We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, nice rooms, friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SKKY Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added SKKY Hotel to your Saves list
SKKY Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   91622 Alaska Highway, Whitehorse, Yukon Yukon Y1A 3E4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Vancouver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great service, nice rooms, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

I recently stayed at the Skky hotel which is nicely furnished, has a great restaurant (Volare) and exceptional service. The rooms are very nice and the staff are most accommodating. A special thanks to Verna and Elaine.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    90
    32
    13
    5
See reviews for
44
63
25
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Yellowknife
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

We chose to stay at the Skky on our first visit to Whitehorse. This trip was to celebrate our anniversary and we were not disappointed. The staff was fantastic, the room beautiful, the King sized bed the most comfortable, and best of all... it was quiet!! No loud bar crowds disturbing your slumber.
Don't miss Volare for dinner. The service would put most Southern restaraunts to shame, the food so full in flavor and presentation, and Antoinette a genuine woman who puts great pride in her craft. We will be back...

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

Excellent (though windowless) large boardroom facility with excellent catering of morning and afternoon refreshments and lunch on demand. Volare restaurant serves outstanding food at a leisurely pace. Front desk staff very helpful with business needs such as printing and copying.

Comfortable, modern rooms. Standard room could benefit from a larger work desk for business travellers.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

I believe it is the best hotel in Whitehorse but that does not mean it is great. It could be better with very little effort. We booked online and when we arrived our booking was not in place. We booked the Presidential Suite which looked wonderful but...... The spa bath flooded the bathroom floor when we started to fill it, so we were unable to enjoy that luxury. There was no soap holder for the hand basin so where to put the soap when the cabinet top is glass and the basins are vessels with no edges? A simple liquid soap container would solve that issue. The suite had 2 gas fireplaces (one in the lounge and a double sided one in the bedroom/bathroom) which could not be used as it was not cold enough!!!! It was -2C at night!!!!!!!!! and besides that, it was the whole ambience that we were looking forward to. There is no hanging space in the bedroom. There is no lift, so climbing stairs with heavy cases is difficult. There is no porter.
The major issue we had was the lack of breakfast (or provisions) provided by the hotel. There is no room service. The restaurant (open for dinner only, 6 nights a week) was absolutely fantastic. Food was amazing and the staff were friendly and helpful.
We were there for 3 nights and on the last night, the manager did turn on the fireplaces, (but only the lounge room one in our suite), as other guests had complained that the fireplaces were not able to be used and it was COLD.
The car park has not been completed so there are huge potholes everywhere. The room was quiet even though the airport is across the road.
We did make comment to the manager, who listened, said she took everything in, but made no notes and certainly did not seem to care too much. This is a new hotel and at the prices charged, you would imagine everything would be working and permits for meals (other than dinner) would have all been in place before opening the doors to customers.
To top it off the Northern Lights were a no-show and that was the reason we went there!!!!!! Very little control over that but the whole Yukon experience could have been more enjoyable if the hotel had lived up to expectations.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

Our home away from home! The accommodation was extremely comfortable (loved the linens) and the décor elegant. The friendly staff went that extra mile to help us plan our vacation with suggestions and directions for sight-seeing, which is a service one normally does not get in other hotels. One of the best meals we’ve ever had was at Volare, the in-hotel restaurant and bar. Though the hotel does not have a pool or fitness equipment, hotel guests have complimentary access to the community sports complex. This unique boutique hotel met all the criteria to qualify for a 5-star hotel.

Bob and Pat

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

I really enjoyed my stay. The staff welcomed me warmly, and I was really ready for some time at the oasis after a long day of travel.

The bed... THE BED! I was sorry I didn't have more time to stay in it. Without question the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. Sumptuously appointed rooms such as in finest boutique hotels in the south.

I had a gorgeous meal at Volare, the in-hotel restaurant/bar, and met a couple of clients there. Dinner with good wine about $50/head for best food in town. I had a comfortable meeting area in an executive room, so I took the clients upstairs for a more quiet meeting.

I noticed the place was fully booked, so it seems the word is out on where to stay in Whitehorse. I have already, and will continue to recommend the Skky to anyone traveling on business, and I can picture even locals booking a stay-cation there in the dead of winter. Even the most luxurious weekend at the Skky costs a lot less than air fare, so why the heck not?

This is not a Holiday Inn. There are no workout facilities, etc. This is a hotel in the style of boutique hotels, where the staff know you by name and are looking for ways to improve your stay according to your individual needs. Location not a problem: staff give you a ride downtown if there's someone available, and there's a regular run downtown in the morning at start of the business day. They've done a great job providing a hotel experience like none other in Whitehorse. Bravo!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at SKYY Hotel in June of 2009. Excellent service from friendly, helpful staff. Our rooms were fantastic - best rates for suites anywhere in Canada! A highlight was the restaurant with Caribbean fusion cuisine. It was superb.
Definitely the best Whitehorse has to offer.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to SKKY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKKY Hotel

Address: 91622 Alaska Highway, Whitehorse, Yukon Yukon Y1A 3E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SKKY Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SKKY Hotel is a boutique property conveniently located across from the airport and a short drive away from the downtown core. This hotel is in a class of its own offering many high-end amenities. Complimentary airport shuttle to/from the airport for major flights, complimentary wireless internet. All rooms are furnished with Tempur-Pedic mattresses with high thread count sheets, 42 inch plasma tvs, desk and office chair. The bathrooms come with large standup showers with granite walls and rain shower or hand held shower heads. All furniture is customized for the Skky Hotel and won't be found elsewhere. The hotel also offers air-conditioning with in-room controls during the summer months, and radiant floor heating on the lower floor in the winter. Included in the price of the room is complimentary wireless internet and airport shuttle. Volare Tapas Bar and Restaurant is located off of the lobby, serving a wide selection of appetizers and entrees, which include fresh fish, steak, and vegetarian options. Dinner is served there from 5pm until 10pm, but the bar is open later. Full menu on the website. Come in and take a look at the bar top which was imported from Italy. We hope you will come experience the best beds in the city, and our exceptional guest services in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SKKY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyy Hotel By Book
SKKY Hotel Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SKKY Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.