We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Gold Rush Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Best Western Gold Rush Inn to your Saves list
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   411 Main St, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2B6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Most people who go to Whiehorse arrive by car but I had no car and walked everywhere downtown from this very conveniently located hotel. Located very close to most of the tourist sites. Clean rooms with coffee maker and fridge.one day the cleaning staff forgot to give me towels but otherwise the service was fine. Front desk staff could be friendlier and more knowledgeable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    124
    74
    20
    11
See reviews for
49
94
31
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is very good accommodation right in the best area of town, lots of good restaurants near by ...try Antoinetes and Burnt Toast...the staff is very helpful and the establishment is clean and comfortable with all the services you will need right on the premises if you prefer not to go outside.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I've had nothing but good experiences with Best Western so far. The front desk staff are so helpful and friendly. This hotel is older and woodframe construction so I can understand there could be some noise issues. My room was on the top floor so it wasn't an issue for me however I felt I had to tread lightly when walking across the floor. The room was very clean and the bed and linens excellent. Mircowave, fridge and coffee maker supplied. Bathroom is nothing special but nothing to complain about, completely functional and again, most importantly, clean. I would not hestitate to stay here again. Its not a luxury hotel but it does deliver on the important basics for me. Clean, Comfortable, Good Service.

Room Tip: I would request top floor on the back side of the hotel. This will avoid noise from people walking i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This hotel is one of the better choices in Whitehorse. The rooms were fairly well appointed and new. The bathtub/shower was left out of the last renovation and was obviously old and worn, didn't drain properly and was in need of some maintenance.

However, the deal breaker here is the internet. It was PAINFULLY slow and unfortunately for me and my group required for business. One speed test showed under 500 kb/s. Budget 10 minutes to check your email. This was mentioned to the front desk and we were told that people have been complaining about this for a long time, yet no one from management seems to do anything about it. The Westmark is the better choice for that reason alone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

While nothing special, it was probably one of the better places in Whitehorse to stay. The room was small but the bed was very comfortable. The staff was very good during check-in and we did have a place to park our truck and U-Haul trailer for the night. Would probably stay again given our other choices.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I stayed fro business for 7 night and it was a mixed bag. First the good...The rooms were very clean. The bed was comfortable and the hotel was centrally located. The bar in the hotel was also enjoyable. Unfortunately there were a couple of downsides that took away from the experience. Even though the hotel was renovated it was still a very old hotel and as such it was a wooden structure which included the floors. Since I was on a lower floor when someone walked above me the whole floor creaked and groaned. Which is fine when your not tring to sleep but when the people above you are up all night the floor noise was so loud I couldn't get to sleep. The other disappointment was that the slow internet. As I was there on business any time I tried to connect it seemed like forever before you could and then it would log you off and the whole process would start over again. If not for the noise from the rooms above the stay would have been very good.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here get a room on the top floor in order to avoid the creaky floorboards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, BC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and my room was very nice. Great comfortable bed and decent furniture in the room.

Only complaint is that the Internet can be very slow at times and you have to constantly re-login to the access page whenever you leave and come back.

Would still recommend this place to anyone that is travelling to Whitehorse.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Best Western Gold Rush Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gold Rush Inn

Address: 411 Main St, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2B6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Gold Rush Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Gold Rush Inn is the premier family and business-oriented hotel in Whitehorse. Having undergone extensive renovations to the cost of several million dollars, the rooms are spacious and modern. All rooms include wireless high-speed internet, microwave, mini-fridge, flat screen television, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Best Western Gold Rush Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gold Rush Hotel Whitehorse
Best Western Whitehorse
Whitehorse Best Western
Best Western Gold Rush Inn Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Gold Rush Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.