We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The James Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The James Hotel to your Saves list
The James Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   620 Spadina Crescent East, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7K 3T5, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Saskatoon
Cochrane, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Good, but not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

No question about it, you're likely to get above average service at this 'boutique' hotel. The furnishings and appointments are not your standard hotel / motel stuff - they are sleek and contemporary. Starting from the outside, The James is an small apartment block - nothing special, just grey concrete. Parking is fine, although, above ground only may cause a problem in January. The front desk staff were professional and helpful - better than average. The lobby is small but classy. The elevator looks ragged and dirty inside. The room decor was taupe on taupe - not to my taste but everything was very clean and well appointed. The bed was comfortable and the sheets were ultra-smooth - very luxurious, as were the large towels and bathrobes.

I ordered no turn-down service, I got turn down service. I ordered the local paper, I got the national paper - there needs to be a bit more attention to detail if The James is going to attract the prices they are asking.

Breakfast is included and it was pretty good, but the 'chef' could not have been more unfriendly.

Overall, I'll give The James another try, but for $250 per night, everything should be spot-on. Details, details, details... its all in the details.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    17
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
81
7
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Regina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Have stayed here several times this year. The Trip Advisor Peeps recommended The James so we had to check it out. It's everything people say. Love it. Very spacious to say the least. Super good people running the hotel. Just super people all the way. Can't say enough.

Check in was always speedy and just plain cool. Just run an idea by the keepers of the front desk and they will find what you might want. Maybe a band? Dueling pianos? Restaurants? We had a blast each time.

Room service is fast. Gotta say it... Food was not the best.

Still gotta give James all the stars they deserve. Only place we stay at Saskatoon. Every time. You're gonna love the rooms and overall location. Again...The people working there are an 11/10.

Recommended...recommended. All I have to say!

Btw: Balcony's are nice.

Room Tip: Get a river view. City view is a parking lot. But you can see the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I are just home from our stay at The James and were we impressed.. I cannot say enough about the wonderful sleep I had last night, the pillows/linens made me feel like I was on top of a cloud.. We were so happy w/the service at the front desk and the breakfast nook too. The suite was immaculately clean, other than the shower head being a bit of a wuss, there isn't anything negitive to report.We will for sure book there for future trips to Toon Town!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I travel all over and often. This is the best hotel I have ever stayed at. Will never stay anywhere else when I visit Saskatoon. Staff are very professional and willing to help. Great location. I can't say enough good about this hotel.

Room Tip: they all are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Wow...I go to Saskatoon all the time for work and it is always a nightmare trying to find decent hotel rooms in the city. Obviously the province is doing a lot better these days and the infrastructure is trying to catch up. I've been relegated to the Best Western on the edge of the city, to the Delta (and been offered two bottles of water to shower with when their water stopped working!), Sheraton etc etc. Finally there is a new spot (Holiday Inn just opened up too I think) in town. Amazing to boot! Probably one of the nicer hotels I've stayed at - very modern, chic. Think marble, L-shaped couches, more tvs than one person can watch, comfortable beds, abstract art. Free waters (or "showers" as the Delta would claim), free breakfast, free parking, free internet...super helpful front desk staff. Forgot my charger and they found me one to borrow for the day. Bfast room - nice, good food but a bit cramped for the actual space...they do their best with the hot plate - good omelettes. Location is perfect next to the Sheraton Cavalier. Didn't do the bar downstairs but it looked alright as well. This property is very similar to the James Hotel in Chicago actually, but the front desk people claim there is no relation and this property is independently owned. Will be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The service was exceptional, and I was pleasantly surpized at all what was included, Ie free great breakfasts, free bottled water, and met my brother and sister inlaw in lobby, and waiter supplied two pots of free coffee in well appointed lounge area. Very friendly, oh and the hotel had great river view as well!

Room Tip: Ask for river view at time of booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, Oregon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at this small boutique hotel when we were in town to visit family for the weekend and we were not disappointed. The service was exceptional and our one bedroom suite was beautiful. The bed/bedding was probably the most comfortable that we have ever experienced and the room was very quiet and overlooked the river, although the road and trees did not allow much of a river view. The bathroom was gorgeous with top level amenities. There is also a nice living room area, although the sectional couch was quite cheap and not that comfy to sit on. The complimentary breakfast was superb, but the design of the area where you get your food "buffet style" to take back to your table is poorly designed (it is very small and cramped and difficult to access food if other people are there). The chef was wonderful and very happy to make you a custom omelet. All in all, although we had a couple of minor 'issues' with the place, we would give this place a two thumbs up considering the alternatives and what you pay and would rate it as the best hotel in the city. Previously, for example, we had stayed across the road at "the Bezz" (Delta?) which is also nice but the rooms are very small, a bit old, and expensive. Overall, it was a wonderful find for us and we will definitively return to stay here the next time given our largely terrific experience and the fantastic value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The James Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Hotel

Address: 620 Spadina Crescent East, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7K 3T5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saskatoon
#1 Business Hotel in Saskatoon
#2 Family Hotel in Saskatoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The James Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The James Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The James Hotel Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The James Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.