We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Howard Johnson in name only” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Swift Current

Howard Johnson Inn Swift Current
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn Swift Current to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn Swift Current
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1150 South Service Road East, Swift Current, Saskatchewan S9H 3X6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Swift Current
British Columbia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Howard Johnson in name only”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The photos flatter this property. It's a Howard Johnson in name only - not the quality I've experienced at other HoJo properties, and definitely not worth $99 a night single. I did sleep better than expected but the room was very worn out and the bathroom was in desperate need of renovation- rust on the metal surfaces and the counter top surface had come loose from the counter. The motel caters to construction and energy crews - there wasn't noise but this is a place for clumping in in your workboots and crashing for the night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    16
    19
    33
See reviews for
28
17
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We failed to read other reviews so stopped here. Room smelled, of tobacco/dust/old?? Shower worked, A/C worked. Spiders in both rooms, didn't bother me but my wife was unimpressed! The beds were wonderful comfortable and well appointed. A great sleep was had. Would I stay there again?? No!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

You've got to be kidding me. The closest equivalent to this hotel I can think of is sleeping in a cardboard box outside in a rail yard. Our stay was the end of June 2013. My room was disgusting. Bugs, garbage, stained sheets, towels that you could see through and carpet that was stretched and dirty. The entire second floor was closed along with the pool. I can't imagine how bad this hotel would have to be to close a floor. If I wasn't completely exhausted, I would have kept driving. But it was July long weekend and this was the only hotel with room. No wonder. Don't be fooled by the nice Howard Johnson sign out front. Ask to see a room before checking in. Otherwise, get to the Best Western or sleep in your car. Trust me, you'll be better off. I will have a tough time erasing this stay from my mind. Howard Johnson should be embarrassed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charn88, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Swift Current, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. I believe that we spoke about the flooding in Calgary, but I don't recall any mention of anything wrong with the room. It is important for us to know about problems in a room, especially with bugs at this time of year. Our response if we find an ant in a room is quite different from the actions taken if we find a spider. Unfortunately, a review on the internet even a couple of days after the fact, alerting us to bugs in a room does not help us to help you. I certainly would not stay in a room infested with bugs. I would call the front desk immediately and request that they do something about it! All the bedspreads in our property have been replaced with brand new duvets. Each duvet and cover, as well as all the sheets and pillow cases are changed and cleaned after a guest leaves. I have reminded housekeeping staff to be more thorough in checking and cleaning behind and underneath furniture. We would be happy to show anyone a room who requests it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Swift Current? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Swift Current

Address: 1150 South Service Road East, Swift Current, Saskatchewan S9H 3X6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Saskatchewan > Swift Current
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Swift Current
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Swift Current 2*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson Inn, Swift Current is conveniently located close to the Trans Canada Highway, shopping centres and the Living Sky Casino. Free Wi-Fi and free parking are available to all guests. We are pet-friendly, small dogs are welcome for an additional fee. The Howard Johnson Inn, Swift Current is presently open with a limited number of rooms available while undergoing renovation. Our pool and waterslide are currently closed while under renovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Swift Current reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Swift Current Hotel Swift Current
Swift Current Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Swift Current
Howard Johnson Inn Swift Current Saskatchewan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Swift Current, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.