We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yummy fish and chips” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hudsons Canadian Tap House

Hudsons Canadian Tap House
401 - 21st Street East, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7K 0C5, Canada
306-974-0944
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 525 Restaurants in Saskatoon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“yummy fish and chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

nice bar, friendly staff, central location, average prices. A little loud at night, but that's what most of the young people like. Very surprised with the fish and chips - actually just the fish - the chips were ordinary

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    43
    11
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A chain that will always be a chain”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Your typical sports bar with average fare. Wait staff can be hit or miss in terms of being responsive and can be tricky at getting you to add things onto your bill where they may be routinely no cost at other restaurants. Sauce on the side? An extra dollar. Your sandwich may come with fries but they will offer you other sides and then charge you for it. Shepherd's pie, however, was fantastic.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
2 reviews
“Excellent service and food was great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Happy hour was great and the atmosphere made you feel welcome.. staff was friendly.. the food was excellent.. But, not the place to go if you are looking for healthy low fat food!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Delicious burger!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I walked around the 'hood around my hotel looking for a restaurant for supper ... Hudsons Canadian Tap House caught my eye.

It's very Canadiana . It's a fairly big place and has a patio. I sat inside with the a/c and read.

I ordered the Maple BBQ Cheddar Bacon burger. I substituted mozzarella cheese for cheddar and minus the lettuce and onions. Instead of fries, I got mashed potatoes. The potatoes were good. The burger was delicious and messy.

My server was Megan and she took excellent care of me.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Chicken Wing Competition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Despite much arm twisting, I didn't imbibe in the "spicy wing eating, tropical vacation winning" evening, but did really enjoy this spot in Saskatoon. Good beer, good food, busy location, friendly servers. Went two or three times over a week visit.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hudsons Canadian Tap House also viewed

Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
 
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
 

Been to Hudsons Canadian Tap House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hudsons Canadian Tap House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.