We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like to sleep...stay elsewhere” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Royal Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1715 Idylwyld Drive North, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7L 1B4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Saskatoon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“If you like to sleep...stay elsewhere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

The rooms are beautiful. On cosmetics alone I'd give it a 5. But when your eyes are closed trying to sleep, how important is the colour and the style?
Less so than the rock hard bed and the noise I am sure. Horrible sleep! The noise! People walking down the hall talking all hours of the night are normal, but it sounded like they were right beside the bed, you could hear folks talking quietly! The restaurant closes early, and service was awful because we came in 25 minutes before close. My friends French fries were under cooked and still partially frozen.
Upon early check out the desk staff seemed surprised about the noise but did tell us they plan to resolve the noise issues! Hopefully they do!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Primrose M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to complete this review of our company. We pride ourselves to provide superior customer service and l do apologize that your experience in the restaurant was not a great one. Please note we will be informing the restaurant manager about this incident. We do plan on further education for the front desk so they can deal with any noise complaints as soon as possible.

Again l would like to thank you for your review




Primrose Madhovi
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    37
    33
    12
    5
See reviews for
23
16
14
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Was at this hotel for a seminar, and stayed four nights. I was in room 231, the room was extremely loud. I don't know what it is, the view was overlooking the roof and I don't know if the wind was caught in the rafters or what there was a loud whistling noise, I couldn't determine what it was from but it was really really loud. It was really hard to fall asleep, and I can sleep through anything (so that is saying a lot!). The location wasn't the greatest either, and there was some homeless people around. The gym equipment was older. The front desk was nice and courteous.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Primrose M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear Guest

Firstly l would like to thank you for filling out the survey as it allows us and the guest to communicate better and find ways to improve guest satisfaction. I would like also to apologize for the loss of sleep. Our aim is to always provide our guests with superior customer care and have had our maintenance staff looking into this matter.


We hope you will come and stay with us again


Primrose Madhovi
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermilion, AB
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed in one of the king exec suites - they are HUGE! I loved that.
It wasn't the best area, I didn't love that.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edson, Alberta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

The front desk staff are excellent! They are ready to assist with directions, event information, and sightseeing recommendations! The rooms are a little dated, but the cleanliness made up for it. I believe that they are undergoing renovations.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Stayed there for a trip we made to Saskatoon. The service was okay and the room wasnt anything to be thrilled about. Restaurant staff were very nice and the food was good. Overall it was an ok stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington state
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Only hotel available at time, very basic and really needs an updating/renovation. Wireless unsecured network and not dependable. Staff very friendly and helpful though. Best thing was restaurant connected to hotel.

Room Tip: Front rooms face busy main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

I've stayed at the B/W Harvest Inn several times. Each time I keeping hoping it will somehow magically be better, but it never is. It's just a basic hotel on a busy street that seems to cater primarily to truckers. The rooms are spacious but with absolutely no frills - no door on the closet, irons that tend to sputter and leak, shampoo & conditioner ONLY in the bathroom - no frou-frou shower gel or body lotion here - and what's with those tissue thin bed coverings?

So why do I keeping hoping for improvement? Because - perversely - I like staying here. The staff are pretty good and seem to have a sardonic sense of their own property's unpretentious shortcomings. The Ricky's All Day Grill, attached to the lobby, is a happening place by Saskatoon standards - always packed for breakfast - where you will be served, if so inclined, a gigantic bowl of oatmeal by a friendly and chatty waitress. The fitness room on the second floor has your basic compliment of cardio gear that is mostly always in working condition, but is also quite spacious - in fact, positively huge compared to the dank closet of a fitness room at the B/W Calgary Airport - so if the treadmill belt slips or there is some uber-buff extreme athlete hogging the elliptical, at least you have lots of floor space for stretching, ab routines, yoga etc. There is no pool here, and not much in the way of meeting space. This is really just a place to crash on the road and get a hearty breakfast on your way out of town.

A word to the wise: in addition to the Ricky's, there is also a Twisters Lounge and Cold Beer & Wine Store attached to the property. Do not go there unless you hate yourself. The Twisters Lounge is a place where hopes, dreams and happy thoughts go to die. No draft beer. Terrible food. Brutally indifferent service bordering on rude. Sad, sad looking people at video gaming terminals blowing next month's grocery budget. If in search of a bevvie, please, PLEASE go to the nice bar in the Ricky's instead. You'll thank me.

I really need to overcome my hotel ennui and try the Hilton Garden Inn just up the street that colleagues keep recommending. Maybe next trip.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Hotel

Address: 1715 Idylwyld Drive North, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7L 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Saskatoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Harvest Hotel Saskatoon
Best Western Saskatoon
Saskatoon Best Western
BEST WESTERN Royal Hotel Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.