We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The friendly north” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yukon Visitor Information Centre

Yukon Visitor Information Centre
100 Hanson St, Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
1-867-667-3084
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 41 things to do in Whitehorse
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bed and Breakfast
Edmonton
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
128 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“The friendly north”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Talk about a group of people who go out of their way to show the best of the Klondike. The friendly approach and patience of my silly questions were taken in stride by the people. Tips of where to go and where we were able to find coupons for discounts made the trip in the Yukon much more favorable.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    27
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very helpful and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

they knew everything about all that we wanted to do. we drove to carcross one day and to kluane national park another day. and lots to do around town. they knew it all

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
114 attraction reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
253 helpful votes 253 helpful votes
“One of the most Helpful Information centre we have been to...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

The woman in the center gave us a lot of helpful info, the free parking badge for 3 days, maps, etc. Many helpul exhibitions around, huge helpul map of Yukon (very good for orientation), etc.
Open until quite late in the evening!

(If you’ve found this review helpful, you can let me and others know it by clicking the green Yes below)

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“The Most Un-Helpful Information centre we have been to.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We arrived by car on a Wednesday at about 3pm and hadn't been able to arrange any place to camp while we where here. So we thought that we would go into the information centre and get some help. We were greeted by a man who laughed at us for not booking anything earlier and then threw a booklet across the couter at us and told us pay phones are in the corner.

The information centre had no WiFi or internet stations available and the one staff member was so useless and rude that you would be better going to an internet cafe and researching it yourself.

After one phone call the man came up to us and said we are closing and you must leave right now! At this stage it was 3:15pm.

We ended up heading to te local library for wifi and sorting it out ourselves. We were very lucky to get in contact with Amanda from the Robert Services Campground who was more than accommodating and really looked after us in our visit to Whitehorse.

Also you could try Baked a little cafe right around the corner they have wifi and delicious food and coffee to help you find what you need

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Super helpful, lots of parking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

This was the first place we landed when we moved here several years ago. Lots of RV parking. Nice staff. Very cool interactive "light up" map that entertained my children while we were gathering information. Nice private pay phone booths, if like us you sometimes need a pay phone. Clean bathrooms. Good videos on bear safety. I recommend it!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yukon Visitor Information Centre also viewed

 

Been to Yukon Visitor Information Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yukon Visitor Information Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.