We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Muchos flavour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanchez Cantina

Sanchez Cantina
211 Hanson St, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 1Y3, Canada
(867) 668-5858
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 85 Restaurants in Whitehorse
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Upper Hutt, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Muchos flavour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I recently went to Sanchez Cantina with a couple of friends and had such a delicious meal, you HAVE to try the tacos they were so darn delicious! Even though it was really busy and we didn’t have a reservation, the friendly waitress managed to find us a table. The ambience was super and so was the guacamole (we ordered extra!) and the margaritas (my friend is pretty fussy when it comes to margaritas) were spot on. Sometimes I find Mexican food a bit heavy and greasy, but the fresh ingredients and home-style cooking meant that thankfully this was not the case. Make sure you swing by and check it out! Gracias Sanchez Cantina!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    37
    9
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Whitehorse, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Real and delicious mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I have been going to Sanchez Cantina since 2006, and I will keep going anytime the offer comes up. Relax atmoshere on outdoor deck looking at the Clay Cliffs, in the heart of the city. Expensive for the size of meals, lots of vegeterian option. Don`t miss this jewel when you come to Whitehorse.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Adequate food, average service, pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The food we had was good, but the enchiladas (all of 3.5") were the smallest I have ever seen. The salmon entree was quite good, but at $26 pretty spendy for what you got. Want some chips and salsa before dinner? No problem, but they are not free. The restaurant had 5 tables occupied but service was slow ( albeit friendly).

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican - in Whitehorse!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We had a great meal at Cantona Sanchez on Friday night. Que rico! So delicious! I had the special - shrimp cooked perfectly (with crusty shells removed) in a complex and perfectly cooked sauce that was exquisite! Mexican Vegetables were excellent as well. Owners and staff seemed really sweet too - awesome - I'd go back again and again if I lived here!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious Tacos!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My husband and I moved from Southern California (where there are thousands of Mexican restaurants) to Juneau, Alaska over two years ago. We haven't had luck finding really good Mexican food until we discovered Sanchez Cantina on our first visit to Whitehorse. The tacos were beyond great, as were the rice and beans, as well as the salad. We were so impressed that we came back for dinner and lunch again the following day. Otelina Sanchez is a very good cook--her recipes are excellent and we heartily recommend her restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sanchez Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Sanchez Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanchez Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.