We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Coast High Country Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Coast High Country Inn to your Saves list
Coast High Country Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4051 4th Avenue, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 1H1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Juneau, Alaska
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bad service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Got into white horse about 1100 am-tried to check in(was told it would be ok when I booked the room) I was told to come back in two hours which I did. Still I could not check in-room not ready. I finally got checked in after 5pm. All the other people got to check in early. I did not get the group rate and the price given to me when I left. The room was so hot(even with the heat off). I had a fan on and would have to open a window which then the room would get cold. Then I would close the window-would get hot. I would leave the curtains closed and the fan on when I left the room only to come back with the fan off and the curtains wide open. It was a sauna.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    50
    37
    13
    7
See reviews for
16
33
14
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

you wont go wrong staying at this hotel. friendly and helpful staff. good food. great bar to meet up with locals. good location with a 10 min walk to the downtown action. overall a wonderful hotel to enjoy all that this Yukon city and surrounding area has to offer

Room Tip: upgrade yourself from a standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Alaska
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We always look forward to stopping here on our way up and down the Alaskan Highway. The staff are always so friendly and helpful. Nicole and Jules helped us this year and I have to continue to say, I have never been better treated by front desk staff. Our room was spacious, very nicely appointed, and very comfortable. The hotel welcomes our senior citizen dog which is important to us as we have traveled with her all of her 16 years. The big Royal Canadian Mountie outside the front entry is a welcomed sight to these tired travelers, and a wonderful photo opportunity for many. Try this hotel..I think you will like it!

Room Tip: Just tell the staff what your needs/preferences are..I think they will do everything in their power...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

My title sums it up, but here are some more lowlights:
long hairs on my bed (I'm a short haired male)
dirty shower curtain with noticeable dirt hand prints at eye level
only soap in the entire room was shower gel in the wall dispenser in the shower
no desk for working on
toilet bowl was dirty
noise from the bar below (I was in room 403) was BAD!
Pub "The Deck" had good food.

WAY overpriced based on other options. They told me that our Coast corporate rate didn't apply to this location... Seriously?

Room Tip: NOT over the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Have stayed in a few in Whitehorse and this seems to be the cleanest and quietest. The do have great breakfasts .... Nice and clean restaurants. Central location. Very friendly staff. Rooms have been updated since my last stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haines Junction, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Interesting place alright, wonderful gourmet food, lobby is nice, staff behind desk on the most part friendly but always most helpful!
I walked in and though WHOA, until I got to my room, a jail cell sized room with only a shower stall, how knew no tub? Sure not I anyway!!
I'm sitting on my bed, hours later, it occurs to me! This looks EXACTLY like a modernized, revamped YM or YWCA! I later discovered it actually is and did I laugh as clearly this means the bones of a building can never truly be altered!
Have to say though, they do go out of their way to not make it a YM-YWCA experience anyway.

Room Tip: Ask for a bathtub, if that's your thing, otherwise, it's a very tiny shower stall and medioc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed at the Coast high Country Inn for 3 nights over the Easter weekend with the Air North air+hotel package. The room is well maintained, quiet, clean, and very comfortable. One thing I really like is that It has a microwave in the room, in which most hotels don't have. It allows us to heat up our meals. Basically, the room has everything you need. Staff is very helpful and friendly. They are always there to answer your enquiries. The lobby is clean and spacious with sofas allowing our group to hang around. Parking is free of charge at the hotel. Since it is operated under the Coast group, you can earn aeroplan points too!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coast High Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast High Country Inn

Address: 4051 4th Avenue, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 1H1, Canada
Location: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coast High Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make the High Country Inn the centre of your Yukon adventure. Recent renovations including over $1 million spent on updated guest rooms, kitchen, parking and fitness facilities make the High Country the first choice for visitors to the Yukon. Complimentary wireless internet, two restaurants, and a quiet yet convenient location ensure that you have all the comforts of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Coast High Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Hotel Whitehorse
Country Inn Whitehorse
Whitehorse Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coast High Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.