We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Indian food, great menu, modern and clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bombaymans restaurant

Bombaymans restaurant
240 Central Ave N, Swift Current, Saskatchewan S9h0l2, Canada (Formerly Bombayman)
+1 306-773-8317
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $12 - $21
Cuisines: Indian, Fast Food, Vegetarian, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Delivery
Description: Winner of swift current and district chamber of commerce start up category award 2014. One of the best ethnic restaurants in south west saskatchewan serving currylicious East Indian flavours.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Delicious Indian food, great menu, modern and clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We found this place quite by accident, what a find! I love Indian food and this place was among the best I've had. I had the Korma chicken, my wife had the mahi mahi. Delicious!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    14
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kigali, Rwanda
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Love Indian food, but not this!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We forgot to ask to make it spicy hot, but they seem to make everything sweet instead of hot. Nothing was good. Both my wife and I had to find something to change the taste in our mouth as soon as we left?

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Over-priced and not authentic”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I really struggled in deciding to write this review, because I know how a single poor review can affect the business to a mom-and-pop restaurant....but this place really needs to get their act together.

My friend and I went in for the dinner "smorg" or buffet, which was $13.99. While that may not sound like a lot, I have been to Indian buffets from Toronto to Seattle, and have generally paid between $7.99 - $12.99 for buffet, depending on whether it's lunch or dinner. That being said, $13.99 would have been fine by me if the food was good...but it was not. The buffet consisted of only 3 hot dishes (vs. 8-12 at any other indian buffet i have been to), one of which was chicken nuggets (since when are they indian?). The other two hot dishes included a mixed vegetable curry, and a chicken and vegetable curry. Both tasted to be a very similar curry, and the vegetables in both appeared to be frozen "california mix vegetables" (ie., peas, corn, carrot)....not authentic at all. The flavour of the actual curry was okay. The cold part of the buffet did not look appetizing, and I suspect had been sitting for awhile.

People may have better luck with ordering a la carte....the menu appeared to have a typical range of Indian dishes...though again, the prices were on the higher end of what i've seen in indian restaurants, which seems pricey considering the quality is not on that same end.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swift Current
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A taste you will embrace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Our first and only Indian restaurant. What a great place to dine. Authentic Indian dishes prepared fresh, served with pride, in a comfortable serene atmosphere. I do not have a lot of experience with Indian restaurants, and have not taken the time to seek them out. Bombyman's has changed all that. I enjoy the flavours so much, and now dine there on a weekly basis. If you have adventurous taste buds you need to give this dining room a try. I believe you will not be dissapointed. My only concern is that all items are ala carte. I believe patrons would appreciate an all in price, including rice and naan bread with the meals would be nice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swift Current, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Indaian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Fresh Ingredients, amazing flavors. You need to try this place. Mix it up a bit with some Tikka Masala, Haryali Kebab, Fried Rice, Garlic Naan, and a Veggie Samosa to start things off. Great to Wash this down with a Masala Chai.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bombaymans restaurant also viewed

Swift Current, Saskatchewan
Swift Current, Saskatchewan
 
Swift Current, Saskatchewan
 

Been to Bombaymans restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bombaymans restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.