We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Slice of Italy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna Italian Restaurant

Taverna Italian Restaurant
219 21st St. E, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7K 0B7, Canada (Central Business District)
(306) 652-6366
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Taverna Italian Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 545 restaurants in Saskatoon
Price range: $14 - $32
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Steakhouse, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: TAVERNA is nestled in Saskatoon's historic downtown core within walking distance of a number of major hotels in the renowned entertainment district. The building was originally a department store dating back to 1909. Taverna still maintains a historical charm and character, serving fantastic rustic Italian dishes since 1969. This is a limited intervention style of cooking, inspired by family tradition. We don't try and upstage our ingredients with elaborate techniques or clutter them up with fancy sauces. It's just simple respect for intensely flavoured San Marzano tomatoes, fresh garlic, warm basil, thick golden oil of first pressed olives and the conscious effort to bring locally grown, organic, and sustainable ingredients to your table when ever possible.
Beaumont, California
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“A Little Slice of Italy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The pasta dishes were authentic Italian and the house red wine nice and full-bodied. Their pizza is thin crust and flavorful. Don't order the garlic bread; lacked garlic, butter, and flavor.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    21
    23
    9
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place for Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Taverna is a great alternative if you want Italian but don't want the busy and loud atmosphere of East Side Mario's. They have good service and a nice selection of Italian food. I especially like the options for portion sizes. It seems that whenever we go, the place is pretty quiet so we get our food quickly. It's in a convenient little spot downtown too, so its a great place to go for supper after shopping at Midtown.

PS. My boyfriend wants me to say that they have excellent lasagna. He gets it every time.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pizza plus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

While we only had a take out pizza, it was above average. We will try the dinner menu next time we are in Saskatoon. Very convenient to the Senator Hotel.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Taverna has lost our business forever.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We have lived in this city since the mid-seventies and Taverna has always been the best Italian restaurant and my husband is Italian. But since the business was sold, the food has progressively deteriorated and our last visit, just a week ago, was the worst ever. The canneloni was adequate, but the Carbonara was horrible and the Marsala chicken was barely edible, but I was hungry. My Marsala plate had a thick layer of oil on the bottom when I was done and the flavour was awful and terribly sweet. I honestly did not recognize the dish anymore.

So it is a sad day when we cannot recommend a restaurant that, for over 30 years, was one of the best in Saskatoon. Just do not go! Don't even think about it! Save your palate for some place that is way better and takes unenviable pride in what they present. The pride is gone from Taverna.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Go to the Taverna!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Great pizza. Great lasagna. Great spaghetti. The service is good. This is worth the cost, which is reasonable for a dinner experience. They have not lost their integrity in these crazy, modern times.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Italian Restaurant also viewed

 
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
 

Been to Taverna Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.