We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Klondike Rib and Salmon BBQ

Klondike Rib and Salmon BBQ
2116 2nd Ave., Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 1B9, Canada
867.667.7554
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 81 Restaurants in Whitehorse
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Fun, Friendly, "Taste of the Yukon" type of Atmosphere....
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Very tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I went to the Yukon for the 1st time in my life, July 3 2014. Went to lunch at the Klondike Rib and Salmon and was pleasantly surprised. They have amazing food. They smoke their own salmon as well as serve Elk. The service was outstanding. I loved it so much that I went back a couple of days later for lunch.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    120
    50
    20
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manitoba
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good selections, great food, must go to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

A great atmosphere, no need to dress up here! Drinks are served in mason jars. Bannock comes with your meal. I had fresh baked halibut that was so succulent and had Brie and a berry sauce on it! Others in my group had fish and chips and a vegetarian dish. Great location to walk to downtown. You might have to wait!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Did not meet my expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I watched the episode of "you gotta eat here" expecting the Klondike Rib and Salmon to be the most delicious meal I ever ate but was disappointed in the quality of the food. The fries that came with the fish were not the best the Yukon had to offer. The fish was good but not great. I ordered crab cakes and although they were good, they were oily. The restaurant was full of people... But that was ok. We waited a bit to be seated but were greeted and served by friendly staff. Unfortunately I would not run back to this restaurant. I would sooner go to the food truck in Carcross to eat more delicious fish tacos from Frisky Fresh Fish.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Creative & good eats!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Kudos to the imagination of those who put this eatery together. The prospector structure makes it an authentic experience and the food was great. Busy spot so make reservations.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, AK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This is a primo place to eat in Whitehorse. Unfortunately, it is so popular that, at prime time, there can be lengthy waits to get in. Pick your time or wait and you will find selections of fish and chips, dinners featuring wild game, and of course, BBQ ribs and salmon. The food is good, service is responsive and cheery, and the environment is comfortable. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Klondike Rib and Salmon BBQ also viewed

 
Whitehorse, Yukon
 

Been to Klondike Rib and Salmon BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Klondike Rib and Salmon BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.