We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have licked my plate clean.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rook and Raven

The Rook and Raven
154 2nd Ave South, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
(306) 665-2220
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 525 Restaurants in Saskatoon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Stony Plain
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Could have licked my plate clean.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Damn good food. Had the chicken supreme and it was supreme. Service was great. Little surprised it is not the best in s'toon.
As Arnie says " I'll be back!"

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    49
    13
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Would go again for lunch...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were downtown getting his tux fitted & spotted the restaurant across the street.
Thought we would be over-paying for small amount of "trendy" lunch. But we were pleasantly surprised.
Large portions & reasonably priced. Friendly service & relaxing atmosphere.
We had a terrific lunch & will go again if ever downtown at lunch time. :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, USA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Excellent food, very reasonable cost”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had dinner here in August, my husband the steak special (lots for about $10) and I a chicken couscous salad - tasty and beautiful. I hope to add a photo, if my computer capabilities are up to it. Beautiful, very tasty, and the whole thing, with wine or beer for both of us was only about $40. Fantastic value, to my mind.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Delicious dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stopped in at this place for dinner with some colleagues on a work trip. The menu was well written with a few very good and thoughtful dishes. We were disappointed that they weren't offering the trout the day that we were there but very happy with the other dishes we ordered.

The atmosphere is a little young, it is basically a bar/lounge that serves great food. Would probably be fun to hang out here for a great meal followed by some drinks.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Original flavours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Creative food with an original and fresh taste. Service very good. All around great place. Only complaint is have to wait until 2:00pm before they release more of their great offerings (snack appies), but sooo worth the wait!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rook and Raven also viewed

Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
 

Been to The Rook and Raven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rook and Raven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.