We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“there are not many alternatives in whitehorse” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Canadas Best Value Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Canadas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Canadas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   102 Wood Street, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2E3, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights - Save 20%
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Europe
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“there are not many alternatives in whitehorse”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

the best value inn has seen better times certainly. rooms are clean and you´ll find TV, fridge and free WIFI in your room, however, the hotel is neither nicely styled nor does it have any charming interieur or decoration elements that would invite to stay longer than for a short stopover.
124 can$ is quite a lot for a hotel standard like that but there are not many alternatives around.

Room Tip: choose a room in 2nd floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    25
    21
    19
    19
See reviews for
20
28
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, TN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We had reservations and extended our stay. The rooms were clean and comfortable. They allowed pets!!!!!! The internet had difficulty getting and staying up, but it was easily accessed in the lobby, and I think it truly depended on room placement. They had an ice machine and a great air conditioner, although because I was traveling with my parents they tended to keep the room condusive to growing orchids! As other reviewers stated, it was right next door to a bar, but the the music was nice when I walked the dog! One Royal Canadian Mountie asked me outside the Yukon Museum (where my dog was probably illegally relieving itself) if I had seen a drunk man on the roof, and while I hadn't, by the time I finished walking some 20 minutes later, I spotted him and witnessed his rescue from said museum roof -- never a dull minute in Whitehorse! This, however, could not be attributed in any way to this motel. I noticed several groups of motorcycles parked near the door, and they were perfectly safe.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

I liked the location. The bike path for walking the river is great. I always enjoy walking out of a hotel and beung downtown. Its clean, affordable, good management and great location

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed one night while traveling through Whitehorse. We had a room with one queen bed, microwave, and fridge. There were hairs on the sheets and my husband refused to sleep under the covers. We booked online and they gave us a smoking room and would not change it to a non smoking room when we got there even though we had our 2 year old daughter with us. There was cigarette burns all over the carpets and the room smelled terrible. There was mold in the shower and the shower head was so low that I had to bend down to wash my hair. There was very little parking for the hotel and it was very confusing to figure out what was parking for the hotel especially when you are not familar with the area. We were traveling with our cat and could not open the window to air the room out because there were no screens. It also has a rundown bar next door with a lot of old drunk men hanging around outside. The hotel staff was very friendly though. The price was the cheapest and that is why we booked it, but if we stay in Whitehorse again I will pay more for a better hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

My husband I travel to Yukon and Alaska in June. We stayed in canadas best value inn known by river view hotel.
The front desk staff was nice and very helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable and staff made a great effort to make sure we were enjoying our stay. I hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

It’s not 5-Star hotel. I don’t think there aren’t any 5-Star hotels in Yukon anyway.
However, it’s a fine basic hotel, Very friendly staff, free wi-fi and nice clean room with Yukon River.
We arrived at this hotel one day early from south but they didn’t have any room left that night. However, front desk clerk phoned about 15-20 different hotels, motels & B&B’s in town and found us place to stay overnight. Staffs gave us a good impression that we decided to comeback from trip to Alaska and we are currently in this hotel for next two nights.
The Fusion Korean Restaurant was a great for dinner.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

My husband and I went to Whitehorse for Music Festival in Whitehorse.My room was absolutely clean and large.It has 2 queen size beds,a comfortable chair,large desk and clean bath room.The windows looked out over Yukon River.There was underground parking. The people there could not have been nicer.We had a lovely time.
It is at home with us now.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canadas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadas Best Value Inn

Address: 102 Wood Street, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2E3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Canadas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Whitehorse, Yukon, the Canadas Best Value Inn is a 2-story hotel that offers 53 spacious guest rooms with either a mountain or river view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Canadas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canadas Best Value Hotel Whitehorse
Americas Best Value Inns Whitehorse
Canadas Best Value Inn Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canadas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.