We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room(s)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express
315 Idylwyld Drive North, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7L 0Z1, Canada (Caswell Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE between 10-30%!
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Saskatoon
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great room(s)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I was able to get the two room suite on my last stay. It was nice to have the extra room. I will book this suite when in Saskatoon.

Room Tip: Ask for the family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    63
    35
    10
    6
See reviews for
35
25
20
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Saskatchewan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Super friendly staff, rooms with extremely high ceilings, decent ammenities... fine for a night or two if you're working and don't want to be exploring the area. But overall it's a hike to downtown, or anywhere you'd want to walk around. Especially at night. It's right beside the railroad tracks which according to my husband seemed to be a route used by people that you wouldn't want to run into on a good day. And the hotel was more expensive than our corporate rate at a high end hotel on the Riverbank, which is a much more desirable location. Pool was also being repaired at the time we stayed so one more thing against it!
Again - the service and rooms are great - it's the location that is not great.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Stayed at this hotel last week while in Saskatoon. Like other hotels in this city, I find the price to value ratio quite poor. Saskatoon doesn't have enough rooms to make it competitive enough for reasonable prices. Why should prices in Saskatoon be higher than Calgary, Edmonton or Winnipeg?
The Hotel itself is very clean and the front desk staff are friendly. Rooms are clean and internet is decent compared to other HIE locations I have been to. The breakfast is good and is pretty much standard fare for this chain but they offer little extras that are appreciated....like real ham!
Not located in the best part of the city but close to downtown and there is lots of parking.
Book early or you're not getting in.

Room Tip: Book as much as you can in advance not just to get a room but to get a decent price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I've stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for business purposes 4 or 5 times over the years and prefer the location over the downtown hotels. Close proximity to downtown, easy in an out parking, quick hot buffet breakfast, and overall consistently high levels of service, room quality, and value makes it my hotel of choice when travelling on business in Saskatoon. Recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

I stayed @ this hotel during a very hard time in my life. I had to make a quick trip back to Sask for a family emergency. The staff were so very helpful and accomidating, that no words can express my graditide.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagra Falls
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

I just stayed at this hotel last weekend and there was a huge conference going on. I am a platinum member with priority club rewards and they forced me in without a problem even though they were fully booked. I always stay with this chain because I am a platinum member and I expect a high level of service. The staff at this hotel went above and beyond my expectations. I admit that the hotel does need a good upgrade but the staff more than makes up for that! I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thank you so much for the nice comments! I am very proud of my staff; and I always love to hear that they go above and beyond! In order to keep providing with the best service possible we will be undergoing some renovations and upgrades in the next year. Our Platinum members are very important to us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

What a great place to stay! This was my first visit to Saskatoon, and although I am normally a Marriott girl there was not one available to me. The staff are truly exceptional; answering all of my questions, and providing me with great restaurant recommendations. The location made it quite easy to get around, the property itself was well maintained, and the rooms were clean and extremely comfortable. The housekeeping staff were amazing ensuring that I had all of the amenities I required. I would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
We very much appreciate being your choice for your first visit to Saskatoon! It’s nice to hear that we could impress a “Marriott Girl” as we know they run a good chain of hotels! We would love to see you again and we hope that you will be your choice next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Address: 315 Idylwyld Drive North, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7L 0Z1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon > Caswell Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Saskatoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to an Award-Winning Hotel in Saskatoon, Canada The multiple award-winning and smoke free Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Saskatoon is located adjacent to downtown Saskatoon and close to many area attractions and businesses. During your visit to Saskatoon, our hotel is the ideal place to stay. You can catch a stock car race at the Auto Clearing Motor Speedway, enjoy the Saskatoon Zoo and Forestry Farm Park, or raise the stakes at the Dakota Dunes Casino. We welcome prospective students of the University of Saskatchewan. The savvy business traveler will find that among local hotels in Saskatoon, Canada we are the smart option. Our hotel's location is near industry and businesses that include mining, scientific research, and technologies. You can easily get to the central business district. In addition, we make it easy to conduct business in Saskatoon, Canada. Our hotel's Business Centre is fully equipped, and we offer two meeting rooms with natural light and A/V equipment. When you need a hotel in Saskatoon, Canada look no further than ours. We offer upgraded amenities that include free high-speed Internet access, the free Express Start breakfast buffet and an indoor pool and spa for your enjoyment. There's a well-equipped Fitness Centre with cardio equipment to help you stay fit. Reserve your rooms today and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Saskatoon, Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Saskatoon
Holiday Inn Express Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Holiday Inn Saskatoon
Saskatoon Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.