We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing service for a big name brand. Not disabled friendly.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Whitehorse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Whitehorse Hotel to your Saves list
Ramada Whitehorse Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2288 2nd Avenue, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 1C8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
GreenLeadersSilver level
Haines Junction, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing service for a big name brand. Not disabled friendly.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Having stayed here several times but not for a couple of years when it was a seasonal overspill Westmark Hotel mainly for tour buses, we thought we would stay here again as we wanted to be at that end of town.

My wife is disabled and now uses a wheelchair and needs a room with handicap accessible features. I booked the room in person on and earlier visit to Whitehorse and asked if they had such a room. I was told that Room 122 was their handicapped accessible room so booked.

This is a misrepresentation. The bathroom is inadequately equipped having no grab rails around the toilet or on the walls. The only aid was a clamp on bath bar which was of no help to my wife. Fortunately we had a similar bar with us as we were travelling and the combination of the two just enabled her to just about manage. The room has a deep tub with inadequate bars. Only an able bodied person could safely use it.

I e-mailed my comments to the General Manager the day after our visit. A week and a half later, no response. It is shame that a big brand franchise cannot offer world class support for the disabled.

The hotel has been partially refurbished. Rooms good for ordinary travellers. Shame the restaurant has been replaced with a Ricky's fast food outlet, but there are a couple of good restaurants (Wheelhouse and Earl's) within 5 minutes walk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darla H, General Manager at Ramada Whitehorse Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Mr. Knowles I am sorry that your stay with us was disappointing. I had not to date received an e-mail from you stating your concerns, however once I read this I immediately put your suggestions into action and have a team fixing the room to be properly accessible. We are still in the middle of massive renovations and it is apparent some very important things have been overlooked. My deepest apologies to you. I hope you will give us another chance in the future. Thank you very much for the important feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    50
    55
    45
    15
See reviews for
53
49
22
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This hotel has had a major facelift....Stayed here a few years ago, doesn't look the same.....Great rooms, lobby and the restaurant was really nice....I will definitely stay here next time visiting this majestic place...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Ridiculously overpriced for the quality (or lack of). Furniture is that of a cheap motel (unfinished and rough that bruises the skin or one's trousers, as and example. Air conditioning - a joke - in the room to which I was assigned. Old sketchy facility.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed 2 nights after driving down the Dempster Highway from Inivuk NWT and after few days in a camper, nice to have a good clean room while visiting Whitehorse. Accommodations were good and enjoyed stay. Reserved a room without air conditioning but was not a problem as Whitehorse weather is sure not like Phoenix Arizona, so nights are very cool and with open windows, room remained very comfortable. Able to park camper in front of hotel and hotel is very close to Walmart, Canadian Tire, couple of strip Malls and MacDonalds right next door. Hotel staff very pleasant and housekeeping staff very obliging in providing lots of towels, etc. to our group. Hotel rates were very competitive for the Whitehorse area. All in all, a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Has elevator, so upper floors no problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Whitehorse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Whitehorse Hotel

Address: 2288 2nd Avenue, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 1C8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Whitehorse Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy ample comfort in the heart of Wilderness City when you stay at The Ramada Whitehorse hotel. Ideally located for viewing the incredible Northern Lights, this hotel in Whitehorse is walking distance to the Waterfront Trolley, which in the summer months will transport you to the MacBride Museum of Yukon History, the SS Klondike and the Old Firehall in minutes.Catch up on events with free Wi-Fi Internet access, and take advantage of free parking, including vehicle plug-ins, in the large-vehicle lot. After a day of exploring Whitehorse, relax in the sauna and keep your clothes fresh in the laundry facilities. All of the guest rooms offer new bedding and feature a flat-screen TV. All suites feature refrigerators, and microwaves. The whole hotel is non-smoking and does offer pet-friendly rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Wyndham, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Whitehorse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmark Klondike Hotel Whitehorse
Ramada Whitehorse Hotel Yukon, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Whitehorse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.