We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Steele Street Restaurant & Lounge

Steele Street Restaurant & Lounge
201 Wood Street, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2E4, Canada
867-393-9738
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 81 Restaurants in Whitehorse
Restaurant details
Dunstable, Bedfordshire, England
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We just had lunch here, a tuna and cheese wrap which came with creamy chicken soup, and a Harvester salad which included goats cheese and fresh summer fruits. Couple of good size beers, and the bill was about $40, not bad at all I thought for the quality of the food, efficient service and the nicest coldest beer I've had in the Yukon so far! Would go again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    5
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Grood place for a Friday night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We ended up here for dinner on our first night in Whitehorse. We had no recommendations, but they had advertised on the hotel billboard, and it caught our eye. They had free appies from 5-6pm on Friday nights: chips and salsa, deep fried mushroom caps and veggies were all we could get at 545. We ordered the Yukon Brewing Company beer sampler, the Arctic Char, which was great, and the Westmark favourite ribs, which was ok. They had live music from 6 - 9 which was great. Not bad for atmosphere. The waiter seemed a bit rushed, leaving after each question we asked, and he was sweating heavily. I couldn't really tell if he was overworked, or it was too hot in there.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley, BC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good Selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I found that the menu mainly caters to American tastes and portion sizes. There is so much unique food from this part of Canada that could be show cased and yet isn't.
Fries with everything (almost) isn't what I want to see.

I did have the Arctic Char which was good except the sauce used on it was a after thought.

Good Value for the money

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north Wales
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Easy access, as was in hotel, good choice of breakfast, evening meals were ample, snacks were availble if required.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fair place to go”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

It is better at lunch than dinner... food is good but average for a hotel.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steele Street Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Steele Street Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steele Street Restaurant & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.