We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's OK” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coast High Country Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Coast High Country Inn to your Saves list
Coast High Country Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4051 4th Avenue, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 1H1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Whitehorse, Yukon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“It's OK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

The room was quite small, and bathroom was tiny. However, the hotel did clearly state that the bathroom was small, and did not have a tub. The room was clean and well appointed. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yukonhotels, Director of Sales at Coast High Country Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Thanks for staying with us. We are happy you enjoyed your visit and look forward to hosting you again soon. We also have a variety of room sizes and will try to have a larger one available for you next time. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    46
    35
    12
    6
See reviews for
14
31
14
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

The High Country Inn is one of the best in Whitehorse; however, I was still a little unsatisfactory to me. The cleanliness is 2nd rate, in my opinion. I noticed that the wine glass in my room was not cleaned for two days even though there was a red spot on it.

The TV could be bigger because there were not too many activities one can do in Whitehorse.

My room card was disfunctional 3 times in 4 days. This can be improved, I believe.

But having said that, this hotel is still one of the best in Whitehorse.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, you may want to consider getting a room on the 3rd floor with a big bath tub a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yukonhotels, Director of Sales at Coast High Country Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your comments and will use them to keep improving. Some of our new renovations should be done by your next stay and we think you will appreciate the improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed here three different nights traveling in and out of Whitehorse. On the plus side, front desk staff was very good-natured and helpful, rooms were clean and quiet, beds fine, free airport shuttle worked well, and coin laundry on the third floor was very handy. However rooms were very plain, two of three were small with small bathrooms and small showers, wifi a little inconsistent. Dinner at the deck restaurant was fine but breakfast buffet tired -- the Burnt Toast Cafe a much better choice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yukonhotels, Director of Sales at Coast High Country Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your business and positive comments. We are in the process of renovating and improving our internet service and look forward to welcoming you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Whitehorse is expensive but even by local standards, this place seems overpriced to me. My experiences in two nights there in Aug 2011: The wireless internet was kind of flaky. Most of the rooms have no bathtub. The decoration was a bit drab. The restaurant seemed only OK to me.

On the up side, the staff try hard to be helpful.

All in all, I think the Edgewater in the middle of the downtown is a better deal.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yukonhotels, Director of Sales at Coast High Country Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and for the kind words about the staff. We try very hard to be helpful and create a great expereince for our guests. I am sorry we didnt meet your expectations this trip and will use your feedback improve. The hotel is presently in the midst of a $1 million dollar renovation so your concerns should be addressed for your next visit. And as its a uniquely built hotel, a few rooms out of necessity don't have a bathtub. Most do however and our front desk staff will be happy to set you up with one. We also are famous for our hot tubs suites if thats of interest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

I think this is one of the best Hotels I have stayed in. Immaculate rooms and a great restaurant in the Hotel also with room service. I was surprised to find such a well run establishment so far north for reasonable rates. I highly recommend this Hotel. There are many Hotels in Whitehorse that are affordable compared to few in Yellowknife which is the other major population center north of the Provinces. I recommend booking well ahead of time because a place this good will be booked up probably months ahead of time.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yukonhotels, Director of Sales at Coast High Country Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2011
Thank you for the great review! Our staff will be delighted to hear your positive comments. We appreciate your business and look forward to hosting you again soon! Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta,British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed at the High Country Inn on the second week of August, not expecting a luxurious hotel and the High Country is certainly not one. We had requested a king-size bed and were given a room with 2 doubles on the 4th floor stuffed into a corner right above the entrance and the very loud parking lot. They were unable to accommodate our request. The room was small, crowded and really not all that clean. The bathroom sink had a layer of grime and the beginnings of bacteria around the drain, there were small splatters of what appeared to be blood on the door. The beds were comfortable, and the white sheeting was nice, however as our days wore on the bed making by our housekeeper became less and less. He would just pull up the coverlet and toss the pillows on top and that was that. Being quite neat and tidy, I had allready cleaned up the room and all that was left was the bed and the garbage can. The hotel could use a good cleaning all over, including the lobby and the restaurant. On the plus side, the front desk staff were friendly and there was free Wifi.
I have not been to the Yukon for 30 years and will probably wait another 30 to return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yukonhotels, Director of Sales at Coast High Country Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Thank for staying with us and the kind words about our front desk staff. We regret the other issues you expereinced during your stay and are actively investigating what went wrong. We have some great staff and are very proud of our hotel and have significantly invested in upgrades the past couple years to ensure we give a great experience to our guests. We appreciate your honest comments, and take them very seriously, and will use them to improve and hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrace, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

Never being to Whitehorse before, we didn't know what to expect. First arriving at the hotel we were greeted by a 3 storey tall RCMP officer. Felt safer already. The hotel crew did everything to make our stay welcoming. We had a little dog with us and when we asked, they said that we have a room for you. We were expecting (like other hotels) something in the basement next to the laudry room, but not here. 2nd floor with a king sized bed and a jacuzzi. Awesome!!! The only problem we had was we wished we were here for a vacation instead of work related, because there was so much to see and experience in this northern community.

Room Tip: Have camera ready, LOTS of wildlife.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yukonhotels, Director of Sales at Coast High Country Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Thank you for the glowing review and we are certainly glad you enjoyed you stay with us. The team works hard to ensure that our guest have a pleasant stay and it is always nice to receive these kind of comments. I will certainly pass them on to the staff. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coast High Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast High Country Inn

Address: 4051 4th Avenue, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 1H1, Canada
Location: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coast High Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make the High Country Inn the centre of your Yukon adventure. Recent renovations including over $1 million spent on updated guest rooms, kitchen, parking and fitness facilities make the High Country the first choice for visitors to the Yukon. Complimentary wireless internet, two restaurants, and a quiet yet convenient location ensure that you have all the comforts of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coast High Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Hotel Whitehorse
Country Inn Whitehorse
Whitehorse Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coast High Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.