We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aloha and Mahalo to our new Yukon friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Northern Lights Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Northern Lights Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Northern Lights Resort & Spa
Lot 1178 Gentian Lane | PO Box 11028, Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Early Bird - Summer 2015
Ranked #1 of 27 Whitehorse B&B and Inns
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Aloha and Mahalo to our new Yukon friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

As all the previous reviewers have shared, there are not enough superlatives to describe our absolutely fabulous stay with Wolfgang and Renate at their beautiful resort in March, 2013. And to think we almost canceled our trip to Whitehorse because I read three 14-day weather forecast that it would be snowing 4 of the 5 days we would be staying in Whitehorse. We were afraid we would be flying all the way there from Honolulu and not see any Northern Lights. We are serious photographers (hobby) and also wanted to check off the aurora borealis from our bucket list. But my husband said to take a chance and thanks also to Sebastian of Northern Tales Tour who informed us that Yukon weather is unpredictable, off we went.

Well, if there was ever a perfect trip this would have been it. After staying at the comfortable Gold Rush Inn and visiting the viewing site where we saw the lights 2 out of the 3 nights with Northern Tales Co and their outstanding staff and guides, we transferred here to the Northern Lights Resort and Spa as part of a package deal. Gosh, we are so glad we did this. What an amazing experience! Wolfgang and Renate are the perfect hosts....warm, friendly, welcoming, thoughtful and helpful. Staying with them was like staying with old friends. We were so impressed that they built their beautiful main lodge and 2 cabins by themselves. Wolfgang is so talented having constructed their resort and maintaining it so that it is always spotless. Renate is a wonderful cook. We had gourmet dinners every night! Wolfgang and she would also make delicious breakfasts that were substantial enough to last until dinner.

The 2 nights we were there, the lights were of low activity but we still were able to capture some beautiful shots. Wolfgang is an amazing photographer and showed us some of his photos. He also shared some tips on how to capture the lights. It was so convenient to stay at one of their cabins. The very cute, neat, clean cabin had a full bath, fireplace,little sofa and a complete kitchen which we loved. We could make tea to warm ourselves as we sat up on the porch or stood on their driveway or in the open field for 4 hours from 10:00 pm to 2:00am waiting for the lights to appear with our camera equipment on tripods ready for action.

I think our only regret was not being able to stay longer to take advantage of their spa services and snow shoeing activities. This just means we have to come back which we plan to do.
Wolfgang and Renate, thank you so much for everything! We really miss you and your beautiful resort. We look forward to reciprocating your warm hospitality when you come to visit Hawaii.

Mahalo nui loa and a heartfelt Aloha!

The Hawaiian Yukon Girl (Fran and husband Mal)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfgang B, Owner at Northern Lights Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Aloha Fran & Malcolm, Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we spent an amazing time together. We have had so many excellent review on TripAdvisor and we would like to thanks all our guests again for taking time to do so but this time we would like to send a very special “Thank you” to Fran for her wonderful review. There is nothing that can make us more happy than knowing our guests had a wonderful time with us and that we have made new friends. We are looking forward to see you again in summer and we promise to visit you soon in Hawaii. All the Best, Renate & Wolfgang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
111
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whistler, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

What a great lodge! It's being like home away from home. The breakfast was amazing, the dinner was delicious, the cabins are cozy and spotless. Thank you, Wolfgang and Renate for a perfect time in the Yukon. I really enjoyed your great and warm hospitality. Thank you for booking a dog sledding tour for me, it was an incredible experience. For my next visit I will make sure to stay a bit longer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfgang B, Owner at Northern Lights Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Tina, thank you so much for staying with us and the wonderful review. We are glad you had a great time in the Yukon and enjoyed our Resort, especially the dog sledding. It was a great pleasure to be your hosts ! Renate & Wolfgang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Thea and I fully endorse the many positive comments by previous reviewers. Wolfgang and Renate weave their special "Yukon magic" around their guests. We felt truly spoilt and very special during the two occasions and six nights that we stayed with them. The Resort has a fairytale feel about it with the bonus of experiencing the northern lights right outside your door. We were glad that we had the opportunity to meet Wolfgang and Renate and spend time with them and are looking forward to coming back in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfgang B, Owner at Northern Lights Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review, Thea & Ermil. It was a great pleasure to be your hosts and being a part of your Yukon Winter Vacation. You came as guest in our house but left as friends and we are looking forward to see you again, maybe sometimes in summer. Renate & Wolfgang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We just spent three glorious days hosted by Wolfgang and Renate. We went primarily to see Northern Lights after spending time in Iceland without seeing any. Indeed on the third night we were treated to an amazing two hour display, that made my wife's dream come true. However, there is much more to a stay there. The lodge is beautiful, the meals were excellent and the scenery is gorgeous. For daytime activities we most enjoyed dog sledding and cross country skiing at Whitehorse's outstanding municipal facility. If you have never been to Whitehorse, as we had not, you will discover a hidden gem.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfgang B, Owner at Northern Lights Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Peggy & Allen, Thank you very much for your wonderful review , it was nice to have you with us. The Northern Lights are always so magic and we are glad you saw it finally here in the Yukon. All the best for your South America trip, Wolfgang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Wonderful experience. As a bonus, we were rewarded with an exceptional viewing of the Aurora on March 20th. Wolfgang and Renate are gracious hosts as well as very interesting and lovely people. The rooms were modern,clean and comfortable and the food was superb. Our group of four had an outstanding visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfgang B, Owner at Northern Lights Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Shirley & Ken, we would like to thank you so much for staying at our Resort and for the opportunity to be your hosts. It was a great pleasure for us meeting you, you were amazing guests. We hope to see you again in the beautiful Yukon. Renate and Wolfgang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, CA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

If you read all these reviews, you might think that the Northern Lights Resort and Spa is perfect, and you would be right. Granted, no place is perfect for everyone, but if any two people will try to make you comfortable and have a wonderful time, it is Wolfgang and Renate. These two work tirelessly, and make it look like there is nothing that they'd rather be doing. They are amazing.

We stayed for 4 nights and saw the northern lights 3 times - one of which was spectacular. The moose walking by the kitchen, the extra tours, Renate's massage, and the food all added to this perfect vacation. We were warm, well-fed, and enchanted. Don't even bother to consider another place, especially if seeing the lights is important - viewing them from the comfort of your own warm cabin is unbeatable. Definitely include snow shoeing, dog sledding, and daily naps..

Room Tip: Advantages to cabins: Easy viewing of lights without having to walk into lodge's main room; kitc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfgang B, Owner at Northern Lights Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Lucinda! Making our guests happy is our number one priority and it is not difficult when we have amazing guests like you, Ed, Shirley and Ken - wonderful, open minded people. And the Yukon Nature was also helpful to make your stay "perfect", we do not have a Moose coming around every day ;-) Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you again, if here in the Yukon or on a trip to California. Renate & Wolfgang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just spent 4 days and 3 fabulous nights here and what a truly wonderful experience. Not part of our original accommodation as my cousin and I were planning to get the package from Air North that included return flights + 2 nights in a downtown hotel. Because of the local hockey tournament, all hotels incl in the package were fully booked. We were so intent on going so we kept searching until we saw the reviews on trip advisor for this B&B. As fate would have it, there was a cancellation on our intended stay.
The place was amazing. Serene, a beauty, nature at its winter's best. The owners- Wolfgang & Renata were just incredible in looking after their guests. The food was topnotch. Everything was perfect.
We stayed at the Chalet Enzian just next to the jacuzzi (wink!). There was carpeting from the main house to the chalets which was a great idea. My cousin & I opted for the 'Winter at it's best' package. We got to do snowshoeing, dogsledding, had massage & spa. We came for the northern lights and we got so much more.
At the end of our stay, Renata and Wolfgang, even extended their service to us. Renata drove us to town to do a quick shopping , while she went on with her grocery shopping. Then met up with us to shuttle us to the airport. Amazing.
Again, It was an amazing experience and I am so glad I chose to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfgang B, Owner at Northern Lights Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Christine & Cheery, thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so glad there was the hockey tournament in town and you could not get a room there, because we probably would not have met you. You were amazing guests and it was a great pleasure to have you here in our home. Our greatest reward is to see that our guests are happy and that we could be helpful to make a memorable stay in the Yukon. Wolfgang & Renate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Northern Lights Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Lights Resort & Spa

Address: Lot 1178 Gentian Lane | PO Box 11028, Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Whitehorse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by forests, fields and mountain ranges, this stunning purpose-built property could be your home away from home. Northern Lights Resort & SPA is more than a B&B, it is an escape from the hustle and bustle and demands of 21st century living without compromising on the comfort. Come out for a visit and get lost in your dreams. We are perfectly located just 25 Kilometers south of Whitehorse, a little piece of paradise with spa / wellness area featuring a finish sauna, infrared sauna, outdoor Jacuzzi, rest room and massage treatments. We offer B&B accommodation and Resort style "All-Inclusive" Summer and Winter Packages with activities, healthy European style food and free Wi-Fi. Your perfect Yukon location for Northern Lights viewing with style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Northern Lights Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Lights Resort & Spa Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northern Lights Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.