We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Royal Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1715 Idylwyld Drive North, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7L 1B4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Saskatoon
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here on Aug 14 - Aug 17, 2013 following a stay at a Best Western in Revelstoke, B.C. (which was fantastic) however this Best Western in Saskatoon was disappointing from the start. We chose this hotel primarily because of the good reputation of Best Westerns and the fact that they permit pets - we were travelling with a small dog. The service at the front desk was unfriendly and unconcerned about customer service. They advertise that they supply dog goodie bags but I was told that they "ran out of them quite some time ago and they haven't been restocked" (no apology on that one and no rebate offered either even though we were still charged the $15 pet fee). We were misinformed twice about a continental breakfast (when booking and when we called down to the front desk) - there is NOT one, you have to pay at Rickie's restaurant next door. We were NOT told that we had to "fill out" a room service request and hang it on our door SO I had to empty my own garbage cans. As a result our beds were never changed nor our towels. We also had to gather up our own toilette paper whenever we saw a cleaning cart in the hallways. The surrounding area is industrial and kind of dumpy. We were approached by street children asking us for money. We definately used the extra locks and chain on our doors at night. The good things were the rooms were recently updated and clean and the location was reasonably central to downtown with easy access to the circle drive freeway, free parking and good guest coin operated laundry. Disappointing overall, I wouldn't choose it again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne D, Rooms Division Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for writing a review of our property. It appears we fell below in meeting your expectations. I hope you will accept my apologies. Your feedback will certainly help us with improvements for our future guests. I appreciate you bringing this to my attention and am currently in the process of a follow-up with the departments concerned. I hope to prevent similar situations as this in the future. Again my sincerest apologies. I hope you would give us a chance to redeem ourselves and provide you with a superior experience. Safe travels

Yvonne Doering
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    37
    33
    12
    5
See reviews for
23
16
14
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

My family and I just returned from a trip through Saskatchewan and Alberta where we stayed at 6 separate Best Western hotels along the way. This one in Saskatoon was one of the nicest !!! It didn't look like much from the outside but the rooms were clean, comfortable and the staff were very helpful. We enjoyed our stay !!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne D, Rooms Division Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our property. We work hard ensuring our property and service are superior. It is our pleasure to receive feedback from our valued guests whether it be positive or negative. I will ensure our team are reminder of the outstanding job they are doing. Thank you again for your comments. We hope to see you again on your next travels to our city. Travel safe

Yvonne Doering
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I have stayed here twice now, the first time I had some issues with my room, mainly the old AC wasnt working too well, then when it was it took me back to my Military days flying in the Bell Hueys, loud. Other then that rooms are ok. One thing that does surprise me is for a room that costs $400 they pre-authorize $800 on my credit card, at no other BW do they ever take that much. The area is not nice, went for a run and got harrassed for money. Im back in town in two weeks and will be staying at the other Best Western in town, see how that compares. As far as BW's go, this is not up to the standards of the BW brand.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne D, Rooms Division Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our property. It is disappointing to hear your stay with us was not satisfactory. We are always concerned when we do not meet or exceed our guests expectations. We do take all reviews positive or negative very seriously. Your feedback will certainly help us move towards making improvements and achieving our future guests expectations.
Again thank you for taking the time for your review. I hope that you give us a chance to redeem ourselves and provide you with a superior experience. Safe travels

Yvonne Doering
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bc, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

very good room,very good staff ,i like the hotel ,my son like the hotel very much,the building is very good ,the food is good ,the service of staff is good ,and our family want to go the hotel next time ,we hope the hotel make better ,we hope breakfast is better than now ,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne D, Rooms Disvision Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for for sharing your comments of your recent stay at our property. I am very pleased to see you enjoyed your time with us. We pride ourselves on providing superior customer service. We do hope to see you again on your next visit to our city. Again thank you and safe travels

Yvonne Doering
Rooms Division Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

I tried to find a room a long-term stay in Saskatoon at the other higher-rated hotels and I didn't have any luck. I "settled" for the Best Western and was glad that I did. The place has been renovated recently and my executive suite was perfect. If features separate sleeping and living areas with a fridge, micro-wave and everything needed for a long stay. The bed and pillows are as good or better than ones I've had at 5-star hotels. The same goes for towels and bathroom amenities. The staff was friendly and helpful, but I didn't have any issues to test them. The only drawback is there isn't a pool, but the exercise facilities are fine. The location is great and central. There isn't a free breakfast. Ricky's All-Day Grill is connected and I had some great breakfasts and lunches there. I was very pleased with all aspects of my stay and would gladly stay there again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne D, Rooms Division Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our property. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for recognizing our renovations over the past years. They are always ongoing. We do work very hard to ensure our facility and service are superior and it is our pleasure to receive feedback from our valued guests.
Again thank you for taking the tine to review us and we hope to see you again on your next travels to our city. Safe travels.

Yvonne Doering
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you're looking for a deal in Saskatoon, this would probably be one of the better options, but that doesn't say a lot. The hotel is in a terrible neighbourhood, no where you would want to take a walk in. Be prepared for people asking for change outside the hotel to buy alcohol in the liquor store in the parking lot. The rooms are fairly clean but very standard. This hotel's rough past isn't so well hidden by recent renovations. Our air conditioner didn't work and the in room fridge was very noisy. The staff I dealt with were nice but unhelpful. Hotel isn't worth more than $120 at most.

Room Tip: Don't get a ground level room as random sketchy people walk by all night and bugs get in through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne D, Rooms Division Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send us a review. It is disappointing to hear your stay with us was not satisfactory. We do value your feedback and appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention. I would like to apologize for not being able to exceed or be at par with your expectations. I hope you would give us a chance to redeem oursleves and provide you with a superior experience.
Again thank you.

Yvonne Doering
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Hotel

Address: 1715 Idylwyld Drive North, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7L 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Saskatoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Harvest Hotel Saskatoon
Best Western Saskatoon
Saskatoon Best Western
BEST WESTERN Royal Hotel Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.