We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Comfortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express
315 Idylwyld Drive North, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7L 0Z1, Canada (Caswell Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE between 10-30%!
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Saskatoon
Coupeville, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Warm and Comfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This hotel is a good place to stay. Checks the box in a nice room, breakfast with lots of options so you can always find something, location is good. Staff were a little distant at the front desk, but in the dining area always attentive. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hello Robyn
I am very happy to hear that you were comfortable at this location. We do serve a great breakfast, I hope you we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    63
    34
    10
    6
See reviews for
35
24
20
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lloydminster, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I have started staying at Holiday Inns for business travel because of the rewards program they have. I was expecting more because of the red carpet service I have experienced at other HI hotels in Alberta.

This hotel was difficult to access because of the road construction.

There is no restaurant or bar in the hotel but you can walk to a few close by.

The bed/room was ok.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hello RodeoFoto for taking time to review us.

I understand how inconvenient the road construction is here in Saskatoon. The city has assured me that this 4 month long street project should be wrapping up at the end of October. Once completed access to the Express will be a lot less confusing. We appreciated all of the patience our guests have shown this season, as the construction has made it a difficult summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I was staying in this hotel (Room 417) for business. the rooms were A bit small ( I would think) but were maintained and kept clean.

The only thing that I thought was disgusting was that they had the coffee maker in the washroom.

The breakfast was complimentary with the stay and was the best.

They have swimming pool and hot tub; but we never got the time to use it.

The location of the hotel was convenient and near to my work place.

Overall a positive experience...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for the review. I am glad that the hotel was able to meet you needs and I am happy that you had a positive experience here. In the upcoming months we will be undergoing extensive renovations to our rooms. At this time we are hoping to find a new home for the coffee makers. Hopefully on your next stay you will be able to enjoy our pool and hot tub.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Breakfast typical Holiday Inn with powdered eggs and ham. Ample choice for cold items though (yogurt, whole fruits, toast, bagels, cereal). Room was clean and basic. Location is just fine if you have a

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear dandpalberta,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Regards,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The staff were very friendly, the breakfasts were great - well stocked and replenished often. There were lots of families with kids excited to use the pool faclities. The hotel was in a central location, and we were able to easily walk downtown to the Saskatoon Farmer's Market (also great) and the Saskatoon Station Restaurant.

Great time!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you very much for the positive feedback. I am always happy to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us. We take great pride in our facilities, and will continue to keep them in top shape for guests who are excited to use them.
It’s wonderful you were able to take advantage of some of the local attractions – we love them too.
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swift Current, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have to say that this hotel experience was one of the worst I have ever had, and it was due to one employee that threatened to kick my wife and three kids out for getting in the bathtub at 8:30 at night. Tash, from the front desk, called our room 3 times between 7:30pm and 8:30pm to complain about the noise from our kids. I have three young children who were excited about the pool and were getting ready for bed. Quiet time is 10pm, not 8:30. She threatened to kick my wife and children out of the hotel until I confronted her about her lack of professionalism. Tash did not even come to the floor and listen to the noise made by my children, she just phoned and was unprofessional.
I then asked her for a coffee cup full of apple juice to give to my children and she acted like she was doing me a big favor and that it was not something that they do on a regula basis. Tash really needs to learn customer service, the front desk clerk on the Saturday night was fantastic, very accomidating to families. Management should provide some one-on-one mentorship to help Tash learn how to problem solve.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear dadof3pc,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. I am deeply sorry for the unacceptable service you have received from our staff. I assure you that this is not the norm you should expect from our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you again for your comments as this is very helpful to us to ensure we are able to meet our guests expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We already stayed in several Holiday Inn Express Hotels, so we did booked for this 2 Nights that Hotel in Saskatoon. Fast Check In there. The Room was in the normal Ibis Design - basic - but clean and fully sufficient for that short Trip. As usually in this Hotels, the Breakfast has also there a pretty good Standard. We also have been two times at the Breakfast and did get there a very friendly Service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hello FlyMeToParis22, Thank you for the nice review, I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I am also glad that you were able to enjoy our breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Address: 315 Idylwyld Drive North, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7L 0Z1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon > Caswell Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Saskatoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to an Award-Winning Hotel in Saskatoon, Canada The multiple award-winning and smoke free Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Saskatoon is located adjacent to downtown Saskatoon and close to many area attractions and businesses. During your visit to Saskatoon, our hotel is the ideal place to stay. You can catch a stock car race at the Auto Clearing Motor Speedway, enjoy the Saskatoon Zoo and Forestry Farm Park, or raise the stakes at the Dakota Dunes Casino. We welcome prospective students of the University of Saskatchewan. The savvy business traveler will find that among local hotels in Saskatoon, Canada we are the smart option. Our hotel's location is near industry and businesses that include mining, scientific research, and technologies. You can easily get to the central business district. In addition, we make it easy to conduct business in Saskatoon, Canada. Our hotel's Business Centre is fully equipped, and we offer two meeting rooms with natural light and A/V equipment. When you need a hotel in Saskatoon, Canada look no further than ours. We offer upgraded amenities that include free high-speed Internet access, the free Express Start breakfast buffet and an indoor pool and spa for your enjoyment. There's a well-equipped Fitness Centre with cardio equipment to help you stay fit. Reserve your rooms today and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Saskatoon, Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Saskatoon
Holiday Inn Express Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Holiday Inn Saskatoon
Saskatoon Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.