We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in Every Way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aurora Borealis & Northern Lights Tours Yukon

Aurora Borealis & Northern Lights Tours Yukon
P.O. Box 31178, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 5P7, Canada
+1 867-667-6054
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to Northern Tales Travel Services, your one-stop shopping spot for year-round adventure in the Yukon! In winter, enjoy an aurora borealis viewing package with optional winter activities such as dog mushing, snowmobiling, snowshoeing, ice fishing, sightseeing flights and special events. Summer experiences include hiking the Chilkoot Trail, canoeing remote rivers reachable only by float-plane, fishing on the Big Salmon River, trekking past glaciers in Kluane National Park, and much more! Ask about custom, individual and private trips by foot, boat or van.
Richmond, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect in Every Way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

When we booked our trip with Northern Tales, we didn't know what to expect. When we had to reschedule our trip due to a family emergency, both Northern Tales and Air North we both very accommodating. This was the first sign that we were dealing with a great organization.

When we arrived we were well taken care of, from picking us up to getting as settled in our hotel, they took care of everything. They provided us with a complete itinerary and allowed us flexibility in order for us to accomodate a dog sledding excursion.

The northern lights viewing was excellent as well, they provided transportation, a cabin to keep warm in, snacks and beverages to keep us fed. They even provided tripods for our cameras and the guides were so willing to help us to set up our cameras for capturing the lights.

Our thanks to Sebastian, Torsten, Debbie, Toshie, Kei and the rest of the Nothern Tales crew!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    20
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehorse, Yukon Territory, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An Unforgettable Night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

During the first weekend of our 10 week stay in Whitehorse we knew we wanted to see the Northern Lights before the peak season was over. Initially we were going to try and see the lights on our own but we heard that the tours were great and this particular evening the forecast was enhanced, promising a great viewing. The tour guide picked us up at our residence around 10:30pm and off we went.
When we arrived to our "camp site" there was a heated cabin with plenty of snacks and hot beverages. The outhouse was very clean and well kept. There was also a campfire where we roasted marsh mellows. Aurora was magical on this night. Words cannot explain how amazing this experience was. The guides were sure to take tons of pictures on their cameras and help us capture so many memories. My digital camera did not have the function to capture the lights so if we were to have gone out on our own we would not have access to such amazing pictures. Overall, the guides were incredibly friendly and enthusiastic. When the lights were getting brighter and more active they would come running over to the cabin to tell us to come out.
We are so fortunate to have experienced such a magical night. Thank you Northern Tales!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Wonder of Nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Thanks to Northern Tales, my husband and I had an outstanding, unique , and memorable trip to Whitehorse. The entire experience, from the initial planning stage to the day we departed, was perfectly planned and executed by the amazing people at Northern Tales.

After being picked up at the airport, we were taken to the lovely Gold Rush Inn and given our clothing package. Everything fit perfectly;boots, pants, jacket, and hat. We added our own buffs, base gloves, hand and feet warmers and were all set ! Grabbing dinner in the Inn was convenient and delicious as well! We were picked up and taken to a viewing area a short distance from the town.We were fortunate to witness the " glory of the heavens" the first night
out! The Northern Lights were spectacular. It was a soul touching , majestic sight. My husband and I were also mesmerized by the midnight blue sky bedazzled with stars. Another breathtaking vision indeed. If we desired a break from the cold, we could retreat to the cozy cottage or the teepee and sip hot chocolate while visiting with people from all over the world.

The next day the city tour was very interesting and informative, thanks Gabe! Our tour of the borealis forest with Andrea was outstanding. We hiked along Wolf Creek where the chinook salmon spawn, tracked a variety of animals, and sipped tea which Andrea had prepared from a forest plant...delicious! The beauty of the forest was beyond words.

The Nature Preserve and Hot Springs outing allowed us the privilege of observing animals indigenous to the arctic area. Never before had I seen a muskox or an arctic fox. The Hot Springs were AHHHHH! Thank you Rika for a great day! We went out to view the lights again on this evening, and saw another spectacular display of the Northern Lights. Neither my husband nor I are great with a camera, but it didn't matter. The gang at Northern Tales takes great pictures and shared them on their websight! They printed up beautifully.

Our final day was spent dog sledding with Muktuk Adventures. It was a first class operation with exceptional guides that made our experience nothing less than outstanding. As we sledded along the Yukon River we saw a wolf, ravens, and a bald eagle. The beauty of the mountainside was indescribable.The guides treated the sledders and the dogs with kindness and respect. We ate a delicious lunch around a roaring campfire while the dogs rested and we were even treated to a delicious dessert of s'mores! This was an eight hour adventure which we thoroughly enjoyed, just make sure to dress in lots of layers! We are so very grateful to have had such an amazing adventure!

There were too many "favorite moments " to choose from as the trip was superior from beginning to end. What did I like least? ....Leaving! We will be back to Whitehorse!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dancing lights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I had a lovely time with the folk from Northern Tales.

Even on nights that the lights didn't come out to play I enjoyed myself - the guides worked hard to make sure people had a good time with or without Northern Lights. The snacks were plentiful. The viewing huts comfy. And then the Lights came out. Hooray.

The admin team were always super quick in their responses to queries and always helpful.

And the day trip options were fun and informative. I did particularly love my time at the Skyhigh Ranch and sitting in the mineral hot springs.

Baked on the main street was an awesome cafe to hang out in and the chocolate milkshakes at Lil's Diner were excellent.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Magic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We have just come back to Australia from Whitehorse and had the most wonderful experience with Northern Tales. We were very fortunate to see the Aurora Borealis on 2 on the nights we were there. The first night was lovely but the 2nd night on March 28 was sensational. The light show started around 10pm and continued until around 1.30. Even at minus 15 I didnt want to go inside the tent which was warm and lots of goodies supplied by the staff as I didnt want to miss anything. Eventually my camera battery went flat but I have some great photos to remember this visit. It certainly was a highlight. The staff K, Gabe, & Debbie were great and nothing was a problem they set my point and shoot camera to be able to get the best photos.. We also did the tour of wildlife park and hot pools to finish off the trip.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aurora Borealis & Northern Lights Tours Yukon also viewed

 

Been to Aurora Borealis & Northern Lights Tours Yukon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aurora Borealis & Northern Lights Tours Yukon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.