There are two great thinks about the Melville Manor: The staff and the location. The B&B is very well located for those who just want to grab something to eat or get a drink at night without having to get into a car.
The rooms are very nice and clean, the garden is beautiful and the breakfast good (some local fresh fruit would make it better).
Only two small details: The internet does not function in the back room and that is not good if you want to work. Also, in the same room, there is a connection to the laundry, with some unnecessary noise in the morning.
Still, I would come back, even if they put me in the same room :)

Room Tip: Avoid the last room in the back. No internet and too close to the laundry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelvilleManor, Owner at Melville Manor Guest House, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for a very constructive review and we are in the middle of sorting out the internet connectivity in Room 5. It is much appreciated when guests help us improve and we are also very glad that you will be back, hopefully to see the improvements as suggested.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Spent 3 days at Melville on a layover between business trips. Incredibly kind staff who went out of their way to have the room cleaned, even after I slept most of the day and who were officially off-duty. Breakfast was hearty, location is within walking distance to the decent nightlife of Melville, a mix college town meets trendy upturn. Also provided complementary off-street parking -- a nice perk that I didn't expect.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelvilleManor, Owner at Melville Manor Guest House, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for the kind words. We do strive to go out of our way for guests and are always glad when their stay has been unexpectedly super. You have described Melville 'college town meets trendy' to the T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melville Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Manor Guest House

Address: No. 80 | Second Avenue, Melville 2092, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Melville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Melville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Melville Manor Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melville Manor is a beautifully restored house dating back to the early 1900s. Situated for perfect convenience. We boast seven bedrooms (of which five are en-suite), a large communal lounge/dining area with a cosy fireplace leading onto a delightful garden patio and swimming pool with secure off-the-street parking. Melville Manor has been designed with that 'home-away-from-home' feeling in mind. Melville Manor is located off the wonderful 7th street in Melville. We are very close to Rosebank and central Johannesburg. We are also amidst the universities, media parks, SABC, Newtown, Oriental Plaza, theatres, galleries and a great variety of shopping malls, unique destination boutiques, restaurants and music bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Melville Manor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Manor Guest House Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melville Manor Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.