We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no bed bug” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thriftlodge Swift Current

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Thriftlodge Swift Current to your Saves list
Thriftlodge Swift Current
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   605 North Service Road East, Swift Current, Saskatchewan S9H 3X6, Canada (Formerly Travelodge Swift Current)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Swift Current
Estevan, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“no bed bug”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

First, we hesitate to check in this motel because of bed bug,but as soon as we arrived they have friendly and accommodating representative that help us getting room, make us comfortable and relax from long drive. As soon as we enter the room i check the bed, everything.... if really there's a bug but i didn't see anything.The room was clean and everything was fine.we had a nice sleep and we really enjoyed there pool and hot tub.It was a nice stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    16
    27
    11
    7
See reviews for
33
15
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

My family stayed in pool side room and it was clean and spacious. The pool and hot tub was nice and enjoyable. The front desk staff was very kind and recommended to apply "Guest Rewards" that is beneficial for traveling.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

I booked the room as it was a little cheaper than others in the city. Big mistake. We thought the room was OK - definitely a little dated - but then my wife woke me up at 5am and the bed was covered in bed bugs - at least 20 of them crawling around. Very disgusting. We immediately checked out and requested a refund, which we're still waiting for.

The front desk clerk was suitably disgusted but that didn't help much. We moved to the Days Inn down the street and had a much better stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sctriper, General Manager at Thriftlodge Swift Current, responded to this review, August 30, 2010
I am sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant experience because of the bed bug. That was an incident that occurred due to workers who were staying at our hotel. The room has since then been sanitized and Pest Control Company has come to the room and checked everything over and has confirmed that there are no more bed bugs. Also I would like to add that pest control is compulsory with Travelodge Head Office and we check the rooms every month to make sure there is no problems that could occur. I am sure that there is no more issues about the bugs within the hotel. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

I booked this hotel through the Travelodge toll free number. They said it had a pool and a complementry breakfast. What they didn't say is that they are accross the street from each other and I am not sure I would eat any food they serve anyway. The beds very soft and the rooms have not been redecorated sinse the seventies. More than half of the TV channels did not work. The coffee cups that were supplied are used styrofoam. The rooms are worth $30-$40/ night not the $110.00 they charged.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2008

We reserved our room on line.We confirmed a room with two queen bed and were told they had one so we took it only to arrive and be told there were none available.Why reserve on line if they are not true to it.Bed was not comfortable at all (to soft). VERY thin walls could here your neibghor flushing toilet runnning shower or sink. Not a very good way to unwind after a long drive.Not a refreshing sleep.(was cranky for the next leg) STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE!!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — Leaveing
  • Disliked — Getting to the room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

I should have known better, having stayed in a travelodge before, but we were only looking for a basic place to spend the night on our 3 day drive from calgary to ontario. The room was filthy and dark, you could see bugs that had been smeared into the wall. The beds were so soft when you sat on one you practically sank to the floor. And after a night of sleeping on these beds the last thing we wanted to do was get in the car and drive 10 hours. The pool was in a separate building across the parking lot, so we didn't even bother. Also the walls were so thin we could hear our neighbours using their bathroom. Gross.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — horrible beds.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

My husband and I moved across Canada in our car. We also had our 2 cats with us, so we needed to find motels which allowed pets. The Super 8 was booked, so we decided on the Travelodge, which has changed it's name to Thriftlodge.
It's a motel with the doors on the outside, very run down, and tons of panelling in the office and the room. Not too bad though, no bugs, small shower, NO hair dryer! But, there was a microwave and fridge.
We had to stay in a smoking room, because of the cats, and it was stinky!
I guess if you just had to sleep there, oh, and the "heated indoor pool and hottub" is across the street! Ha!

  • Liked — Location and pets were allowed
  • Disliked — Pool and hottub across the street, stinky smoking room, no hair dryer
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thriftlodge Swift Current? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thriftlodge Swift Current

Address: 605 North Service Road East, Swift Current, Saskatchewan S9H 3X6, Canada (Formerly Travelodge Swift Current)
Location: Canada > Saskatchewan > Swift Current
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Swift Current
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Thriftlodge Swift Current 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lovely city of Swift Current is situated in southwestern Saskatchewan. The Thriftlodge Swift Current hotel is within minutes of the Swift Current Airport with easy access from Highway 1 and Highway 4. Offering comfortable and affordable guestrooms, this Swift Current hotel is a great place to stay. Recognized for its legendary service and time-honored hospitality, this Swift Current hotel is ideal for both family and business travelers. With a wonderful location adjacent to the Living Skies Casino and close to the downtown area, City Hall, Swift Current Museum, the Civic Center and two great golf courses, there is always plenty to see and do nearby the Thriftlodge Swift Current hotel. The Swift Current Mall and the Wheatland Mall are also just a short drive away. Guests can experience Lake Diefenbaker and enjoy boating, fishing and hiking all within easy reach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Thriftlodge Swift Current reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Lodge Swift Current
Travelodge Swift Current
Swift Current Travelodge
Swift Current Travel Lodge
Thriftlodge Swift Current Saskatchewan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thriftlodge Swift Current, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.