We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bakery... Expensive yet average dining.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of christies il secondo

christies il secondo
802C Broadway ave, saskatoon, sk, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan 384-0506, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 557 Restaurants in Saskatoon
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good bakery... Expensive yet average dining.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011 via mobile

Christies makes excellent baked goods however the pizza is slightly above average... If your looking for good firebaked pizza in Saskatoon check out Aroma on Wed. Nights!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Fresh and welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Please will restaurant owners in and around Saskatoon go and visit this awesome restaurant to see how it is done! Friendly, welcoming, efficient and clean. I used to travel to Christies on the west side without any qualms, but we do love that we can get our bread at 2 locations now! This is truly delectable bread. One wonders how a entire nation can prefer windy preservative pumped blah while they are such magnanimous wheat producers. We never need to put another bite of Wonder bread in our mouths.
Besides while stocking up on bread, the coffee and freshly made pizza and salad is to die for

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Mmmmm...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I've been to Italy, and I love Italian pizza. If you've also been, you know what I mean: simple, gorgeous ingredients, cooked right. I can't say that Il Secondo is making pizza as good as the best I had in Italy, but it's pretty close, and certainly the best approximation you're likely to find here in Saskatchewan. My wife would, however, would say it's even better than that. Highly recommended!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good baking and cool sandwiches.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011 via mobile

Good baking and cool sandwiches. Avoid the pizza cause it's way over priced and the crust is good but the cheese and sauce don't cut it.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Wonderfully fresh paninis and pizzas of superior quality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

I had the pleasure of discovering this wonderful hidden treasure recently. Don't let the short menu fool you, this bakery restaurant featured well seasoned fresh food of the highest quality! This is the only pizza outside of Italy that I will eat! The pizza margherita features a fresh crust and San Marzano tomato sauce; simply divine!

The french onion soup and cinnamon bun were thoroughly enjoyed by my lunch companion. A must visit while in Saskatoon!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed christies il secondo also viewed

Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
 
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
 

Been to christies il secondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage christies il secondo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.