We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a treat.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Calories Bakery and Restaurant

Calories Bakery and Restaurant
721 Broadway Avenue, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada (Nutana)
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 525 Restaurants in Saskatoon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Nutana
Saskatoon
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Always a treat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The gourmet meals here are ABSOLUTELY SUPERB ... at the same level as the unique baking also made here. LOVELY all around and wonderful service!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    44
    13
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kindersley, SK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Well worth checking out!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I have been in for a lunch a few times in summer of 2012. The food was amazing. Service was decent the 1st time, not so great the second. We were kind of overlooked, it seemed. It is nice to have a menu to choose from that offers more ethical and local choices to choose from. It is not your main stream food. I will definitely be back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“a little gem of a restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

we have enjoyed both Lunches and dinners here. We love the local fresh selection of delicious entrees as well as a beutiful wine selection. We were even able to buy a bottle of red and some dessert to go.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Calories redeems Itself”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Calories seems to have been going through a bad patch. I swore that I would not return after a particularly awful meal a couple of months ago. To make a long story short(er), I got conned into attending an evening there with friends. It was terrific - the server was wonderful, the lamb entree outstanding and the evening was a complete success. I think we'll need to monitor their progress - but as of right now, today - I would go back and see how they're doing. My only issue this past visit was that the wine list needs a bit of help.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Dessert Heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

A good selection of vegetarian meals and a not overloaded mains selection made choosing a simple thing. I tried the elk, which was braised, however several pieces were too tough to chew.

Overall it was tasty and our wait staff were attentive and friendly.

The selection of desserts is overwhelming and you be sure to save room.

This would be a great stop for a decadent treat and a coffee with friends sharing to sample the huge selection. The aroma is wonderful.

I will return to try again.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calories Bakery and Restaurant also viewed

Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
 
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
 

Been to Calories Bakery and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calories Bakery and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.