We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best ice cream in the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homestead Ice Cream & Cappuccino

Homestead Ice Cream & Cappuccino
822 Victoria Ave, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada (Nutana)
653-5588
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #101 of 558 Restaurants in Saskatoon
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Neighborhood: Nutana
Prince Albert, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best ice cream in the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I've been there many times. They have the best home made ice cream. A big variety of flavors, in a nice place with a cute patio. The neighborhood is also a plus, as it is quiet and safe and its located close to the river that you can walk to.
A busy place and really good prices.
You have to visit

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    4
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Always a treat.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The only bad thing I can say about this ice-cream palace is that you can almost always count on a line-up. Seating is available both inside and outside although if it is busy it is best to take your purchase and eat it was you walk around the neighbourhood. Among the many flavours to choose from are always some not usually imagined options - such as curry, or dill pickle. They seem to change their options from week to week. Not a bargain, but definitely a good product.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“So disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Have many fond memories of Homestead Ice cream as a kid and was hoping to create new memories with my kids. So sorry we went as I know have a bad taste in my mouth and my good memories have been somewhat tarnished.

Got double scoops - I had to complain as the scoops were pitifully small. The young lady behind the counter was in a terrible mood and when I pointed out that her scoops were MUCH smaller than the other gal working, she advised me in a not-so-friendly manner "She's doing it wrong". I am not normally a complainer but when when the customer beside me is getting almost double.....
The flavours of hard ice cream were very interesting and we had a hard time choosing but looks can be deceiving. I had Root Beer (my favourite as a kid) but there was very little flavour. My son had Happy Farmer which was described as "Lime ice cream with gummy Jolly Ranchers mixed in". Not one Jolly Rancher and then is not good when a child is getting that flavour just FOR the Jolly Ranchers. Revenge of the Nerds had very little flavour. Maple Walnut not bad but still pretty bland.

The atmosphere was nice - a 50s style diner and the movie Grease was playing.

All in all disappointing and we won't be back. Has seriously gone down hill and the staff need a lesson in customer service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon,SK Canada
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
575 helpful votes 575 helpful votes
“Wonderful selection of Home Made Ice Cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Its a Saskatoon Summer tradition located in a quiet neighbourhood location. Its only 4-5 min walk from the broadway pedestrian district. There is ample parking and the prices and value are on par with any ice cream parlor. They have a vast selection of hard ice creams, soft ice cream, blizzard style mixed treats and custom drinks. All set in a 50's style malt shop atmosphere. If youre in town or craving something cold on a hot summer day and want to break from the DQ type ice cream places, give the Home stead a try. You'll be pleasantly supprised.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaslo, BC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Huge selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Great selection of both typical and unusual flavors of icecream and frozen yogurt. This place tends to be very very busy in the summer particularly the evenings so it is advisable to get icecream to go and enjoy it on a walk. Lovely summer treat!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Homestead Ice Cream & Cappuccino also viewed

Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
 

Been to Homestead Ice Cream & Cappuccino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homestead Ice Cream & Cappuccino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.