We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pizza in Saskatoon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vern's Pizza

Vern's Pizza
1610 11th Street West, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7M 1H7, Canada
664-2588
Improve this listing
Ranked #188 of 568 Restaurants in Saskatoon
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Moose Jaw, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best pizza in Saskatoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I have tried many different pizzas over the year, but Vern's is the best. I will qualify that with what you need to determine as your preference for a pizza. You need to be a carnivore. The crust is only necessary to hold it together, if a quality crust matters to you go elsewhere. Essentially it is overloaded with meat and the rest is just decoration. With that said, I loved it. 2 slices are all that is necessary for even a big appetite, even if it is a 12".

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pizza by the slice.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

if you wanna pay $4.75 for a slice. This is ridiculous. On the other hand order a fresh whole pie and I highly recommned it.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mouse droppings”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

K......there weren't mouse droppings, but the customer service experience I had with them drove me to it. They got my order wrong and late, then took an extra hr to deliver the 2nd pizza, requesting the original pizza back. When we only sent 1/2 the pizza back (we were starving by then, so nibbled), they phoned to request more money--3 times. The pizza we did eat was terrible with 3rd party frozen crusts, the top sliding off. When ordering 2 for 1 pizza, I wasn't expecting 'something out of Emeril's kitchen.....but should be a touch more edible (especially the way they seem to covet it)......Anyhow, $80, 4 phone calls from the manager, and 3 delivery driver visits later, I am forever done with Vern's pizza (dumb idea anyhow-- picking a pizza place, 'cause it has the same name as my brother and is on the referred list of my hotel---well it was)

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORIDA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Tyrannosaurus pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

I have had pizza all over the world and I am a carnivore.....second best pizza I have ever had.....at least an inch thick or more in toppings....a little pricey but worth every bit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Heavy Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

You know that type of pizza that when you first pick it up and you can fold it down the middle to help get it in your mouth? Well this isn't that type of pizza. If you do try to fold it - in any direction!, you'll end up with a half pound of meat, sauce and cheese in your lap. Try the T-Rex it will blow your mind. Pizza by the slice at lunch time will fill you up. In fact, after you eat at Vern's Pizza it will absolutely spoil you for any other pizza in any other town. It really is that good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vern's Pizza also viewed

Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
 
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
 

Been to Vern's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vern's Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.