We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very tired hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coast High Country Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Coast High Country Inn to your Saves list
Coast High Country Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4051 4th Avenue, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 1H1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Mount Forest, Canada
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A very tired hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel twice and would not return. Outside it was 27c and our room had no A C ! The lobby carpeting has more furrows than a farmers field! On our second visit, we had been downgraded ! Until, we raised a minor ruckus...well too bad. ,!enentually , they reduced our rate when the front desk knew I was really irritated. We will never return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    50
    37
    13
    7
See reviews for
16
33
14
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Port Moody, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The hotel is old and has not been renovated. carpets are all wavy and in a very poor shape, both in the common areas and in the rooms. Most of the rooms have no air conditioning. Washrooms are old and in poor shape. whirlpool bath tubs are not functional and there is no plug in the bath tubs, so forget to take a bath.
When checking in, they forgot the old, dirty towels in the washroom from the previous client.
Very noisy all day and all night, people walking and talking loud in the hallways permanently. Very bad noise insulation on the doors.
Internet, like in most of the hotels in Whitehorse, totally sucks. The speed is acceptable, but it keeps disconnecting every few minutes, and it keeps asking you to push the "accept" button on and on. This makes any attempt to work on the Internet from your room impossible, so if you go to Whitehorse for work, or if you need acceptable Internet connection. Avoid this hotel.
For the big price you pay, they should be providing a super high speed Internet and new carpets and renovated washrooms in every room. It's a rip off!.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Canada
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, the second week of June. Check in at reception was very efficient. I was pleased to see that a computer was available to use on each floor. Since I was traveling with a bad leg, this was very convenient for me. We ate in the pub the first night and we had terrific service. Loved the borsch and ribs. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Sorry, hit the swimming pool button by mistake. I have no idea if this hotel has a swimming pool or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Business visit. I booked a room plus a conference room. Both were incredibly hot. There is no air-con at this hotel. The conference room was low-ceilinged, hot, and the tablecloths weren't ironed, had not even been folded - they had been rolled in a ball out of the dryer. They were too short for the tables and no skirting for the tables either. No water jugs on the tables - water cooler and plastic cups in the corner. It was super-hot and looked like crap and it was $150 for 2 hours. Not going back.

Room Tip: No air-con in the rooms, and it was about 30 degrees. Two small windows, only one of which opened. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This hotel is not an 5 star hotel, but I would not expect that in a place like Whitehorse. It was comfortable and charming in its own way. I would recommend it.

I was on a tour of 42 people. When we arrived they had all the rooms ready and got our luggage to our rooms promptly. The staff was very nice and helpful. We ate at the attached restaurant that night (actually in the bar area) and it was good food. They have a local brewery there and I strongly recommend the beer. It was excellent. It is an easy walk to the riverfront which we really enjoyed. I was with an older lady and the walk to downtown was kind of far for her. It was at least 15 minutes. But, there is a Starbucks. That is a plus for me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Got into white horse about 1100 am-tried to check in(was told it would be ok when I booked the room) I was told to come back in two hours which I did. Still I could not check in-room not ready. I finally got checked in after 5pm. All the other people got to check in early. I did not get the group rate and the price given to me when I left. The room was so hot(even with the heat off). I had a fan on and would have to open a window which then the room would get cold. Then I would close the window-would get hot. I would leave the curtains closed and the fan on when I left the room only to come back with the fan off and the curtains wide open. It was a sauna.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

you wont go wrong staying at this hotel. friendly and helpful staff. good food. great bar to meet up with locals. good location with a 10 min walk to the downtown action. overall a wonderful hotel to enjoy all that this Yukon city and surrounding area has to offer

Room Tip: upgrade yourself from a standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coast High Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast High Country Inn

Address: 4051 4th Avenue, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 1H1, Canada
Location: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coast High Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make the High Country Inn the centre of your Yukon adventure. Recent renovations including over $1 million spent on updated guest rooms, kitchen, parking and fitness facilities make the High Country the first choice for visitors to the Yukon. Complimentary wireless internet, two restaurants, and a quiet yet convenient location ensure that you have all the comforts of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Coast High Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Hotel Whitehorse
Country Inn Whitehorse
Whitehorse Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coast High Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.