We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, good-value Joburg guest house” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melville Manor Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Melville Manor Guest House to your Saves list
Melville Manor Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   No. 80 | Second Avenue, Melville 2092, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 Melville B&B and Inns
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect, good-value Joburg guest house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Melville Manor is in a great location - close enough to 7th Avenue bars and restaurants that, even if you're a woman traveling alone (and thus cautioned to never go out alone after dark in Joburg), you can go out to dinner and walk back to the guest house safely. The staff was incredibly kind and helpful - I was so well taken care of here, from hiring taxis to making sure I had the right adapter for my US electronics. Anna was so nice! Breakfast was ample and lovely (healthy if you want, full English breakfast if that's your thing). There was a fridge in my room, and wi-fi is not free but it is inexpensive. Melville is a GREAT neighborhood to visit in Joburg - very diverse, funky and full of great cafes - and I wouldn't stay anywhere other than Melville Manor. Fantastic.

Room Tip: My room (#3) was lovely, but it was located right next to the kitchen and breakfast area. I didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    30
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
42
23
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed in one of the rooms at the back of Melville Manor which was spacious & light, with a lovely walk through the garden & past the pool. 7th St a short walk away with great restaurants & cafes.

Anna was lovely and very welcoming from the outset, and, as I am a vegan, she had special breakfast supplies for me. They are also helping to send something back which I have left behind.

An oasis in Jo'burg!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Lovely stay with Anna, Irene, Caroline and Jane. It was my second home during my stay in Joburg. Melville is an ideal place to stay (especially traveling alone). The rooms are spacious and the light is lovely. Breakfast is great.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We had been up since 4 AM, flew from Dakar to Johannesburg, and when we saw Levy waiting for us at the airport as planned I couldn't wait to hand myself over to him. We arrived at Melville Manor to be greeted by Irene who acted like her only reason for being was to welcome us. Our room was lovely, I think it was #7, overlooking the lush gardens (they actually do look just like the photos!) Those fluffy towels and the white duvet called to us. We couldn't wait to climb in.
Our room had a fridge and the makings for morning coffee but why would you want to even use them when right across the grass the doors to the dining room and big open plan kitchen beckon, coffee is freshly perked, and omelets, eggs, cereals and fruit are waiting. Anna and Irene must live on the premises because they seem to be able to do just about anything for you no matter the time of day.
The owner, Jane, recently returned from vacation was also around, offering to arrange for us to attend an outdoor concert when we had expressed an interest in walking to the university. The Melville area had the air of a mini Georgetown in the District of Columbia. We walked to the patisserie, book store, grocery, and stopped at a delightfully friendly, reasonable and yummy little restaurant called Ants. Do not miss it.
I wish we could have stayed longer at this home away from home. It was just perfect!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelvilleManor, Owner at Melville Manor Guest House, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Thank you for the wonderful review Sally. I have infact seen more of your very interesting trip around South Africa on your blog. We are very glad that you thoroughly enjoyed Melville and Melville Manor Guest House and would have liked to have stayed longer. It is a fascinating little gem for literature fundi's like you both. Than you once again and hope to see you in the again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Nice room. Great breakfast - lots of it to set you up for the day! The staff are friendly. The off-street parking is useful. The location is fantastic - 30 mins or so from the airport and moments walk from all the local bars and restaurants. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelvilleManor, Owner at Melville Manor Guest House, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Thank you for the great review and it is always great to hear that guests enjoy the charm of Melville and get to walk around the quirky neighbourhood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

The Lonely Planet guide recommends Melville as a good neighbourhood to stay in if you want to be able to walk to restaurants and shops, so we ended up at Melville Manor Guest House. It was perfect. A comfortable, cool, and quiet room; friendly, helpful staff; and it is just around the corner from bookstores, giftshops, and enough choice in bars and restaurants to please any diner. I highly recommend Melville Manor Guest House if you're in Jo'burg for more than a couple of days. The only downside was having to pay for Internet.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelvilleManor, Owner at Melville Manor Guest House, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
A wonderful review you have written which we greatly appreciate. It is unfortunate about charging for WiFi and I can completely understand you. Perhaps when our technology is more adanced in South Africa it will be free or more affordable for us all like the first world! Thank you once agin for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Our daughter was going to Johannesburg for 3 weeks work experience and having read the reviews for Melville Manor we decided to book her in for the duration of her stay. She was made to feel very welcome by Jane and Anna and by the end of her stay felt like it was home.

We joined her at the end of her 3 weeks and were also made to feel at home. The rooms are comfortable and clean, the breakfast was excellent and there was always a smile from Anna and Irene. They happily looked after our luggage whilst we went on safari with Tydon Safaris, and when we returned we had the lovely garden rooms for our last couple of days.

Melville Manor is ideally situated, only a couple of minutes walk from 7th Street where there is a good variety of places to eat. We especially recommend the café on the corner of 4th Avenue for the coffee and cake. The tourist information on the corner of 1st Avenue organised us a great trip around J’burg with a fantastic guide, Chris Green.

Our taxi transfers were also organised by Melville Manor and we couldn’t have had a better driver than Levy. He is a really friendly and careful driver and we also used him to take us to the Apartheid Museum and the African Market at Rosebank. Highly recommend booking your taxi transfer with the accommodation.

Thanks to Jane and Anna for making us, and especially our daughter, so welcome.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelvilleManor, Owner at Melville Manor Guest House, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
What a superb review from you all! Thank you and it is much appreciated. We are just so delighted that your South African holiday was so wonderful. And it is great that your daughter got the best of both worlds - the work environment and the holiday side. We do hope to see you all again on another South African adventure. Have a great year ahead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melville Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Manor Guest House

Address: No. 80 | Second Avenue, Melville 2092, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Melville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Melville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Melville Manor Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melville Manor is a beautifully restored house dating back to the early 1900s. Situated for perfect convenience. We boast seven bedrooms (of which five are en-suite), a large communal lounge/dining area with a cosy fireplace leading onto a delightful garden patio and swimming pool with secure off-the-street parking. Melville Manor has been designed with that 'home-away-from-home' feeling in mind. Melville Manor is located off the wonderful 7th street in Melville. We are very close to Rosebank and central Johannesburg. We are also amidst the universities, media parks, SABC, Newtown, Oriental Plaza, theatres, galleries and a great variety of shopping malls, unique destination boutiques, restaurants and music bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Melville Manor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Manor Guest House Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melville Manor Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.