We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Wood Street | Box 4250, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 3T3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 hotels in Whitehorse
bartley ne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good place to stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed as part of Holland America tour. The hotel staff was nice. Room was comfortable. Was warm and staff had extra fans in the room on arrival. Frantic follies were included in our tour but worth the price if you have to pay. Not a five star hotel but you are in the Yukon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    43
    76
    19
    4
See reviews for
20
51
17
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chugiak
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on our way out of Alaska and down to the Lower 48. The hotel seemed to be the cleanest and safest bet in Whitehorse. We had been through the city before and knew what to expect on our way back through. The surrounding area had a ton of Alaskan natives that obviously had drug issues as we saw multiple drug paraphernalia about the town.

The inside of the hotel was well kept up to date and was a comfort after being on the road for hours on end. The rooms were well equipped and up to date for the most part. We did like the option for the hotel restaurant that was attached. If needed everything else desired was within walking distance.

The only issue is the parking. If you are pulling a trailer or are in a large RV you might have issues with parking as there is no real parking lot to stay in or valet. This could pose a big issue for some as it almost did for us.

Room Tip: Ensure you are getting a "non smoking" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Loved the Hotel. We were given a large, spacious room with a kitchenette. We were on a HAL tour, so expected just a normal room, but received so much more. Also the location was good with in walking distance of the town. The best part was the hotel had an absolutely delightful cabarets show in the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on a Holland cruisetour. Our party of 4 had 2 rooms on the second floor. Coming from Beaver Creek, it was nice to have a TV again! The rooms were clean- the bathrooms were renovated. We had no view but that also enabled us to open the window as the temperatures were warmer than noraml and there's no AC. We ate in the dining room as art of the meal plan- dinner was quite good and compared to the best restaurants in town. Many of the servers are college kids working for the summer- they were attentive and friendly so we left an additional tip though our meal plan included gratuity. The breakfast buffet was comprehensive but ended at 8:30, which seemed unusually early though they continue to serve an a la carte breakfast after that. Its not a four star hotel , but remember- you're in the Yukon and things are more rustic all over in this part of the country. The location is very convenient to shopping, restaurants and the city bus stops on the corner- the trolley is a block away on the waterfront of the Yukon River. The local stores closed by 6 pm but the hotel gift shop which has a nice assortment of Canada-produced items is open late. There is added security here in that you need to use your room car to ride the elevator or access the stairs. We saw an encounter between an unsavory belligerent local who was asked to leave the lobby- the manager knew the man by name so this was clearly not the first time this local was loitering. We walked around town in a group of 4 and never felt unsafe, but there are severa; drug/alcohol/psychological counseling places within the city limits and locals sitting on the curb that hint at a seedier side of Whitehorse and explain the heightened security at the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAINES
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

While visiting Whitehorse, Yukon recently we attended the performance of the Frantic Follies at this hotel. We had a fantastic time, and laughed so hard we had tears! Costumes are fantastic, timing great, singing great too. All in all, a great cast showing us a wonderful time; well worth the money for a couple of hours of entertainment.

We did not stay at this hotel, as we were not with a tour group and it predominately handles Holland America bus tour folks. While buying tickets for the Follies, we watched 4 buses unload tourists *whew* way too many for us to feel comfortable staying here. What we did see of the lobby and the staff was all positive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The property is an older model lodge operated as part of the HollandAmerica tour package. It has the necessary conveniences but interior decor of the the lobby and the rooms are quite plain. There is no a/c which is typically ok, but we had unseasonably warm 90s that week. I requested a King Bed next to our travel couple, but we were placed down the hall in a twin bed. That was ok, but the room next to us held a large gathering that were loudly laughing, singing, banging items & had the tv on loud to boot. It was 10:30 pm & we were travel tired. I went to the front desk & alerted them to the noisy group, that sounded like they were just getting started, not ending. I asked if there was a room available next to our travel couple as they are quiet like us. Indeed, they had a King Bed room next to them...?? Well, this is what we requested in our original reservation. Anyway, a potentially disastrous night of noise became a very pleasant & quiet night sleep on a comfortable King after all. The desk staff was very courteous, but didn't offer the room until I suggested they look. We had 2 days/nites in Whitehorse, so we rented a vehicle & explored the area to photograph wildlife. We ate our meals off premises. (Fish Lake Road was a great drive along a river to view/photograph waterfowl and eagles...we got got excellent images of a particular Bald Eagle with it's 2 young sitting out on pine branches). The Westmark is also walking distance to the river which has a wide paved trail for bikes & walking.

Room Tip: We had lower room facing onto 2nd, which is a main street & it also feeds into the main hotel re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

An older hotel but very clean which is always a plus, i would say this hotel is a stop mover point for people driving the Alaskan highway. The staff were very friendly and helpful but there is no airconditioning which was a downer as our room faced the afternoon sun. There was coffee making available in the rooms but if wanted a cup of tea well you just have to use the coffee urn to boil your water so you ended up with a mixture of tea and coffee YUK. Think they could improve here as they have so many English people coming through with Holland American cruises/tours.

Room Tip: get a room away from the afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 201 Wood Street | Box 4250, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 3T3, Canada
Location: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 hotels in Whitehorse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown, within blocks of area restaurants, night-spots, shopping and government offices, the Westmark Whitehorse Hotel & Conference Center is the Yukon's premier hotel and conference center. Recently renovated, the Westmark Whitehorse offers 180 first-class guest rooms and suites, conference facilities and professional special event catering. The Westmark Whitehorse is the largest hotel in Yukon and features over 7000 square feet of meeting space. The Steele Street Restaurant & Lounge serves up a fabulous menu and offers daily lunch and dinner specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel Whitehorse
Westmark Hotel Whitehorse
Hotel Whitehorse
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel And Conference Center Yukon, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.