We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sparkly and new” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Saskatoon Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Saskatoon Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Saskatoon Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Pacific Avenue, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7K 3X6, Canada (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Flexibility & Breakfast!
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Saskatoon
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“sparkly and new”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Recently opened, the Holiday Inn is a very comfortable stay. The design is up to date and attractive, the beds are really great. The service is a little rough around the edges, but there were many who admitted to be "learning" or "in training", and were very friendly and courteous, even when things went a little awry. Good location, and excellent for business.

Only one downside is that the breakfast options are limited to cold continental buffet for $9 - essentially toast, cereal, fruit, or $15 for hot and cold, which included sausage, eggs, chef station, etc. Turned out to be an $16 breakfast for having scrambled eggs and a piece of toast, which is all I really wanted. Hopefully they will come up with more flexibility and more options.

Room Tip: I was on a higher floor, which had a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Saskatoon Downtown, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
You're right, breakfast has changed at the Holiday Inn. The Holiday Inn has launched a new concept called "The Hub at Holiday Inn" of which Saskatoon can proudly say,we are Canada's first. We have tried to make breakfast so simple that you won't have to miss out. Our trio of breakfast stations lets you create the perfect breakfast. Our two breakfast options make it easy to order and eat without the wait. You can choose to "Have it All" and visit all three of our breakfast stations including our Chef's station, where you can order a custom omelet, stack of pancakes or waffles, our Hot & Hearty station which serves specialties like Eggs Benedict, and our Cold & Light station, which offers fruit, oatmeal, muffins, cereal and more. Or, choose to "Keep it Light" and enjoy unlimited trips to our Cold station.
The Hub Cafe is an alternate breakfast option for those guests that don't have time to stop. The Hub Cafe offers freshly prepared breakfast items that are easy to take to go. You can try a hot breakfast sandwich, bagel, fruit or a yogurt parfait. Expresso-based drinks and regular coffee will get your day started off right.
The new concept in breakfast is one of those areas you mentioned that our staff is "learning" within the Hub at Holiday Inn and with feedback like yours, we can continue to improve "breakfast" for our guests.
Thank you again for choosing the new Holiday Inn Saskatoon, my team looks forward to greeting you with a friendly smile on your next visit to our great city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    71
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
28
26
3
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I've stayed in most hotels in Saskatoon for business and family, had a meeting at the Holiday Inn across from the TCU Place/Centennial Auditorium so thought I would try it. On arrival the lobby is large and modern, bright and welcoming, big windows. As in previous review, the smell of 'new' is everywhere which definitely adds to the positive atmosphere. Parking ramp is a bit steep, but open and easy to find a spot. Hallways are very wide. Rooms are huge, I had a big king bed and sofa, large flat screen with actual HD channels, great bath room with cool sliding door. Pool and hot tub is nice, tread mill. This really is a hidden gems in downtown Saskatoon. If you were attending a conference or concert at TCU Place, wanted do to be close to Midtown shopping Centre, or just needed to be in Saskatoon, this would be my top choice for a hotel. Beautiful, great property.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Saskatoon Downtown, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you very much for allowing us the opportunity to take care of you during your most recent visit to Saskatoon. The hard work and dediction from a large group of people involved in this project have allowed us to create a special place in the heart of Saskatoon's downtown core. I appreciate your feedback and will share your comments with our team members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

This HI has only been open one week and you can tell. There is the fresh smell of paint and everything is band new. It appears there is still some minor construction going on but I must say that this is by far the best HI that I have ever stayed at. I travel frequenty for business and we always stay at HI and this one just blew my socks off. The lobby is grand with nice touches such as displaying current flights, iMacs for public use and a full bar and restaurant. The staff are friendly both at the front desk and the bar. I used the gym briefly and it has 4 things of cardio-- elliptical, two treadmills and one recumbent bike. It would be nice to have a stretching mat and perhaps some bosu balls but hey, not bad. The heat and humidity was way to high though. It was the same temp as the swimming pool room which was too hot for a work out room. the pool is pretty small but fine for little kids or if you want just a quick dip.

The room is very well laid out and like I said everything is brand new. It also does not have any dated/tacky decor that you find at other holiday inns. Overall the hotel is very modern and well thought out. My King room could easily fit 4 people. There was a pull out couch and plenty of sq ft in the room.

Parking is a bit pricey at $15. This is Saskatoon isn't it? Location is superb and you are located within walking distance to everything. I would have no reservations recommending this hotel to family/friends.

One more thing. The beds are awesome. I 'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Saskatoon Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Saskatoon Downtown

Address: 101 Pacific Avenue, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7K 3X6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Saskatoon
#3 Family Hotel in Saskatoon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saskatoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Saskatoon Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saskatoon's latest, state of the art hotel is ideally located in the Central Business District in the heart of Saskatoon's vibrant downtown core and across the street from TCU Place-Saskatoon's Arts & Convention Centre, Midtown Plaza Shopping Centre and the YMCA. Designed to give guests a true taste of the new IHG lifestyle, Holiday Inn Saskatoon has become one of Saskatoon's most desirable destinations. Holiday Inn Saskatoon was the first property in Canada to unveil the new "Hub at Holiday Inn" open lobby concept. There's more! All that you have come to love about Holiday Inn is here: FREE high speed internet, heated indoor pool and fitness centre, indoor heated parking, banquet and meeting space. Its all here..Saskatoon style! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Saskatoon Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Saskatoon Downtown Saskatchewan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Saskatoon Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.