We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want quiet - don't stay here.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Saskatoon Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Saskatoon Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Saskatoon Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Pacific Avenue, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7K 3X6, Canada (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Flexibility & Breakfast!
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Saskatoon
Saskatchewan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“If you want quiet - don't stay here.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Too expensive and rooms are not sound proof. We were on the eighth floor and could hear traffic noise very clearly. We could also hear through to the next room. The sliding, frosted glass bathroom door isn't a great idea. The light from the bathroom shines through to the rest of the room and you wake up the other person if you use the bathroom in the middle of the night. Parking was treacherous as you had to drive up a steep ramp to get to the parkade and your car is at crazy angle as you try and type in the access code.There are so many other nice hotels in Saskatoon that are quiet and might even offer free breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Saskatoon Downtown, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Karen M,

Thank you for your stay and leaving feedback of our hotel. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I am deeply sorry about the inconveniences experienced on this day especially with the noise levels. I understand the discomfort that this caused you and I appreciate you letting us know about this circumstance as this is our best means of improving our services.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    71
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
28
26
3
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The Holiday Inn downtown is a new hotel in the heart of Saskatoon. It is quite nice inside, and has free internet, although parking is $15/day. It is expensive for what you get, but not bad for Saskatoon, and much better value than other places I have stayed here.

My title is more of an indictment of other places I have stayed in Saskatoon than a ringing endorsement of the Holiday Inn. It is a solid place to stay, and great for Saskatoon.

I didn't eat in the restaurant, but it looked nice, and there is a snack bar in the lobby as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gutersloh, Germany
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Well,..nice new hotel close to the Mall "the bay" and a theatre. Not far away from the important bars and restaurants around 21st street. (not yet on street view)
The rooms are brandnew and clean and large. The TV program has all important stations.
A bit annoying, that you'll have to pay extra for the breakfast. If you want scrambled eggs and bacon..(what you'd get for free in HIExpress) ...that's 9bucks. Compared to "itself"=HolidayInn Express:
Stay in HIExpress if you don't need fancy but large and clean rooms, and if you don't understand why breakfast is expensive.
Use HolidayInn Downtown if you want it t.b. close to downtown.
(Walking from HIEx to HI takes about 10..15min )

Something more important in Saskatoon: Holiday Inn has NO shuttle service.
HIEx even picks you up from the airport. They're a bit short of cabs in that town. Can take easliy 15min to get a cab at the airport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile


Stayed one night the rooms are nice and comfortable.Was a little loud from street noise. The parkade is very narrow hard to park larger trucks not enough room to make those tight corners.

The pool is tiny and the hottub not working during my stay. The gym what to say two treadmills and a uliptical machine. No fans very hot environment. Muggy from the pool did not even work out for 10 mins very disappointing.

Nice to have security elevator "have to swipe key to get access" kinda a pain if key is not handy.

A little pricey for a weeknight stay and to pay for parking? Well one must otherwise you don't....

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Arrived very sick after a terrible experience on VIA train. Helena was an angel at the front desk, she checked my husband and I in early as I was so ill. We were on the 10th floor in a king room, everything was on our priority points card. First time to use our airmiles. Stayed 5 nights; best service ever. The room was clean & very comfortable. The view was great; we looked over downtown Saskatoon. Woke up in time to watch the xmas parade from our room. Lisa and all the girls at the front desk were wonderful. They even got us info on the bus to take to Leonard Cohen concert. We arrived by train and took the public buses everywhere. The bus system in Saskatoon was fabulous. Very friendly & helpful drivers. Great stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloydminster
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed at the Holiday Inn for a convention held at TCU across the street so the location was perfect! Another added bonus is the hotel has indoor parking at $15 per night - great for the winter.

The beds were very comfortable with a variety of pillows - from soft to firm on the bed. We had supper there our first night and quite enjoyed the food. For breakfast they have a buffet. It is not huge but you do have enough variety - cold cereal, fruit, toast, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, hashbrowns, and made to order omlets and eggs benedict. Our only complaint about breakfast was the attitude of the waitress. With the convention, it was very busy and she was trying to serve several tables...but it is still no excuse for a poor attitude. She even swore at a customer who went back to get something she left on the table.

The hotel is also a block from Midtown Plaza which has great shopping. There are also lots of shops within a few blocks. We are actually booked to stay again in March.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden BC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Saskatoon hotels are expensive compared to cities like Calgary or Edmonton, so paying almost $200 for a room may be normal here. The price may be high, but the quality of the hotel's services, rooms and beds matches it. The rooms are larger than normal with lovely comfortable beds with toppers and nice pillows.
We enjoyed the bar, and the pool and hot tub (which was very hot !)
The location is fantastic; close the Midtown Plaza for shopping and a morning Starbucks, and within walking distance of some decent restaurants.
My only peeve would be about the size of the parking. We were driving a mid-size truck and it only just squeezed through the entrance to the parking, and we were forced to take up more than one space.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Saskatoon Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Saskatoon Downtown

Address: 101 Pacific Avenue, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7K 3X6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Saskatoon
#3 Family Hotel in Saskatoon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saskatoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Saskatoon Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saskatoon's latest, state of the art hotel is ideally located in the Central Business District in the heart of Saskatoon's vibrant downtown core and across the street from TCU Place-Saskatoon's Arts & Convention Centre, Midtown Plaza Shopping Centre and the YMCA. Designed to give guests a true taste of the new IHG lifestyle, Holiday Inn Saskatoon has become one of Saskatoon's most desirable destinations. Holiday Inn Saskatoon was the first property in Canada to unveil the new "Hub at Holiday Inn" open lobby concept. There's more! All that you have come to love about Holiday Inn is here: FREE high speed internet, heated indoor pool and fitness centre, indoor heated parking, banquet and meeting space. Its all here..Saskatoon style! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Saskatoon Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Saskatoon Downtown Saskatchewan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Saskatoon Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.