We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff and good amenities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express
315 Idylwyld Drive North, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7L 0Z1, Canada (Caswell Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE between 10-30%!
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Saskatoon
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff and good amenities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights on business and we were very pleased with our stay. The Hotel was very cleand and is located downtown close to the art center, movie theatre, shopping, river etc. It has a pool, hot tub and free hot breakfast. :-) The staff are very friendly and courteous with home made cookies, apples oranges and coffee to greet you upon your return anytime of day or evening. Only knock on the hotel is if you end up with someone loud above you the rooms arent the best for soundproof but good news is the heating and cooling units have a fan on all the time switch which will give you white noise to drown those noises out when sleeping.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    63
    34
    10
    6
See reviews for
35
24
20
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the holiday inn express for staycation for a night in April.. The rooms haven't changed for a few years but were clean. Loud on the second floor someone above wasn't so "light on their feet"

Breakfast was ok some items a little stale and muffins a little doughy... Otherwise good choices.

Pool was nice hottub was colder then the pool... Not nice to go for a soak and find out the temp wasn't adequate..

Rates comparable but one can stay somewhere fancier for the cost..

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review my hotel. I apologize for the cool temperature of our hot tub, we were having some issues with our boiler; however, those issues have since been repaired. I am also pleased to say that over the next year this property will be undergoing renovations. When these renovations are completed we will have totally refreshed rooms with new flooring, furniture and fixtures!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Unfriendly service on check in, not rude just could care less about making us feel welcome. We also did not receive room cleaning service during our stay. When we asked if there was a reason why we didn't receive it I was met with a blank stare and was told that "maybe it was because they were short staffed because the hotel was full." No apology or offer to make us ever want to come back. Will not be back and will not recommend to others.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
I am very sorry to hear that you did not feel welcome at our hotel. Please rest assured I will be printing this review and using it as a teaching tool for my staff. If you have a moment I would appreciate the opportunity to communicate with you, I can be reached by phoning the hotel at 306 384 8844 ext 1101. Thank you for taking the time to bring this issue to my attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Location seems to be in an area where the neighborhood did not feel safe. Rooms were OK, the Gym equipment had 2 pieces out of 5 broken, that was disappointing. The Holiday Inn Express counter people had a challenge with English and checking us in was a little bit of an adventure.
Not so welcoming.

Room Tip: The higher floors are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Robert G,

Thank you for your stay and leaving us a review. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I am sorry you received service that was less than satisfactory and regret your stay was negatively affected by our location. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The facility is clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast is standard hot and cold fare...the counter space could be better laid out. There is no hotel restaurant for dinner and not much to choose from within close walking distance (it was bitterly cold while I was here and two blocks was all I could make). There is a XXX store within a block. I was shocked at the price of a night's stay in February. Portland OR is half the price for similar.

Room Tip: There are railway tracks adjacent to the hotel. I heard trains 3 times a day (including 6 a.m.). Man...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear D C,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff and room.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding breakfast experience. We will look into this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heardville,GA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Your standard, run-of-the-mill hotel room in this class with one exception: BEST WATER PRESSURE EVER (of any hotel I've ever been in)! A nice hot shower is a great way to warm up after coming in from the cold. I was also amused by the outlet plugs at each parking spot to be able to plug in your car's block heater.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Chris C,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Saskatoon is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. I am happy we're able to meet the standard you expect from our hotel. Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Albert, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

When traveling I use Holiday Inn and affiliate hotels and collect points from this chain so I have stayed in Holiday Inn Express (HIE) hotels extensively. This particular hotel is not representative of the rest of the chain. Our room had a broken television and fit the "tired" description used by another reviewer very accurately. The room did not have a microwave, usually a standard item in a HIE.

I went to this specific hotel because they advertised they had an airport shuttle, but discovered that the shuttle only runs between 8:00 A.M. and 5:00 P.M. which was not useful to me and added another $20.00 to my travel costs. the shuttle is parked very conveniently to the front door which makes it hard for people checking in with a car.

For the $180.00 room charge, I'd definitely choose to spend comparable amounts of money on better accommodations, starting with the real Holiday Inn around the corner from this one. Other options downtown include but are not limited to: the Park Town, the Delta, and the Sheraton.

If an airport shuttle is what you need the Saskatoon Inn is better located and has a shuttle that operates 24/7.

Room Tip: A poor value for money, Consider other accommodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Address: 315 Idylwyld Drive North, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7L 0Z1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon > Caswell Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Saskatoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to an Award-Winning Hotel in Saskatoon, Canada The multiple award-winning and smoke free Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Saskatoon is located adjacent to downtown Saskatoon and close to many area attractions and businesses. During your visit to Saskatoon, our hotel is the ideal place to stay. You can catch a stock car race at the Auto Clearing Motor Speedway, enjoy the Saskatoon Zoo and Forestry Farm Park, or raise the stakes at the Dakota Dunes Casino. We welcome prospective students of the University of Saskatchewan. The savvy business traveler will find that among local hotels in Saskatoon, Canada we are the smart option. Our hotel's location is near industry and businesses that include mining, scientific research, and technologies. You can easily get to the central business district. In addition, we make it easy to conduct business in Saskatoon, Canada. Our hotel's Business Centre is fully equipped, and we offer two meeting rooms with natural light and A/V equipment. When you need a hotel in Saskatoon, Canada look no further than ours. We offer upgraded amenities that include free high-speed Internet access, the free Express Start breakfast buffet and an indoor pool and spa for your enjoyment. There's a well-equipped Fitness Centre with cardio equipment to help you stay fit. Reserve your rooms today and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Saskatoon, Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Saskatoon
Holiday Inn Express Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Holiday Inn Saskatoon
Saskatoon Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.