We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Helpful and Knowledgeable Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Up North Adventures - Day Tours

Up North Adventures - Day Tours
103 Strickland Street, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2J6, Canada
+1 867-667-7035
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 35 Activities in Whitehorse
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Up North Adventures is an award winning adventure travel outfitter based in downtown Whitehorse, Yukon. We have been helping people from all over the world experience one of the most unique places on Earth since 1991! Our complete selection of trips and tours are designed to help you experience and enjoy the Yukon year round.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very Helpful and Knowledgeable Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

All the staff at Up North Adventures were extremely helpful. My boyfriend and I rented all our gear from them for a self-guided canoe trip on the Wind River and there was always someone around to answer all our questions. Had many conversations with Elke regarding the planning, itinerary and gear that we might need. There are very few people around in Whitehorse that have completed the Wind so speaking to Elke provided great comfort. Lots of great advise and if we are back in Whitehorse we would definitely use them again.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    4
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Two thumbs UP”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Two big thumbs up to all the staff at Up North Adventures in Whitehorse. I used them for three separate self-guided trips this summer and everything went exceedingly well. They were really friendly yet very professional and great to get along. They were unfazed and quite accommodating with my various requests for gear, canoe types and transportation changes.
They're the best. I've used their services before, will use them again and highly recommend them to anyone heading up that way.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing Experience - Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We took two trips - one was a day canoe trip from Marsh lake to Schwatka Lake. The second was a 4 day, three night canoe trip down the Yukon from Lake Laberge to Little Salmon.
The staff were amazing and the trips were all fantastic. They did everything that they could to make sure that our trip was 100% fantastic.

Thanks to everyone at Up North!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“They went further”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We recently rented a canoe and two kayaks to paddle the Yukon River from Whitehorse to the Takhini River Bridge (3 hours). One of our friends flipped his Kayak and had to ditch it to swim to shore. Another group on the river noticed the floating Kayak and called Up North. Our friend hiked back to town while we continued on to fetch his Kayak.

Having found his kayak we continued down river only to have an Up North boat appear soon afterwards. They wanted to ensure we were all ok, that no one was too shaken up and help in any way they could.

We gladly gave them the extra kayak and finished our trip.

We just wanted to thank the Up North team for taking such good care of us, you guys rock!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowayton, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic 8 day canoeing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My 3 companions and I, all over 65, just returned from a fantastic guided canoeing trip from Whitehorse to Carmacks. Up North manager Elke Stottenberg and Stephan were our very professional guides and looked after us in every way, from making certain we were always safe, teaching us how to paddle and steer, pitch tents to where to (try to) catch a pike. Elke is a fine cook, and they have encyclopedic knowledge of the Yukon River, Lake Laberge and the Gold Rush history and site we vsited along the way. A splendid experience was had by all.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Up North Adventures - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Up North Adventures - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Up North Adventures - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.