We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prairie version of a Louisiana flavoured experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bon Temps Cafe

Bon Temps Cafe
223 2nd Avenue S, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
306-242-6617
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 568 Restaurants in Saskatoon
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Saskatoon
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Prairie version of a Louisiana flavoured experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Décor is designed to give you the feeling of being in New Orleans, and the menu supplements that overall goal. This is a social place, not a private business meeting place. Expect it to be loud after 6 PM with the business crowd coming in to hang out. Upbeat and happy atmosphere. I've been here twice now, this time I had the blackened chicken and it met my expectations. This is a great place to have lunch as well, their lunch menu works for budgets. Nice to see service and food served in a timely manner when they were as busy as they were. I don't think I can put this up there as a high quality restaurant and dining experience, but it is good - and it is definitely worth trying out of you like your Cajun food!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    32
    17
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Fun vibe, so-so food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We went on a Friday evening and there was about a 30-minute wait for a table. It's a great space, with New Orleans murals and an original brick wall, and an energetic noisy atmosphere. Unfortunately we got a blast of cold air at our table every time the front door opened. The hush puppies were good, and I had a half dozen raw oysters which were very fresh, but also very small and expensive. My seafood Creole was OK, but the Creole sauce was a bit pasty and the rice overcooked and unsalted. My partner's muffaletta was fishy-tasting and inedible, due to the overpowering flavour of the anchovies in the olive salad. (One more gripe, which applies to a lot of restaurants: is it really necessary to charge $9 for a small glass of wine that is $12 a bottle retail?) So, overall, our meal here was kind of a mixed bag.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Overall very good but food quality needs a bit more consistency”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had lunch with friends on a Saturday. I was immediately impressed by the decor and vibe of the place, very fun atmosphere. Servers were attentive and friendly. I had the gumbo which was quite good (a meal on its own for small eaters), and the jambalaya which was just ok (pretty bland for a Cajun restaurant!). We also tried the catfish special, which was very yummy, but better suited to an appetizer as it was cooked in a sweet sauce which got to be a bit too much sweet flavour by the end. So overall the food was good but not great.
I would recommend this restaurant for the experience, it's a good place to take out of town guests as I hear they have bands that play on the weekends. Book ahead and bring a group for the "boil" where they literally dump the seafood on your table. I haven't tried it but I heard it's fun.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Sk.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Bon Temps is literally a good time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of dining at Bon Temps Cafe last night. The place is consistently busy, so we had a wait time to get in, and the hostess took our name and number so that we could go and enjoy a beer next door. Sure enough, our table was ready in the time we were promised, and it was certainly worth the wait. Bon Temp is a good time, from the friendly staff, to the lively music and decor, a place you will want to visit with a group. This is one of those placed where the food was a solid 4.5 out of 5, but the intangibles all added up to give you that truly satisfied feeling. We had Prawns Remoulade, and the sauce was great! For our mains it was Pon Pon chicken and Blackened scallops. which were both excellent. I had the pleasure of a top notch bourbon, one that is impossible to find anywhere else. Also, the butter pecan cheesecake for desert was nice. The bill was far less that we had anticipated for a meal of this calibre, and our server, Cat, was among the best we've ever encountered! Very pleased with this meal, and want to go back and try the Cajun Spice Boil with friends!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Will definitely go back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Went in on Friday around 5:30 pm...no wait to get in. Our server was excellent she went through a few of the menu items & made some excellent suggestions. My husband was a bit disappointed in the beer selection but the Caesars ordered were awesome! We started with the hush puppies & they were very yummy. Our meals were excellent, my meal was the blackened chicken, it was moist, very tasty, a very large serving. My hubby had the scallops and was very happy with how they were cooked, done perfect for his pallet.... Crispy on the outside & translucent & full of flavour on the inside. Other friends ordered the pecan chicken & a po'boy. They were both very happy with their meals. Ambiance was great. Will definitely go back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bon Temps Cafe also viewed

Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
 
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
 

Been to Bon Temps Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bon Temps Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.